After Froyo my X requires a numerical password to unlock the phone


Last Updated:

  1. Hellequin

    Hellequin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    Highly annoying. I know you can get lockpicker for the incredible to disable this. I was wondering if there is a app for the X that will do the same.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Steven58

    Steven58 Reformed PH VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    32,920
    Likes Received:
    25,271
    note to OP: moved to root because by default you have to be rooted to have this issue. ;) GL.
     
  3. Hellequin

    Hellequin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    this phone is not rooted
     
  4. Pointguard1122

    Pointguard1122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    14
    Can't you just go into the security settings and remove that option? You still have to use the slider, but you do not need to use the numberic keypad.
     
  5. Hellequin

    Hellequin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    the option is removed already.
     
  6. OMJ

    OMJ Bazinga VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    3,288
    Likes Received:
    825
    Do you have exchange email? I know D1 users with exchange email that requires a password have complained about this to no end.
     
  7. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    554
    yeah sounds like you have exchange email or one of the options selected in security, but since you say you don't I will take your word for it.

    So do you have a exchange email setup?

    Edit: So what does it say when you go to Location and Security > Setup screen lock? Does it say none?
     
  8. Hellequin

    Hellequin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have exchange and I talked to the IT admin and he claimed he removed the security policy requiring this. However I've searched other forums and apparently this is a persistant problem.

    I know with the Incredible you can download lockpicker but it doesn't with the X
     
  9. ZXMustang

    ZXMustang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    10
    Email the dev from the market, and see if they plan on adding the X to the list of supported devices? Maybe it would be a quick add?
     
  10. BuTbKa

    BuTbKa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2010
    Messages:
    825
    Likes Received:
    134
  11. sund0wn

    sund0wn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    775
    Likes Received:
    175
    i do know that my company requires this to be eligible to use exchange on the phone. i didnt know this has been an issue even if IT disables the feature. i had my exchange admin mess with enabling and disabling the feature, and it seemed to work fine. if an answer isnt found, i will see if i can find some answers at work on monday.

    however, this is most certainly related to exchange, and not the settings in the phone. 2.2 enabled the pin to be controlled by the server admin. if there are problems, moto needs to know. this isnt a known issue as far as i know.

    if the admin truly did disable the feature, maybe try to remove the account and re-add it?
     
  12. Hellequin

    Hellequin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1
  13. Hellequin

    Hellequin Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    1

    thank you I will try that
     

Share This Page

Loading...