ADB experts: any way to remove startup items via the shell?


Last Updated:

  1. turbozombie

    turbozombie Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hey guys,

    I know there are apps like Autostarts that do this, but I'm looking for a way to do it via the shell. Is there a directory or file within Android that stores startup stuff? For example in Windows, I'd look in All Programs/Startup or something. Anyone know? :confused:

    Thanks in advance!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Swizz

    Swizz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    95
    As in delete them completely from the phone, or just disable them from starting on boot?
     
  3. turbozombie

    turbozombie Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just remove them from boot. I know how to remove apps permanently, but in some cases I like an app but don't want it running automatically all the time.

    :)
     
  4. kenyu73

    kenyu73 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    38
    You must have root setup then...

    1) c:\<adb path>\adb shell
    2) $ su (then click approve from 'Superuser' app on phone)
    3) # mkdir /system/app.disabled
    4) # busybox mv /system/app/Browser.apk /system/app.disabled/Browser.apk
     
  5. Adamx

    Adamx Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    478
    Likes Received:
    30
    I don't think that does what he wants. As far as I know you can't prevent apps from starting on their own. My slacker app starts up on it's own all the time, at least putting itself into the background.
     
  6. NilsE

    NilsE Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    48
  7. turbozombie

    turbozombie Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    2

    Yea I do this for items I want to permanently remove, but I'm just hoping to remove some from startup, not remove them altogether. For example, I have an IP camera app that I like to use, but it runs every time I boot the phone even if I don't need to use it that day :eek:
     
  8. turbozombie

    turbozombie Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    2
  9. netdata

    netdata New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not trying to hijack this thread but I could write an app that does this.
    I could make use of gscript, how it would work is something like this-
    files get renamed temporarily to say ".apb" then a menu is populated with
    little icons of which apps are temporarily disabled, so you would pick them
    out of a menu, when you touch the icon it would run a gscript renamer script
    which would rename it back to .apk then launch the program.

    It would obviously add some launch delays, and there would be the added
    memory cost of the launcher menu app, those are givens, but I could try
    and make it as resource friendly as possible. Let me know if you think this is
    something that would be in demand.

    Im "sono***litch" by the way, I am the first person to make a flash player for
    the iphone (mine ran on all arm processors unlike others) so I dabble in programming
    a bit

    Thanks.

    Please don't flame me, but if you have any constructive criticism please feel free to include your thoughts as a reply any input would be much welcomed and appreciated
     
  10. jacob296

    jacob296 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would definitely be interested in an app like this and would be happy to test. Obviously, a way to accomplish this without an app would be preferable.
     
  11. armin3000

    armin3000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    I've disabled my launcher and some other apps using startup manager and my device doesn't boot anymore. It's rooted and I can connect it in recovery mode. how can I restore and enable apps using adb?
    Please help me. I don't want to delete and reset factory my device. It's too important. Thanks .
     
  12. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    Easiest thing to do is just flash a stock rom overtop....
    [ROM] &#9668; Stock Plus &#9658; v3.01 11/22/2011 Based off of New OTA - xda-developers

    Or
    Restore your nandroid backup if you created one.
     
    scotty85 likes this.
  13. armin3000

    armin3000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    I don't have a nandroid backup. Unfortunately I don't have any backups. If I can backup contacts, SMS and applications data (like saved games and scores!) I will reflash my rom. But I don't now how to backup these items in recovery mode.
    I shoudl mention that I have access to all of my phone internal memory too using recovery and adb shell.
     
  14. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    Just flash the rom without wiping anything, you won't lose any data.
     
  15. armin3000

    armin3000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    really?!!! Are you sure? I didn't tried ever. even my SMS and contacts and apps installed in phone?!!
     
  16. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    As long as you just choose the option in recovery to install zip from sd card and don't format the data partition, you won't lose anything.
     
    scotty85 and armin3000 like this.
  17. armin3000

    armin3000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thank you so much. hope this fixes the problem. I'll try. :shakehands:;)
     
  18. armin3000

    armin3000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    NOOOO. It didn't fix the problem :(
    I installed rom zipfile without wiping but no difference. No home screen :(
    Any idea?
     
  19. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
  20. armin3000

    armin3000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    It completly boots and when I plug the usb cable the default pc connectivity mode works. Mine is "Internet through PC" and I even install apps directly from market, but there is no home screen and just a status bar above the screen.
    Safe mode doesn't work either. :( Look attachments.

    After installing ziped rom the default connectivity mode has been changed to "Charging". But I need to have "HTC Sync" to be abale make a backup.

    ------
    update: the default pc connectivity mode is still "Internet pass-through" not "Charging"
     

    Attached Files:

  21. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    Try installing an alternate launcher from the market like zeam or launcher pro so you can at least get to some settings

    Did you delete your launcher or is startup manager disabling it on boot? If you can get another launcher onto your phone you can then get into the app and change everything back.

    If your launcher was uninstalled, flashing the rom should of restored it. Did you get any errors when you installed it?
     
  22. armin3000

    armin3000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    I tried before. I installed ADW Launcher and Launcher Pro. they install but doesn't start. My default launcher is Go luancher and it's installed too. startup manager (optimize toolbox app) has blocked it. some months ago I'd also disabled HTC Sense with titanium backup.
    I have access to "data/app" , "System/app" , "Data/data" too via adb and qtadb. installed launchers are there in "data/app" so it means they are installed. I also removed all launchers except one from from "data/app" I mean I deleted their files. (I read this method somewhere to uninstall apps using adb).
    No error were found during restoring rom zip file.
     
  23. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    Try installing cyanogen mod rom, it uses the adw launcher as the default, just wipe cache before flashing. The first boot up may take a while.
     
  24. armin3000

    armin3000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    My main concern is backing up data. Contacts, Messages, App data. I've downloader some other rom but I think if I install them I can't access to my data anymore. What do you think?
     
  25. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    As long as you don't do a factory reset, all your data will be there no matter what rom you install. But I think since you used titanium to freeze the sense launcher, flashing another sense rom won't work, (unless you do a factory reset) so I'm thinking flashing an AOSP rom will at least give you back a launcher.... But you may lose your text messages, so I'd do a nandroid backup first.
     
    armin3000 likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...