After root, how do you remove bloatware?

Last Updated:

1. cesjr02

cesjr02 Well-Known Member

I'm new to android and the whole rooting process. I'm sure my question will be simple to answer.

After I root my Evo how do I remove the bloatware sprint includes.

2. Aragorn

Aragorn Well-Known Member

I've never used Android before either. But, as I understand it, it involves building a custom ROM without any of those packages installed and flashing it to your phone.
  3. cesjr02

Seems a little more in depth than I thought, and I consider myself fairly computer savvy. I might wait for one of you awesome guys to make a video tutorial. ha
  4. Gonkutron3000

Gonkutron3000 Well-Known Member

I agree a nice video tut would rule! one that shows everything from what tools/files you need to DL step by step how to root and perform nandroid backup and step by step how to remove bloatware...ive read tons of tutorials but nothing beats a video guide.
  5. adseguy

adseguy Well-Known Member

It should just be a .apk file in system/app

use: "ls -l /system/app" to get to that.

Normally that file is protected (ie: you didn't have root/superuser access).

Remind me to get you guys a quick vid and I'll do it.

I'm going to play around with them for an hour, but I'll probably get rid of everything besides maybe the navigation because I hear it's better

Sorry I just re-read my post and realized that I didn't explain that you need to get a terminal app on your device or terminal into the device from your PC. Either way you get to that fodler, find the app, and delete it. You should be able to get to the folder without root, but only root will get you permissions. Correct me if I'm wrong on the last part.
  6. cesjr02

Yeah I would like to rid of everything but the Sprint Nav app as well. A video tutorial would be great by the way.

jgangsta likes this.
  7. xbox4414

xbox4414 New Member