Ah Crap...lol. Help. May have bricked.


Last Updated:

  1. holmgren

    holmgren Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    10
    I had Bugless Beast installed V0.7.2. Everything was just fine and dandy. This moring I loaded up Orb at work and was streaming Howard Stern for about an hour and half. I had to make a phone call so I tried to back up and get out of it. Except everything was froze up. Ok fine, did a battery pull and tried to boot up but now all it does is stay on the Droid eye. It was set on 950 MHz and I wonder if it got too hot and fried?

    I turned it off again and tried multiple times. nothing. I booted back into system recovery and tried to load my back up of 2.0.1. It installed but it is doing the same thing. I then did a complete wipe/factory reset and cleared the cache partition. And tried to load it up again...all I got was the Droid eye again. Now I am worried haha.

    Anyone have any suggestions what I can/should do? If I were to go to Verizon they would probably boot into recovery and see that it is the flashed version and deny me a new phone. And I don't want to be that guy who goes in to get a new phone because I am the one that messed it up.
     

    Advertisement
  2. TonyG916

    TonyG916 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    32
    I like turtles too, they're cute.
     
  3. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    Kudos to you for being honest about it.

    So if I read you correctly, you attempted a nandroid backup and you still get the same results?
     
  4. magnus

    magnus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do you have any reason to believe you fried the chip?...besides the fact that you were overclocked?
    Were you using Set CPU for profiles?...or keeping an eye on your temperatures at all? Don't worry if you answered 'No'. I'm just trying to figure out the likelihood of you actually having fried the chip.

    Instead of loading a back up...can you try and load Virgin Oem 2.01? I feel your pain.......but I'm pretty sure your phone is salvageable.

    I'm sure someone else will chime in soon
     
  5. SamMax

    SamMax Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    1,683
    Could this new the first "reported" fried overclocked Droid, that I and others forewarned some about...muhahaha
     
  6. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    Unlikely.
     
  7. Sportster

    Sportster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    25
    Excellent example for not rooting. Everyone was saying it's safe, you can't brick it, etc etc. I knew better. ...
     
  8. holmgren

    holmgren Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    10
    Correct


    No to profiles but I do have setCPU. I am at work right now so I cant load up a virgin 2.0.1. Where would I go about getting that? do they have it on Sholes?
     
  9. Graz

    Graz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    4
    Haha, lets wait and make sure if that's the case! :cool:
     
  10. magnus

    magnus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    1


    Droidforums.net has a thread called
    "From stock 2.0.1 >to> Sholes.info ROM..STEP BY STEP..NO ADB involved..UPDATED1/19/10"

    Check it out. You should find virgin Oem there.

    Besides if you did fry your chip....would you be able to boot into recovery. Somehow sound more like a file corruption issue to me.
     
  11. magnus

    magnus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    1
    To the folks saying "Aha, I told you so...."

    At least confirm that the chip indeed is fried before getting on your high horse :)

    Right now...it could be a different things. OCing can be done in a way that minimizes risk.

    OP
    The accepted method for doing this right now does involve setting up profiles and keeping an eye on CPU temperature.
    The nay-sayers are not entirely wrong. OCing does have risks.....but they can be managed....just like any other risk in life :)
    Each processor is different and when we move out of stock, we can't expect them all to behave the same way...hence all the care.
    Once you get your system back and should you decide to Oc again.....keep that in mind.

    In this case......I'm just not convinced that the signs that the OP is reporting are telltale of a fried chip.....but who knows?

    But hang on......try flashing virgin oem and let us know. Do NOT do anything in haste or in panic. We're here to help

    EDIT: I would do a factory reset before Virgin 2.01
     
  12. gonzoguy24

    gonzoguy24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    41
    I am interested to hear what happens...I am having some minor bugs with my beast but that is because I used the update.zip method too many times...I am going to reinstall using nandroid backup :)
     
  13. holmgren

    holmgren Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    10
    not sure what happened but the chip is NOT fried. I left it sit for a while and turned it back on and it came up with the whole sign into google thing. Did that and Beast is still loaded. everything is working fine so far :D. I am gonna shoot it back down i think to 550 just to test it out for a while to see if it does the same thing. It was probably a file corruption. I have no other explaination.
     
  14. shademar

    shademar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    4
    Droid eye? Curious, did you have the BB bootup animation before the 2.01 restore?
     
  15. magnus

    magnus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't know how long you let it sit......

    But could have have been that after it cooled....it booted back up...which would mean that your overclocking was responsible after all?

    If you do it again......install a temp monitor and keep an eye on the temp.

    Did you phone feel hot/warm to the touch at all? The CPU is thermally connected to the back plate of the phone (with GoogleTM) That's what acts as a heat dump......

    My 950 temps are around the 27-34C
     
  16. gonzoguy24

    gonzoguy24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    41
    man my 800 temps get up near 40...just played mini golf for ten min and it was 41! Back of phone right above battery gets pretty hot...have not expereinced any problems with phone however when it gets like this. As far as i have heard about overclocking pcs, you know you have overdone it when the cpu starts making mistakes (cuz its too hot) and you get errors.

    EDIT: This could have been what happened to you holmgren.
     
  17. bdal1

    bdal1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    9
    Just curious.
    Has anyone here heard of a bricked/rooted phone that hasn't been recoverable?

    Ive bricked a few times and my nandroid backup has recovered me every time.
     
  18. magnus

    magnus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't really game on my phone that could be why my temps are lower. Gaming is more stressful on the CPU, is it not?
     
  19. magnus

    magnus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    1
    Technically...if it can be recovered, it's not a brick.....

    I think I'm coming from other pda forums.....when if you heard the word 'Brick', all you could do was offer you condolences.

    People in these forums throw around that word way too flippantly....Crazy kids these days :)
     
  20. Sportster

    Sportster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    25
    I would be more worried about the overclocking screwing the chip up temp wise than anything. I messed with that on one of my PC's at home and you can really screw the pooch if you aren't careful or are over zealous. Boot it but I'd be very cautious about ocing it, personally....
     
  21. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    Then you didn't brick.

    Brick means your phone is dead. As in DEAD.
     
  22. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    If you know how to use ADB you can try a few things in there, but I don't know exactly what. Honestly it sounds like a brick, as this is what would happen with G1's when they bricked, but the fact that you can get into recovery is promising. Your gonna need to try flashing something other then a nandoid backup since that doesn't seem to be working.
     

Share This Page

Loading...