1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Adding or Deleting Home screensSupport


Last Updated:

  1. greggebhardt

    greggebhardt Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    56
    How do you in ICS add or delete home screens on the GNex?
     

    Advertisement
  2. ItalianScallion

    ItalianScallion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    13
    You can't without a launcher replacement. It's fixed at 5 homescreens.
     
  3. csreborn

    csreborn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    17
    Google seems to think its neat to have fixed # of home screens instead of dynamically creating them as the user needs them. Basically every launcher from the User created to Manufactures add this but Google doesn't.

    One of my pet peeves.
     
    slbailey1 likes this.
  4. PhilosoRaptor

    PhilosoRaptor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    108
    I'm wondering; if you replace the stock launcher, how would you add widgets if the launcher hasn't been updated/optimized for ICS? Because the stock launcher has the widgets in the app tray and you can't access them just by long pressing on the background anymore.
     
  5. greggebhardt

    greggebhardt Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    56
    These and other reasons make me like ICS less and less and my SG2 more and more.
     
  6. KapOne

    KapOne New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I find this more than rediculous. I have an asus tf101 running ICS and the fact that I can't change my homescreens/desktops is extreamly frustrating. I can understand them keeping the "max" limit at 5 but why not let you take any away? Heck, I don't even want to take any away. I just want to rearrange them! The problem is I have NO room on my desktops anymore so can't "rearrange". I have the entire right-most desktop (5) full of shortcuts (for games) and want to move them to the left-most (1, which is apps) to make things a little more "logically" organized (2 is all games as well) and I am hating the fact that I will have to delete everything from the left one and one by one move every shortcut from the right one to the left, then add the ones I deleted from the left to the right again. Simply rediculous... smh. Very poor testing I would say. Anyone who played with the OS long enough would see the problem in not being able to rearrange them at the least.
     
  7. callmeox

    callmeox Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    317
    Select a homescreen, delete one shortcut and replace it with a folder. Put all of the icons from that homescreen into the folder. Do the same with your other homescreen to be moved.

    Once you have your homescreens packed and ready to move, relocate the folders to their new homescreen and reverse the process.


    Sounds easier than recreating all of your shortcuts.
     
  8. ALIHISGREAT

    ALIHISGREAT Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    7
    If you don't have root access, you bring up a list of Widgets either via the app drawer or via long press on he screen which gives you the option to add shortcut, app, widget etc. And for widgets you get a list with no preview.

    If you have root access you can usually do it two ways:

    Long press on screen as above

    Normal way through app drawer with previews



    I use Nova launcher but I assume its the same for most other ICS launchers.
     
  9. DannyJSlone

    DannyJSlone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    42
    I use nova launcher which is basically the ICS layout. It works just like the stock launcher except it has a few extra tweaks that I really enjoy. Like number of homepages and getting rid of the Google search bar at the top. Also apex launcher works the same as well and they both are basically just enhanced ICS launchers.
     
  10. pedro1977

    pedro1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2012
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    18
    I tried to add a widget to a page that wouldnt fit and it asked if i wanted to add anogher screen which it did. I cant remove it though

    Edit: in ics just pinch your fingers together to edit your homescreens
     

Share This Page

Loading...