ADW.Launcher (donut) this is a must for X10 UsersTips


Last Updated:

  1. f891roy

    f891roy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    5
    [​IMG]

    Make your X10 hav 7 home screens instead of 3. You can also download new / different themes.

    To use this, simply press the home button (the middle one) and select ADW Launcher.

    I spent along time looking for this and wondering how to use it!! So i thought i'd do a quick find for the new users!
     

    Advertisement
    Merolas likes this.
  2. Merolas

    Merolas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    29
    Well... i guess i'll wait tomorrow for the 2.1 upgrade and use the version made for it...but thx anyway
     
  3. cwepruk

    cwepruk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    9
    ADW offers a lot more than just homescreen numbers. It's a great home replacement.
     
  4. Zlanu

    Zlanu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's certainly a great alternative, but for me, it bogs down the phone a lot more than Sony's custom UI. I don't know, maybe it's just working weirdly on mine? <_<
     
  5. gunny5821

    gunny5821 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    501
    Likes Received:
    29
    I have ben using ADW ever since I had the X10. It enables you to handle the home screens like 2.1 would. It gives you 5 screens instead of 3 as the normal default, which I find are more than enough. There are 3 things that it does, that makes it a must have on my phone:

    1. I can resize items on my home screen and I can place them easier due to the resize, something the default UI doesn't do.
    2. It also allows you to make Groups in the Drawer. With the Groups, you can choose what apps you want to show in your Drawer and which you do not. This enables me to get rid of the Bloat Ware. It doesn't delete it off the phone, but since I am not rooted, this is the next best thing (Thanks Rosered for pointing this one out for me).
    3. One of the slickest features are the Themes you can use with ADW. Makes the phone look like a totally different phone and there are a lot of Themes to choose from, with people making more everyday!

    So, I don't know about any lagg or slowness that is caused by ADW, however, I did find that all of those apps out there that monitor all of your system resources and RAM and , etc, etc, etc.. do slow down your phone! So much so that I deleted all, but one, off my phone as I was seeing lagg and choppiness. Since I removed them, phone runs great. I just think 1.6 really doesn't handle allocations to well and that is a nice thing to see in 2.1... Providing AT&T doesn't do more damage, lol..............
     
  6. rosered

    rosered VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    317
    One piece of advice on the slowness I read is to make sure you remove any widgets from your SE homescreens and just have them running on your ADW.

    Also I love the app Home Switcher so you can move between ADW, SE Home and Timescape really easily and then set the one you want as default.
     
    stocker likes this.
  7. f891roy

    f891roy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    5

    Yes but here in the UK we will prob. wait for the update as our service providers hold on to it!! (not Sony)

    It is supposed to be released today, 23rd September. Lets see when we can acually download it!!


     
  8. dibberly

    dibberly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    15
    adw is nothing new

    there are many home screen programs and they all have pros and cons to each one
     
  9. Merolas

    Merolas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    29
    Well... since the update will not come untill a few (if we're lucky) months i guess i,ll give it a try...*sigh* hey at least i still love the phone...just not the company...anymore.

    eh...is it 5 or 7 home screens? i'm confused
     
  10. Jcbpnl

    Jcbpnl Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think you are able to change it. Don't know for sure. I prefer the stock
     
  11. rosered

    rosered VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    317
    Its up to 7 screens. It's really very good, and so simple to install. Bung Home Switcher on your phone too and you are away.

    One of the things I love about it is you can modify your app drawer to only show the apps that you want... goodbye to looking at Moxiers 5 icons, Createtouch, Quadpop, Wisepilot etc etc.
     
  12. tracer2009

    tracer2009 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    2
    This is very cool. Thanks for the link
     
  13. arfanvilla

    arfanvilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just tried this and looks very good - i will customise it tonight to my heart contents lol. I am noticing staright away the lag when scrolling - any help? I did remove all widgets off the SE home screen. I might just give it the ol' switch off/on trick and see.
     
  14. arfanvilla

    arfanvilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    2
    Can i move icons across screens like with the SE stock home screen? It seems i can not. any help if it can be changed in the setting please, thanks.

    EDIT:

    Found a horrible way of doing this. Drag the icon to the corner (where the dots are) and wait for the screen to move. The pain in the neck is that the icon must be dragged right in the corner of the screen and wiggled a bit lol..
     
  15. Merolas

    Merolas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    29
    I wonder how i made it this far without this app!... the second i used it i loved it! the animations between the pages, the way you can customise the themes (an apple theme for a SE device...lol) still looking for good looking free themes. Found out the i have 5 home screens and 7 apps screens. Thanks for the llink!
     
  16. dibberly

    dibberly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    15
    anyone tried livehome??

    i used to use adw...then tried GDE that was better now for me livehome is the cream on the cake!!

    since downloading livehome...not looked back - i think its alot better

    try it...u may like it better!!

    fast and has never FC'es on me
     
  17. rosered

    rosered VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    317
    If you pick up an icon and move it to the very edge of the screen anywhere and pause for a nano second or two the screen changes over. Just don't try and flick over to the other screen if you know what I mean.
     
  18. rosered

    rosered VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    317
    On a tips front with ADW you can customise your app draw so you don't have to look at the apps you never use but just can't delete, or ones that you have placed on your homescreens and therefore don't need to 'see' in your app drawer.

    To do this open the drawer, press menu and choose group, click New Catalog, then name it whatever you want and click ok, then menu again, select setup group and you will then be given a tick box list to select the apps you want to see in your drawer.
     
  19. arfanvilla

    arfanvilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    2
    nice one, thanks.

    2 questions

    1. For some reason, every now and then, the ADW home screen likes to reboot it self. When i close an app, or even open the drawer, the home screen goes black and the home icons/widgets reload themselves. Any help on this please. I have deleted all icons/widgets off the stock SE home screen. This doesn't happen that often to be a serious issue, else i would have uninstalled by know.

    2. How do i get the 7 home screens?

    Thanks in advance.

    Oh, and anyone recommend any cool themes, i'm using the sticker book theme at the mo.
     
  20. rosered

    rosered VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,129
    Likes Received:
    317
    To get up to 7 screens, press menu on your home screen then edit and it gives you the ability to add the screen and pin which one is your default home screen.

    On the force closing, I don't have this problem so not much I can add. Make sure you have the most recent update and possibly try with the basic theme to see if its the theme that is doing it - I'm not running any themes.
     
  21. cwepruk

    cwepruk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    9
    You have to select system persistent in the ADW options. This definitely fixes the problem, but you lose landscape mode.
     
  22. arfanvilla

    arfanvilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    2
    thanks rosered & cwepruk.
     
  23. arfanvilla

    arfanvilla Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    2
    hi again, is it possible to cutom each screen with different row/column numbers - if so, how? thanks.
     
  24. cwepruk

    cwepruk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    9
    In the settings - "Screen Preferences" and "Drawer Settings".
     

Share This Page

Loading...