Airplane Mode Abroad


Last Updated:

  1. Thormier

    Thormier Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey guys , im just wondering , Im going to Greece in a week and was wondering , If i use Airplane mode will it be ok to have the phone on without getting charged to hell for turning on my phone abroad?

    Also

    Will i be able to connect to Wifi while in Airplane mode?
     

    Advertisement
  2. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Wifi wont work in airplane mode.
     
  3. Banzibarn

    Banzibarn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes, you can still turn on WIFI when Plane mode is on.

    When abroad I think it would be better just to turn mobile network off though so you can still receive calls and texts without being charged data.

    But, yeah, plane mode should stop any charges......
     
  4. kboya

    kboya Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    72
    U don't need to use airplane mode, just make sure u have mobile data off. If unsure, add widget, settings, mobile data and ensure that is never green.

    As above ;)
     
  5. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Plane mode kills all transmitters in the phone, so wifi,bluetooth and mobile network. To use these you have to exit plane mode.
     
  6. FelixofMars

    FelixofMars Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    21
    You can manually turn off your mobile signal and 3G internet.

    Settings>Wireless and networks>Mobile Networks

    Disable Data roaming. It will not connect to 3G while abroad. If you don't want to accept call roaming just don't select an operator when you land. It won't seemingly try to connect unless you set one.

    That said I just found.

    Settings>Call barring Settings

    Some roaming options in there, TBH I wanted to get messages etc on holiday so I didn't turn any of the standard call options off.
     
  7. snowmobile

    snowmobile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    92
    I have been successfully using wifi whilst abroad and in airplane mode. When you select airplane mode it will turn off the wifi so you just have to manually turn it back on again.

    I've found an app called EasySwitch, a useful widget with all of the switches in one place.
     
  8. Banzibarn

    Banzibarn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yep, I tried and WIFI does indeed stwitch on while in plane mode...

    RE: the roaming setting, I guess that's a good fail safe, but I would feel nervous relying on it - I just don't trust it, but not sure why! :)
     
  9. Akalatengo

    Akalatengo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    6
    My wifi and mobile data (t-mo) cab be on during plane mode but unable to surf the internet. however I'm at work and our wifi is not the best, can anyone elsa try please?
     
  10. Banzibarn

    Banzibarn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yep, web browsing with WiFi in plane mode works fine on mine.
     
  11. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Others have mentioned this already, but android 2.0+, you can enable wifi in airplane mode.
     
  12. delinear

    delinear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just tried this also - it works but there was some weird behaviour initially. I have the plane and WiFi widgets on my home screen, WiFi was on, I then turned on airplane mode, the WiFi widget was still green, I went into the browser and got a connection error, went back to the homescreen and WiFi had now turned off. Re-enabled it again and it worked fine while still in airplane mode, so maybe bear this in mind if you try it.
     
  13. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    I think when you initially turn airplane mode on, it disables wifi, but then you can re-enable it. This is true in some builds anyway.
     
  14. delinear

    delinear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    4
    That seemed to be the case - I think it disabled it initially but it either didn't update the widget to show it was disabled, or there was some delay and I just didn't give the widget enough time to update.

    Either way it definitely works in airplane mode when you turn wifi back on.
     
  15. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    56
    I'll be out of the UK from next Monday and obviously want to ensure I'm not hit with any excessive charges.

    I want to be able to receive calls and a messages, and also make calls and send messages. I can access WiFi in my hotel for free, so may do this if I feel like a browse of the internet. What is the best and safest way to set up my phone to ensure I am not hidden with any charges?

    Switch of Mobile Data/APN and untick Data Roaming and Mobile Network? Am I missing anything else?
     
  16. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    That'll do it, however, just unticking data roaming theoretically should be enough. Allways good to err on the side of caution though.
     
  17. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    56
    Cheers, mate.

    Just as you said, I did think disabling data roaming on its own may be enough. I just thought I'd better safeguard myself as much as possible.
     
  18. Banzibarn

    Banzibarn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    4
    Defo, I'd not trust it, the charges are crazy so best to be safe :)
     
  19. jred7469

    jred7469 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    23
    my two cents on this issue,

    I recently (2 weeks ago) spent a week in turkey - i unchecked 'data roaming' for 3G so i just recieved normal signal and everything worked fine all week - no nasty charges when I got back (on tmob btw)
     
  20. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Adhering to the strict agreed standards on 'airplane mode', you shouldnt be able to.

    Either it's a 2.x bug, or a HTC one.
     
  21. kdcasey

    kdcasey Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've just come back from Malta, where I used my phone on airplane mode, but switched on Wi-Fi.
     
  22. her0n

    her0n Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    This would have been useful for me last year, had the Desire been out then.

    I worked at a kids summer camp in the middle of nowhere, USA. We had wifi but the cell reception was non-existant.

    Have wifi on with airplane mode would've meant drastically increased battery life :)

    So yeah, if you're going somewhere with wifi, but no cell reception then it's a good thing to know.
     
  23. barefootpilot

    barefootpilot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    26
    Guys,

    I'm abroad a lot (the clue is in the username), and all I do is set data roaming off. That way I still get text messages, calls (which I can chose to answer or not) but don't get billed for anything else. I have a widget on my 'settings' screen which is basically just a shortcut to the relevant setting, but so far I've never been tempted to turn it on while abroad.

    When I get somewhere with a WiFi network I turn that on and let the phone update (email, exchange rates etc). The rest of the time it's just a phone.

    It works, trust me. I've been using the phone this way for a good 6 months and it's never been a problem.
     
    UKseagull likes this.
  24. Screech

    Screech Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    20
    That is not correct, may have been before carriers starting putting inflight WiFi in the planes. So having the phone allow WiFi to work while in airplane mode is not a bug. I have used in plane WiFi before for my laptop and it works well enough, I did have problems with the SIP phone though: Some lost packets and very laggy. At that time my old phone didn't support WiFi in plane mode.

    I know the tread is a little old, but I'm sure others will stumble here as I did and I like the right info when possible.
     
  25. smallclone

    smallclone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    4
    Right then. Orange network. Going to USA for 10 days. I am going to turn mobile data off. Use airplane mode. Manually turn wi-fi on and turn data roaming off.

    I intend to check for text messages perhaps once a day. But:

    a) Will turning airplane mode off be ok for this? How much more expensive is receiving a text over in USA?

    b) I quite often get picture messages sent to me. This means 3G is automatically switched on when I get them. How do I make sure this doesn't happen? Is there a way round it? As I want to receive all other messages b ut don't want the pictures!

    Thanks!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...