1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

Adobe Flash 10.1 for 2.1 EPIC 4G


Last Updated:

  1. FreakyLocz14

    FreakyLocz14 Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    76
    I'm still on Eclair and I installed the .apk for Flash 10.1 and it is working. It's choppy when playing video that requires full Flash support, but ads and such show the Flash content instead of the error icon.
     

    Advertisement
  2. badankles

    badankles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    90
    i'm leery of doing that because i did that with the evo back in july. when the froyo update came, it messed up the upgrade (i got it resolved, but it was a pain).

    what sites are you able to get flash to come up? what browser are you using?
     
  3. FreakyLocz14

    FreakyLocz14 Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    76
    I visited a video streaming site that requires Flash 8 or above and it works. Also works on YouTube and MySpace. Hulu still doesn't work. The absence of a JIT compiler that Froyo gives means that it isn't perfect, but it'll hold me over until the Froyo update. I'm using the phone's stock browser.
     
  4. devon2000

    devon2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, R u going to share where u got the adobe flash apk from?
     
  5. FreakyLocz14

    FreakyLocz14 Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    76
  6. Pitbull329

    Pitbull329 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    3
    hmmm, 558 views... and only 5 responses. Anybody willing to share any feedback? past experiences similar to the one person who posted his issues updating when 2.2 rolled out for Evo? I wouldn't mind installing it, but I don't want to install it if its going to be a hassle updating properly when 2.2 rolls out.
     
  7. FreakyLocz14

    FreakyLocz14 Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    76
    Well, I'm expecting tha the 2.2 release date will be announced in advance, so I plan on uninstalling this soon before then.
     
  8. Pitbull329

    Pitbull329 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    3
    So its as simple as just uninstalling the apk? It doesn't go deeper than that?
     
  9. FreakyLocz14

    FreakyLocz14 Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    76
    Well, you need the Apps Installer app to install the apk, then you must power cycle your phone. Oh, and make sure you have plug-ins enabled in your browser.
     
  10. Keybeeetsss

    Keybeeetsss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    48
    thatz not really what Pitbull meant when he posted his comment...

    jus like a computer, somethings that u install change ur whole registry which can muck up other things even if the ??? is uninstalled...
     
    Pitbull329 likes this.
  11. FreakyLocz14

    FreakyLocz14 Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    76
    No.

    Just install the apk in your SD card via your computer. Make sure it is not in any folders or sub-folders.
     
  12. Keybeeetsss

    Keybeeetsss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    48
    :)
     
  13. ewarren29

    ewarren29 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    4
    Fallowed steps and tried on samsung epic 4g but not working. Any advice?
     
  14. carnivalrejectq

    carnivalrejectq Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    4
    I found this a couple days ago on google and tried. Didn't work for me either.
     
  15. ewarren29

    ewarren29 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    4
    Was hoping to put flash on epic and tying hulu and others. Don't feel comfortable upgrading to dk28 and would love any tips or advice on this. Thanks a lot
     
  16. FreakyLocz14

    FreakyLocz14 Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    76
    This method worked for me, but I was rooted and using a ROM. My advice is to upgrade to DK28. I really don't understand why you're not comfortable doing the upgrade. I'm currently not rooted and on DK28. If you do manage to get Flash 10.1 working on your 2.1 EPIC, you're going to be disappointed when watching Hulu. Android 2.1 lacks a JIT compiler, so Flash content plays laggy and choppy.

    tl;dr
    Get over you unfounded fears and upgrade to DK28 or wait for the official FroYo update.
     
  17. ewarren29

    ewarren29 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    4
    Was worried because am new to android and smart phones in general. I've heard of people messing up their phones if they do it wrong. Guess I will research it out though because am sure your right and I will be disappointed . Thanks
     
  18. FreakyLocz14

    FreakyLocz14 Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    76
    I believe there's a DK28 thread here in the forum. It's easy to do once you have all the right tools. Simply re-flash DI18 in the rare event you brick your phone.
     
  19. ewarren29

    ewarren29 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks I have been reading that forum and finding it helpful. Any advice would be greatfully appriciated
     
  20. ewarren29

    ewarren29 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    4
    So do I need to install Odin prior to DK28 or can I do it after if I happen to brick my phone. The forum is kind of vague. Thanks again for all your help
     
  21. FreakyLocz14

    FreakyLocz14 Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    76
    You need Odin to flash DK28 anyway.
     
  22. ewarren29

    ewarren29 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ok thanks. I am misunderstanding the info I read. Thought it was downloaded to cpu then just installed on phone. So now I look as dumb as I am when it comes to this new phone. Anyway thanks for your help I am going to try and find another forum that may be more in depth . Sort of a for dummies version.
     

Share This Page

Loading...