Activation Fee


Last Updated:

  1. infamousjax

    infamousjax Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    21
    Is Radio Shack going to charge me a $36 activation fee if I'm opening a new line and paying $199 for the Evo?
     

    Advertisement
  2. KiLo11

    KiLo11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    22
    there is always a activation fee for store bought phones
     
  3. infamousjax

    infamousjax Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    21
    Do I have to pay them cash or does it just go onto my bill?
     
  4. KiLo11

    KiLo11 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    22
    bill
     
  5. seigex

    seigex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    59
    If you're a premiere customer they wave the activation fee AFAIK
     
    bunnymud and apristel like this.
  6. apristel

    apristel Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    24
    I hope that is the case!
     
  7. GeneralPatton

    GeneralPatton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    38
    I don't think RadioShack can wave the fee because they are 3rd Party, however, because it is assigned to your bill, you can call Sprint Customer Service, tell them you recently got the phone upgrade (And are a Premier Customer) and they will wave the fee for you.
     
    ekt8750 and marctronixx like this.
  8. bunnymud

    bunnymud Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    37


    Good to know
     
  9. TheBiles

    TheBiles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    159
    Question: I'm buying my EVO for full-retail from the Sprint store. Will they charge me the fee if I activate it in-store? Would I be charged if I took it home and activated it online?
     
  10. phantom phenom

    phantom phenom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    9
    Do i have to pay activation fee at best buy ?
     
  11. dandm4life

    dandm4life Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    102
    The store will probably charge you. I would take it home. I'm going to try and get best buy to let me do this, but i doubt they will.
     
    TheBiles likes this.
  12. SkunkApe

    SkunkApe Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    228
    Likes Received:
    39

    naw, BB is strict about this. if you buy the phone there, you MUST activate it in store.
     
  13. Doomstang

    Doomstang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    253
    That was the impression I got when talking to BB people...guys at RS, on the other hand, seems to be more willing to work with what I want to do
     
  14. seigex

    seigex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    59

    All RS will do AFAIK (and from what I was told by the employee that did my pre-order) is on 6/4 they will just call their sprint rep and activate you.. so if you can get your upgrade discount at 1 year (which I am since I got the pre last year) I'm sure they will honor the rest of the premiere since that is a sprint thing not a radio shack thing. Also the $36 ends up on your phone bill not paid straight out...
     
  15. clos1084

    clos1084 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    8
    • Sprint charges activation fees not BB or RS.
    • Sprint is the only one that can waive it (its always charged, but they apply a credit within 2 months to your acct)
    • Sometimes Sprint will have promos with their agents and have free activations, but its still applied as a credit in a a few billing cycles
    • Charge is $36 for new activations or $18 for upgrades; there are exceptions for their premiere customers
    • BB or RS wouldnt let customers walk out with the phone without activating. They get credit for your contract and it needs to be activated in order to do so. Otherwise if you want to activate it, it would cost you the retail price of $450+ because there is not contract associated with it
     
    Scarlett920 and pelebkf like this.
  16. Scarlett920

    Scarlett920 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks for the info. I was told I wouldn't have to pay for activation but my second line would cost $18 to upgrade.

     
  17. seigex

    seigex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    59
    Yeah only the main line is available for premier benefits
     
  18. shiibal

    shiibal Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    I chatted with Sprint CS and asked them if they can waive the activation fee and they agreed. They told me to call in once you get the phone and show them the chat transcript of the CS rep confirming it and they will waive it for me
     
  19. TheBiles

    TheBiles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    159
    So will the Sprint store just let me walk out and activate it at home with no problems?
     

Share This Page

Loading...