Acer Netbook and 3G USB problem


Last Updated:

  1. GlynLewis

    GlynLewis New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Brand new user to android o/s, so might be a real dumb question.

    Just purchased new ascer netbook with dual Windows7/Android boot option. Boot to android is fine, connection to my wifi network works too. Only problem I have is getting android to recognise when I use my 3G USB modem (from Telstra - an australian telco).

    When I go into the "manage networks" area, the 3G section is "disabled"?
    Basically nothing happens when I just plug the USB stick in - no option to run a program, nothing.

    BTW, the 3G USB modem works fine in Windows7, after download of a driver and a telstra front-end app that for network search/initialisation/connection dumb-dumb proof.

    Puzzled? Am I supposed to use my HTC phone as a modem when "out of the office" with android?

    Any advice/help most appreicated.

    Regards,
    Glyn
     

    Advertisement
  2. jonbonazza

    jonbonazza Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    458
    I am sorry, but I do not have an answer to your question. I do, however, have a question of my own. Do you have a link to the netbook you purchased? I am quite interested to see this netbook as, not only is a netbook that ships with android an oddity, but one that ships with BOTH Android AND Windows 7? Now that is a must see! I might even consider purchasing this--provided the price is right.
     
  3. minimoke

    minimoke New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Glyn,

    Unfortunately the Telstra USB 3G modems only come with drivers for Windows (7/xp) and MAC OS, there are no Android drivers that I'm aware off.

    Since Android is based on Linux hopefully somebody is developing drivers for USB 3G Modems!

    A question for you - When you boot into Android are you able to connect to the Google Servers to sync your calander etc? I always get a "timeout connecting to google servers" message. I have an Acer Aspire One D260 Netbook.

    Cheers.
     
    GlynLewis likes this.
  4. GlynLewis

    GlynLewis New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi mimimoke,

    That will explain it then. To be honest I have now switched the boot to android option off. It is the wife's netbook an she basically "just wants it to work" so ... she waits for windows 7 to bootup and then away she goes.

    I'll have a look at the sync capabilities the next time I get the machine out of her handbag!

    Slainte,
    Glyn
     
  5. GlynLewis

    GlynLewis New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Johnbonazza,

    Have not forgoteen about your question - jus trying to locate a web link for you that provides info because www.acer.com.au draws a blank, as does the retailer site www.jbhifi.com.au

    I went into my local JB-Hifi shop and walked out with the machine and a usb microsoft mouse for $420 aussie dollars. I will post the machine details (retrieve machine this eekend form the wife), however when I looked at the Acer site the machine wasn't listed!

    Also minimokes post, got a feeling my machine is also a D260.

    Slainte,
    Glyn
     
  6. minimoke

    minimoke New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi Glyn,

    I thought I got a bargin when I got the D260 from JB for $430, well done getting for $420 with a mouse !

    Cheers
     
  7. minimoke

    minimoke New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oops double post!
     
  8. h4141

    h4141 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    this acer driver page. you drivers update. good luck
     

Share This Page

Loading...