Alert Ringtone Setting - I LOST IT!Support


Last Updated:

  1. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,698
    Okay folks, I have three different tones set on my Droid: The main Ringtone, the Notification Ringtone, and then the third one: an alert ringtone. When Weather Channel widget sends me a special weather alert, it goes off. I remember setting it, but for the life of me I can't find where that setting is now. [​IMG]

    Did I explain that correctly? Probably not. Am I nuts for overlooking something right in front of me? Probably. Can you help me find that option? I hope so!
     

    Advertisement
  2. BottledHate

    BottledHate Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    11
    If it doesn't use the default 'notification ringtone' set in Android Settings---Sound & Display---Notification Ringtone.... Then you probably set it from within the app itself. Try opening it and hitting the soft key Menu button and look for settings.
     
  3. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,698
    I did all that, thanks. I'm starting to think that 2.0.1 removed the option and now the setting is sort of stuck in there. Ah well, next month 2.1 comes out (we hope) and maybe I can adjust it then :rolleyes:
     
  4. BottledHate

    BottledHate Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    11

    i use the weather channel app as well... maybe we could find a couple places right now that have alerts... then you could switch back and forth to force the alert sound while testing different settings.
     
  5. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,698
    I'm glad you know which alert tone I'm talking about and the fact that the setting is missing now. It went off in the middle of the night (to give me a "snow report" of the surrounding area- yeah, THERE'S a real emergency) and I can't find the setting anymore. :confused:
     
  6. BottledHate

    BottledHate Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    11
    found it... when you create a new widget, it allows you to set the alert tone in the process.
     
  7. The_Chief

    The_Chief Accept no imitations! Moderator This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    12,268
    Likes Received:
    11,698
    Yep, that's it! And then no more adjustments. If I want a different (or no) sound, I have to delete the widget and start all over again. Mystery solved... THANKS! :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...