Address book over bluetoothSupport


Last Updated:

  1. Cougar

    Cougar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    16
    Just spotted another annoyance.

    I've a snazzy bluetooth thang in my car. On my old phone (TyTN II) and work phone (Nokia somethingorother), when you pair the phone, it uploads the phonebook so that it's browseable from the car kit.

    On the Sammy, all I see is a list of phone numbers, no names. Which is less than useful.

    Has anyone else seen this? Any ideas for clever fixes I can try?
     

    Advertisement
  2. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    I think android uses Bluez. You could run some debugs to see whats going on. It sounds to me like an incompatability or incomplete implementation of the profile.

    If you know what adb, have rooted and know how to use a shell I could elaborate :)
     
  3. Cougar

    Cougar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    16
    Well.

    I'm a geek by trade (I maintain enterprise-level Windows servers mostly) and have some basic *nix under my belt. ADB is installed and I've rooted it via the HDblog.it recovery partition (though Pegasus21 was saying this roots the recovery partition rather than the phone itself? so I dunno) - I've not had much cause to test it yet.

    However, I'm new to the Android and still feeling my way somewhat. It's a little out of my comfort zone still, I guess. (-:

    So, yes, what I'm trying to say is, go for it. I'm happy to get my hands dirty, I'm just trying to get my head round it all.
     
  4. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Ok so run a logcat to monitor whats going on:

    adb logcat

    Then in another window open a shell and su to root. Then you can use the following commands to test bluetooth and log traffic:

    hciconfig -a # print BT chipset address and features. Useful to check if you can communicate with your BT chipset.
    hcidump -XVt # print live HCI UART traffic.
    hcitool scan # scan for local devices. Useful to check if RX/TX works.
    l2ping ADDRESS # ping another BT device. Useful to check if RX/TX works.
    sdptool records ADDRESS # request the SDP records of another BT device.
     
  5. akanbi

    akanbi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not a technical answer :), but this works fine for for me.

    It's paired with my car (a 2005 model) and I can see names. I am using the standard firmware (I5) with no root or other modifications.
     
  6. Cougar

    Cougar Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    420
    Likes Received:
    16
    Innteresting. I might re-pair it with the new f/w.

    Logcat - isn't that going to be tricky with the phone in the car? Oh, I could drag the laptop into the car I guess. Righty. I'll have a play, ta.
     
  7. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    this goes back to what i was saying in other threads about the annoyance that is bluetooth. its open standard and many companies offer different standards with differing compatibility and support.
     
  8. auswill

    auswill Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I pair it to my car - 2009 model - it shows the name but gives each phone number a separate entry.

    Eg. Mike shows up 3 times because he has a mobile, phone, fax number.

    Plus other info such as address etc doesnt get imported

    My Nokia on the other hand does it properly - 1 entry with all the details stored under it.

    Any ideas on how to fix this? Is it because I sync'd my contact details from Gmail instead of Outlook like I usually do (cant sync from Outlook as stupid NPS doesnt work)
     
  9. kam187

    kam187 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,320
    Likes Received:
    46
    Try creating a new contact on the phone and put multiple numbers in for it. Then see what shows up. If that works, you might have to edit your contacts - probably easier to do it in gmail on a PC then sync.
     
  10. auswill

    auswill Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I added a new contact thru the phone - added mobile and phone - again it comes up twice on the screen - interesting both as mobile. I think the problem is Android or Samsung is using different contact field names which most devices dont understand. I came across this in NPS when I tried to sync with Outlook - under "Show field Limitation" it shows what is unsupported - quite a few fields are unsupported on the Outlook end apparently. Why wouldnt NPS just use the standard fields found in outlook!!! BIG let down!!! If I knew this before I wouldnt have bought this phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...