ADB Refuses to Work


Last Updated:

  1. thegift_curse

    thegift_curse Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm trying to use ADB on my computer for my phone but it just wont recognize the Droid. I have the phone set to Debugging mode and reinstalled the driver more times than I can count. But it wont work, any help?
     

    Advertisement
  2. DroidSuks

    DroidSuks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    18
    Assuming your running windows check your device manager....with your phone plugged in... you should see a MotorolaA500... or something to that effect listed IF you correctly installed the drivers.... if not you'll see the an exclamation mark next to what is probably your phone.... but not correctly installed.

    If your see the MotorolaA500 listed... To verify your phone is accessible type adb devices at the command prompt . This should return a serial number... if it does your good. If it does not verify that you have the right drivers.


    Other things to consider:


    Has SDK downloaded and updated all the packages?.

    When your at the command prompt... your in the sdk default directory correct?... so ..e.g. C:\AndroidSDK .

    Did you veryify that adb is indeed working?. In the adb directory type adb and enter... you should get page full of feedback listings.
     
  3. thegift_curse

    thegift_curse Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    Motorola A855 is listed in my Device Manager. My SDK folder is located at C:\Android\android-sdk. I was under the impression in order to begin you have to be in the tools folder, not just the sdk folder? Either way, "adb devices" does not display anything when the prompt is pointed at both folders.

    When I try to run "SDK Setup.exe" I get: "Failed to fetch URL https://dl-ssl.google.com/android/repository/repository.xml, reason: HTTPS SSL error. You might want to force download through HTTP in the settings."
     
  4. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    19
    Your drivers are fine. The problem is that you haven't installed the packages for your Droid. In the SDK setup settings(I forget exactly where..click around) you will see the force https checkbox. Check it then download the needed packages(Android 2.01 and 2.1). Once the packages are in, you can navigate to to "tools" folder and get started:)
     
  5. DroidSuks

    DroidSuks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    18

    It did this for me the first time... way back when. Pain in the arse it was... lol :rolleyes:
     
  6. thegift_curse

    thegift_curse Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hmm, still won't work for me. What's weird is that on my dads computer I didn't even have to run the exe and it would still recognize my droid
     
  7. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Check and see if any security software on your machine is interfering with the detection over the USB. Then try a different USB port. And if you are going through a USB hub, try going directly to the back of the computer (thereby eliminating one o the hubs, as the computer usually allocates its own native USB slots via a pseudo hub also. That is as best a I can explain it....)
     
  8. thegift_curse

    thegift_curse Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    1
    *sigh* still wont work. I've ran the setup.exe a few more times to make sure I had all of the packages installed, no good. I've tried all of the USB ports on my laptop, no good either. Disable both firewall and Ad-aware, still wont work.
     
  9. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Uninstall the drivers for the Motorola and also make sure you select remove drivers when uninstalling the device
    then reboot
    then connect the DROID
    Let it install the drivers automatically.

    See if that helps.
     
  10. DroidSuks

    DroidSuks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    18
  11. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    When I setup ADB it installed the correct drives for me on it own. Did you go back in and force download through HTTP? I know I got that same error and I had to check that box and then let it download all the new updates for the sdk.
     
  12. shrink57

    shrink57 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    149
    Just a shot in the dark but have you tired using a different USB cable? I had one that used an adapter to allow it connect with my Droid and while it charged with no problem it was unable to send and receive data. Just a thought...
     
  13. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Actually, I would guess that it is not the cable as the phone *is* recognized on a another computer.

    However, testing another cable still won't hurt - it may not be the cable, but a combination of that cable and your laptop that is causing the issue....
     
  14. droidpcguru

    droidpcguru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    19
    Further reading into this thread has reminded me of something. When I first hooked my Droid up to the very PC I am typing this on right now, the PC would not recognize the Droid no matter what I did. I never did find the exact cause of the issue, but it was PC related. This PC was due for a reinstall of Vista anyhow, and once I did that all was well and has been since.

    I wish I could say exactly what the problem was, but unfortunately as I said I never found out.:confused:
     
  15. esocid

    esocid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    4
    What is the error message you are getting? "Device not recognized?" The daemon might be stuck, I'm not exactly sure why. I have to do this in Fedora, but not in Win7.

    Try this:
    adb kill-server
    adb start-server
    adb devices

    Does it show your phone now?
     
  16. jamiemartin2010

    jamiemartin2010 New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey I'm new to this forum and to programming android. I was having the same problem with my xp computer not seeing my phone. The last info given was to kill-server then start-server. It said something about the daemon hasn't started and then it started successfully. Now I can see my device thanks alot and to the person that was having a problem try this.
     

Share This Page

Loading...