adb question


Last Updated:

  1. Dannysc213

    Dannysc213 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    alright fellas, first off i am rooted. when i do a command promp in the adb/tools "adb shell i get the # but if i try it again i'll get adb not found. i also tried adb devices and get my device the first time bu it does not recognize it after that. i also tried t2noobs font bat and it says adb is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file. dont know what to do. but i can download roms to my phone thru 3g and flash them anytime. im thinking its the driver but i dont know.:confused:
     

    Advertisement
  2. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,668
    Likes Received:
    22,026
    Dannysc213,

    Sounds like when you invoke "adb shell" the second time, you are already in the adb shell. I.e., when you invoke "adb shell" you are basically creating a command prompt to the Android Linux on your phone. So, if you have the "#" prompt and want to return to type other commands prefixed with "adb", you'll need to exit out of the shell that you created. For example:

    Code (Text):
    1.  
    2.  
    3. first, here's what I think you are doing:
    4.  
    5. [B]C:\android\android-sdk-windows\tools>[COLOR=blue]adb shell[/COLOR][/B]
    6. # [COLOR=red][B]adb shell[/B][/COLOR]
    7. adb shell
    8. adb: not found
    9. # [COLOR=blue][B]exit[/B][/COLOR]
    10. exit
    11.  
    12. here's what I think you want to do:
    13.  
    14. [B]C:\android\android-sdk-windows\tools>[/B][COLOR=blue][B]adb shell[/B][/COLOR]
    15. # [B][COLOR=blue]pwd[/COLOR][/B]
    16. pwd
    17. /
    18. # [B][COLOR=blue]ls[/COLOR][/B]
    19. ls
    20. sqlite_stmt_journals
    21. config
    22. cache
    23. :
    24. :
    25. :
    26. data
    27. root
    28. dev
    29. # [B][COLOR=blue]exit[/COLOR][/B]
    30. exit
    31.  
    32. [B]C:\android\android-sdk-windows\tools>[/B]
    33.  
    Does this look like what is going on?
     
    Dannysc213 likes this.
  3. Dannysc213

    Dannysc213 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yea that's it so you just exit afterwards. I don't know enough about it to push or mount anything but I still don't understand why the fonts won't work. Thanks alien.
     
  4. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    you cant run adb commands from inside a shell
    adb push etc is ran from your tools dirctory
     
  5. scary alien

    scary alien not really so scary Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    21,668
    Likes Received:
    22,026
    Dannysc213, I think I understand now from what andrizoid is saying...you said you were rooted, but maybe you've only completed the first part of rooting (i.e., "regular" root where you flashed the base root ROM?) and now you are trying to do the next steps, i.e., typing the adb commands to install Amon_RA's recovery image? Or did you use some other root method (Eris Master Application perhaps?).

    Anyway, let us know and someone will walk you through it.
     
  6. andrizoid

    andrizoid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    357
    Its not even that. You can sill use the commands. You just have to run them from the sdk/tools directory, not the adb shell.
     
  7. Dannysc213

    Dannysc213 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fellas thanks, I don't know enough yet to run adb commands, I'm still learning bit I did want to Change the font and it tells me its not recognized as an internal or external etc.
     

Share This Page

Loading...