adw launcher dock icons helpSupport


Last Updated:

  1. harryzwd

    harryzwd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    7
    search seems to be my enemy so i need to post and ask for help.

    how do i get the app drawer icon back onto the dock in adw launcher...?

    somehow i dragged another icon on top of it and its gone...i've been all over the adw settings and cant figure it out. :mad:

    and on top of this...how the hell do i get into the app drawer without that icon? this is maddening...
     

    Advertisement
    ansaluna87 and Trooper like this.
  2. ujmnz

    ujmnz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    lol, the same thing happened to me. I couldn't figure it out either, so i uninstalled it, and then downloaded it again.

    resetting to default wouldn't work for me. it would keep it there.
     
  3. harryzwd

    harryzwd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    7
    yep, resetting didn't do the trick, it didn't bring the app drawer back. this shouldn't be this difficult....!
     
  4. harryzwd

    harryzwd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    7
    or does anyone know how to add a new app drawer icon....? at all...?
     
  5. buttscratcher

    buttscratcher New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    lol
     
  6. bbkdhumm

    bbkdhumm New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    23
    On an empty place on your desk:
    menu -> add > personnalized shortcut (or something like this, my UI is in french)
    Then:
    Choose your activity:launcher action -> open/close application menu.
    You can change your icon if you want.
    Then, just drag your new shortcut to the place you want. That's it !
    :D

    And you can do the same in order to change your default menu launcher icon
     
    hexagon, pj9cos, mscomms and 20 others like this.
  7. harryzwd

    harryzwd Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    7
    bbkdhumm - thank you! you're the man....i never had to do any of that before or new that menu/context even existed. awesome! :D

    and your first post?! outstanding!
     
  8. bbkdhumm

    bbkdhumm New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    23
    U'r welcome ;)
     
  9. DigitalDementia

    DigitalDementia New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Also another way would have gone into ADW Settings> System Preferences> Go to either Swipe Action setting and choose "Open App Drawer"
     
    pj9cos likes this.
  10. alexaesthetics

    alexaesthetics New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    found this post from google search. was having the same issue. helped me much. thanks guys.
     
  11. ujmnz

    ujmnz Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    The swipe action was a possiblity, but i use those actions for other things. I just wanted the button back to open the app drawer. I lost it trying to remove an app from the home screen. I didn't realize they moved the trash to the top instead of the bottom, so out of habit, I place gtalk on top of app drawer button. I've never bothered with shortcuts before so I had no clue. Good to know.
     
  12. tamosaur

    tamosaur Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    4
    This just happened to me and Ifound this post through google.. THANKS for the help:p
     
  13. rml4uk

    rml4uk New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hooray for this thread! And for Google listing it is as the first search result!
     
  14. linuxluver

    linuxluver Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I could play with the software for 20 minutes and work it out or I can google it and find the answer in 45 seconds....as I just have. So thanks to the OP for asking the question and thanks also to the person who provided a simple, useful answer that Google helped me find...and my "problem" is resolved....AND....I've now learned a lot more about ADW launcher.

    The usual driver for learning is need....and while curiosity is also important, you don't want to be fiddling around in the corner when what you need is an answer to get to where you're actually trying to go right NOW.

    Now I know the functionality is there, and I needed it, I'll check it out in more detail.

    Thanks! Awesome.
     
  15. mscroggi

    mscroggi Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0

    I did the exact same thing!..

    If ADW had an intuitive way of getting the drawer launch icon back, there wouldnt be an issue at all.. I too spent 20 minutes digging through all the setting for a way to get the icon back.. I find having to adjust the swipe up and down actions to be a workaround for an issue with usability.
    AND changing the swipe functions to get to the drawer doesnt in itself fix anything regarding the launch icon, which is the real issue..
     
  16. writercrystal

    writercrystal New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had this same thing happen today as well. I'm glad someone was able to post a fix, because I wasn't able to figure it out on my own. I spent about 15 minutes trying what I thought were the most intuitive ways to fix it issue, and came up with nothing. I'm glad Google linked to this thread. It fixed my issue in 2 minutes flat!
     
  17. T Mac

    T Mac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2009
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    89
    Thanks for the help. I just ran into this and was able to fix it now.
     
  18. JonnyBlazeRSP

    JonnyBlazeRSP New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here.

    Out of habit i just dragged an app to remove the icon and ended up with messages instead of my drawer button.

    Thanks for the Fix!
     
  19. AGWednesday

    AGWednesday Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    64
    Same as a lot of people above. Had the problem. Appreciate the solution.

    Anyone know why the dev made this change? Seems it's doing more harm than good. I've thought about emailing him a request to change it back, but I wanna be sure he didn't have a good reason I haven't thought of.
     
  20. marcfogel

    marcfogel Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    The same thing happened to me last night. I am so used to having the trash down there that I dragged an icon over the app drawer. I solved the issue by going into settings ->applications -> manage applications ->running and selecting ADW.Launcher -> clear data. unfortunately I didn't have a backup so I had to rebuild my screens. Now I have a backups :)

    They should have an easier way to modify the dock or an option to reset the dock to the defaults.
     
  21. midwestdeb

    midwestdeb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm joining the rest of you... tried to delete and accidentally place the icon on that drawer where the app launcher was. Obviously was unaware of this change... went straight to google and found this post at the top. THANK YOU for the quick and easy solution.
     
  22. Trooper

    Trooper Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    3,715
    Likes Received:
    541
    Thanks! Did the same thing and found this via a Google search.

    Cheers!
     
  23. ansaluna87

    ansaluna87 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    wow! this was so helpful I kept doing this over and over again because they used to have the recycle bin at the bottom so I got used to that and I tried to put the applications back but with no luck I did try all of the shortcuts but never found that one so I had to unistall and install back again which was such a pain cuz I had to start all over again and set my screens just the way I like them...so thank you so much!!
     
  24. z0d14k

    z0d14k New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    bbkdhumm - Thanks for the help. Worked perfectly.
     
  25. JerkyChew

    JerkyChew Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thank you, bbkdhumm, I had this exact problem and couldn't figure out how to fix it.
     

Share This Page

Loading...