ADB Shell on Clockwork/Cyanogen - not working, help, please


Last Updated:

  1. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    I want to clean my Droid completely and reinstall...booted into clockwork recovery, opened cmd window, and...it's not working.

    Wassup - appreciate any help. I'm on Cyanogenmod 5.0.5.6, and clockwork is the most recent available.

    C:\>cd android\tools

    C:\Android\tools>adb shell
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *
    ~ # format SYSTEM:
    format SYSTEM:
    /sbin/sh: format: not found
    ~ #

    I found the format options under the Partition menu...but want to know why I can't use adb shell.

    Thanks!
     

    Advertisement
  2. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    Clockwork has built in functions for performing all those wipes directly - go to the Mount options (or something like that) menu from the main menu and it should be there.
     
  3. DroidSuks

    DroidSuks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    18
    did you ask for SU after executing shell?. Looks like you did from the # in your post but you didn't indicate that line... so I thought I'd ask.



    adb shell
    su
    format SYSTEM:
    format DATA:
    format CACHE:
     
  4. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    i think its because it uses bash scripts or something like that. just use the format choices in clockwork, they do the same thing.



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  5. Redflea

    Redflea Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    289
    Thanks for the replies...yeah, as noted I know about the format commands available in clockwork, but don't like the fact that ADB doesn't seem to function with Cyanogenmod for me...I don't know much about bash, guess I'll have to do some reading.

    Droidsuks - SU is not required when you boot into recovery - at least not on sprecovery, and I assumed clockwork was the same. I guess I can try that...
     
  6. DroidSuks

    DroidSuks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    18

    It's worth a try I guess.... do you have to mount system when in clock before you execute the commands?.
     

Share This Page

Loading...