Accessing SD card as USB on computerGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. breelligerent

    breelligerent Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello there! I'm bought my Eris a week ago and am not familiar with all of its functions.

    I'm trying to place my music files on the SD card. Whenever I plug it into my computer and mount it shows a USB drive under "Computer", but whenever I click it I get a popup saying that the drive can't be found. I've downloaded HTC Sync and that let me create a music file, but then I couldn't do anything with it.

    Is there something I'm missing? Thanks for your time!
     

    Advertisement
  2. IzelTokatl

    IzelTokatl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    90
    you have to mount the card.

    plugin, then pull down the top slider menu, click on USB, and the Mount.

    the drive now becomes available so you can access it like any other drive.

    be sure to unmount by pulling down the menu again.
     
  3. Kevkelsar

    Kevkelsar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    27
    On your phone, after you plug it into your computer, pull down the notification bar. Click on the notification and Mount your SD card. While it's mounted you can access it as a USB drive. When you are done transferring files, be sure and Unmount the SD card from your phone's notification menu before removing the USB cable.
     
  4. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    You have to mount your phone. Pull down the notification panel on your phone and hit mount.
     
  5. breelligerent

    breelligerent Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have mounted my phone. I've also unmounted, restarted, and mounted it again. It still says that it can't find the drive.

    I wish it was the easy answer!
     
  6. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    Just to make sure, are you using the usb cable that came with the phone?
     
  7. breelligerent

    breelligerent Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, the one that I got from Verizon.
     
  8. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    Do you have another USB port you can try?
     
  9. cmccmc

    cmccmc Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    What Operating System are you using? Mine always worked fine on XP, but I cannot get it to work with Windows 7 64-bit. I've tried a bunch of things, no luck.
     
  10. breelligerent

    breelligerent Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm out of luck with the other ports; I've tried all 3 with the same result.

    I'm using Windows Vista, does Vista have the same problems?
     
  11. NKT

    NKT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    3,009
    You might just have to get a microSD adapter and use a regular SD card reader...
     
  12. breelligerent

    breelligerent Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all of your responses! I've been trying all of the suggestions just in case I missed something. My PC still isn't recognizing it as a drive, but I noticed something odd.

    When I plug my phone into my comp using the USB port, the notification screen comes up (as it has been) saying "USB Connected". I click to mount the SD card and it goes through the process, but then I receive another notification saying "USB Connected". Shouldn't it say something different? On my PC I get a pop up instructing me to insert a drive into G:.

    When I pull down the notification menu again, it once again gives me the option to mount. When I leave open the PC window telling me to insert a drive and try to mount for the second time, after a moment the "insert a drive" window shows a ton of files, but then blinks out of existence and my notification on the Eris says "USB Connected"

    What does this mean?!
     
  13. adammsu

    adammsu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    mine works fine on vista home pc or xp work laptop....
    it actually works very well. i was pleasantly surprised.

    i know 1st time i plugged it in, it had to install some drivers (can't remember which). Now, when i mount the card, i can get to the directory in windows explorer. I were you, i would probably plug it in, let it do what it does, and go to the hardware manager and find the driver in there for the usb. maybe you will be able to tell that the driver isn't working. (control panel>system>hardware>device manager>2 places: "disk drives-HTC android phone usb device" and "universal serial bus controllers-USB mass storage device")
     
  14. adammsu

    adammsu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    also, it will give u a new drive, like F: or something. you should not be able to select the drive that the SD card represents before you plug it in..... my vista PC has a built in card reader, so there are like 4 drives in windows explorer that represent these empty card readers. When i plug the phone in, i get another one on the end....

    so close ur programs, plug it in, give it a sec to mount, THEN open windows explorer and look for a "removable disk", not the other way around
     
  15. breelligerent

    breelligerent Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Both drivers say they're working, and both have the most current driver available.

    My laptop doesn't have a card reader unfortunately. I always mount before searching for the drive, but it still remains elusive. Thanks for your detailed instructions though!
     
  16. adammsu

    adammsu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    hmm, thats a tough one then....
     
  17. adammsu

    adammsu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    when you go to drivers, the one under HTC android phone - right mouse click on the line, properties>volumes>click populate

    what does it do after that. after i click populate, i get F: with capacity 7572 MB in the little window
     
  18. adammsu

    adammsu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    after i do the above, and i see the drive, i can then click properties of the volume, and change the "auto-open" settings and what not... maybe this can get you a workaround..
     
  19. breelligerent

    breelligerent Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have a Volumes option under Properties. When I click Properties I get a window with General, Driver, and Details tabs. I can't find anything under any of those tabs that has a populate/volume option.

    I'm starting to think there's something wrong with how it's mounting (or not).
     
  20. adammsu

    adammsu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    yeah, there is some problem.... maybe its not recognizing it as a storage location.... if it does you should get a volumes tab. i would uninstall the drivers, unplug, (maybe reboot) and replug, maybe it will load the right drivers.

    edit: make sure you unmount on the phone 1st*
     
    breelligerent likes this.
  21. breelligerent

    breelligerent Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I unmounted, uninstalled the driver, rebooted and tried again; still with the same problems. No drive, the same pop ups and actions, no volume. It seems like it doesn't finish the mounting process; I would think that once I hit the Mount button and it went through the steps, I wouldn't be able to mount it again. Whatever is going on, do you think that it's a mechanical/hardware issue? Should you get a replacement?

    I wanted to thank you so much for your time. I really appreciate it; I wouldn't have known where to go to do any of this.
     
  22. breelligerent

    breelligerent Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    UPDATE: My fiance got an Eris at the same time as I did, and I wanted to see if it was my phone or the PC. I plugged his Eris into my comp, using the same USB port and cord, and his worked exactly how it's supposed to. Does this indicate a hardware/mechanical problem? What could I do to fix it?

    UPDATE [9:10PM]
    I switched the SD card in my Eris to my fiance's. With my card in his phone, I got the same results as with my phone. So it's my SD card. Thanks for everyone's help!
     
  23. adammsu

    adammsu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    glad to know you got it figured out! while its probably not the answer you wanted, at least its an answer. verizon will probably give you a new card i would think
     
  24. MOS95B

    MOS95B Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    19
    Just so you don't think you're being ignored, mine works perfectly on Win7 Home Prem 64 bit
     
  25. breelligerent

    breelligerent Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I went to the verizon store. My Eris mounted just fine on every single computer in the store, so the store manager told me to bring in my laptop so he could see what was going on. Long story short: they reformated my SD card (didn't fix it), replaced the SD card (still wouldn't mount), and replaced the entire phone. The brand new phone wouldn't mount. The store manager's Eris would mount on my laptop, but not mine. He had me uninstall HTC Sync and delete the drivers, then the drivers wouldn't reinstall. He called tech support and the had no answers for him. They sent me home when my laptop battery died and told me to "do more research".

    I'm at a loss. It can't be the Eris or SD card because the brand new phone wouldn't mount either. It can't be my laptop because 2 other Erises can mount to it. Any suggestions?
     

Share This Page

Loading...