ALL HERO OWNERS, good news?


Last Updated:

  1. newsradio2261

    newsradio2261 Banned This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    ,
     

    Advertisement
  2. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    It's a known thing.

    But I don't think it works quite like that.

    And I would gladly stick with Sense for a few days/weeks..


    HTC probably get 1.6 before release so they can make a custom one anyway.
     
  3. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,381
    Likes Received:
    16,480
    Nope, 'cos all you're doing is running Launcher.apk instead of Rosie.apk. It's still the same Android 1.5 OS underneath, with the same user permissions as before. All you're doing is replacing one 'home screen' with another.
     
  4. ianr

    ianr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    18
    If you stop using the touchflo home screen, you still have the HTC versions of the various apps installed, e.g. the calendar app, the albums, the phone book and many more, are all HTC's and not android's. Installing software from one phone onto another phone is probably going to brick it unless the software is the layer above the drivers and HTC haven't extended any drivers that now need OS support over and above what the android equivalent needed.
     
  5. cwrig

    cwrig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    14
    Would you wan to "upgrade" and loose multitouch? Multitouch isnt part of 1.6 is it?
     
  6. CitizenErazed

    CitizenErazed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Multitouch has been part of Android since Cupcake, but the Hero's been the first phone to support it.
     
  7. Ziani

    Ziani Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    836
    Likes Received:
    92
    Can somebody please explain exactly what Touch Flo does?
     
  8. daveybaby

    daveybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    105
    It looks nice.
     
  9. samuelmaskell

    samuelmaskell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    3
    All android phones to date support multi-touch with the proper rom. It's not a problem with the hardware. Neither cupcake nor donut have multi-touch.
     
  10. TheBrit

    TheBrit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    114
    What are you on about? HTC Heros have Multi-touch. ;)
     
  11. samuelmaskell

    samuelmaskell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    3
    yeah, I know..
    like I said, ALL android phones to date are capable of multi-touch
    that would include the hero, as well as the g1, the magic and the galaxy
    but like I said, stock cupcake does not have multi-touch though CitizenErazed seems to think that it does. I'm guessing that he thinks that the g1, magic and galaxy don't have multi-touch because of the hardware. This is not the case. It is most definitely because of the rom. I have the magic and with the rom I'm using, I have multi-touch. I just doesn't have it out of the box because it is using cupcake, which does not support multi-touch. all clear?
     
  12. cwrig

    cwrig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    14
    All I know is HTC Sense phones are the only stock android phones I know of where Multi touch actually works. Ergo; 1.6 is a disappointment to me. I wouldnt "upgrade to it" and loose functionality I already have on Hero.

    Rooted / custom roms is a different issue.
     
  13. G8D

    G8D Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    4
    Will we ever have multi touch market apps/games?
     
  14. CitizenErazed

    CitizenErazed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Samuel - that was the impression I got from somewhere, must've been mistaken. I know the hardware's been capable of it since day one, but it's not been enabled for whatever reason. I thought it hadn't been implemented in Android until cupcake.
     

Share This Page

Loading...