All Things GPS


Did JI5 fix your GPS?

  1. Yes, totally fixed my GPS!

    15 vote(s)
    35.7%
  2. No, still having problems with GPS!

    21 vote(s)
    50.0%
  3. Worked at first, then performance declined once again!

    6 vote(s)
    14.3%

Last Updated:

  1. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    I thought I had used the GPS on this phone but maybe I haven't? Maybe I had it on cellular towers locations before. I tried it today and drove all over and it didn't work AT ALL anywhere I was. It kept saying it could not find my location at this time. I was not under trees or under clouds or anything. Perfectly sunny day on the highway, etc. Has anyone else had this issue? Please help!
     

    Advertisement
  2. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    Ok I fixed it. I am new to these phones but this was easy.
    intomobile.com/2010/07/21/t-mobile-samsung-vibrant-galaxy-s-gps-issues-fix-tutorial/
     
    Snow904 and RJA like this.
  3. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    I should add that after I did everything listed I also checked use gps the article just mentions wireless settings. Using both works best for me.
     
  4. VegasTouch

    VegasTouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    31
    I didnt have to do any of that. Just turned it on, put in a address and it worked great. Better than my Garmon, but my Garmon is a couple years old and doesnt say every turn in as much detail.

    Oh wait, one time it couldnt find a signal but after a reboot, it went fine. I did this anyways because after reading it, they said it was faster.
     
  5. mustang8918

    mustang8918 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    5
    Great find, it worked for me on my Vibrant and now I don't have to wait forever for it to acquire a signal to see where the traffic is.
     
  6. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    Wow! Lucky.
     
  7. 30glock

    30glock Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0

    This fix has been up on XDA for sometime, I was hesitant about installing this, But seeing all the positive reviews on different forums I decided to give it a go. Well My GPS lock is now instant, I am getting a lock in my office where as before this it seemed impossible.
     
  8. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    I am glad it worked for you, too. I haven't tried it while using the navigation function so I'll be curious to see how accurate it is while moving. It has to be better than what I had before though LOL. I am pretty sure it will work as intended due to how accurate it is in finding my location now.
     
  9. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    I have a qst for those of you who have used this fix. Did you notice a change in battery life? My battery has been MUCH better today than usual and I can't think of anything else I've done to the phone. I always kept GPS off before and I have it off now, but I do have it on allowing access to cellular towers. It's odd. I've been losing 10% an hour when I don't use it at all. Today it has been discharging at about half that speed. I can't wait to see how long it lasts today, it should be a big improvement.
     
  10. coolguy949

    coolguy949 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    17
    No matter what fix I try, GPS is still horrible. It will work fine on freeways and main streets, but wait until you're in an urban area or trying to find something deep inside a neighborhood. It's completely useless. Jumps all over the place or I thinks you're on a different parallel street. Even worse is how it's constantly losing lock.
     
  11. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    Did you try this fix? Mine stays locked and works in urban areas. I drove around with it on today and it worked great.
     
  12. Veritas327

    Veritas327 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did the fix as soon as I got my Vibrant but I am still experiencing GPS problems. It will sometimes take forever to find me and when it does, it hasn't once come within a block of me. Usually it is .5 a mile to 1.5 miles off. I have very little need for the GPS currently but I would still like to be able go into yelp and get directions from my current location to a restaurant of my choosing.
     
  13. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    Yes, I am TICKED. The GPS fix worked yesterday but it did not work at all today. The GPS is a main function I need for this phone :(
     
  14. pdxfilms

    pdxfilms Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been having the same issues. I've tried numerous settings based off the original fix suggestions floating around. All short-lived success. Eventually things return to not-so-great.

    But today, a new fix has been posted at XDA and, so far, it's working quite well for me. I've rebooted a couple times, and each time I'm locking on to satellites almost instantly. Seeing 10-12 and getting a lock on at least 4. Still not 100% perfect, but a lot better, and definitely makes it seem like a software/firmware issue which should be fixable via future updates.
     
  15. VegasTouch

    VegasTouch Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    31
  16. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    I can't deal with the GPS not working on the phone. I adore it otherwise but I have to have the GPS working. Is it likely we will get a firmware update that will solve the problem or is it unlikely? I've heard some people say it is Samsung so it will not get fixed. I've heard others say a fix is on the way. What's the general consensus from those who have experience?

    Also: Do all the Vibrants have GPS issues or could I just swap mine out for another?
     
  17. presence06

    presence06 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    If you're having issues with your GPS, I've read a lot of people taking it into a T-Mobile store and getting a replacement that works perfectly. I would do that, I've had mine since last Wednesday and GPS works just fine, connects withint a few seconds.
     
  18. Wata88

    Wata88 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    3
    before you replace you should try going to settings- location and security- and check wireless networks.. and then it should work.. and also make sure that you have use gps satellites enabled as well.. and it should be quick...
     
    Sassynessa likes this.
  19. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    Getting a replacement wont solve your problem. Galaxy is a world phone and they all have GPS issues not just vibrant. U replace it...u will get another with the same issue.
    my vibrants manufactured date is about a week and a half ago. This bad boy is as recent as they come and still has GPS problems.
     
  20. rocketragz

    rocketragz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    4
    I don't think I'm having gps issues.
     
  21. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    That isn't the issue... It's more complicated than a setting. But thank you :)
     
  22. Robinelli

    Robinelli Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    635
    Likes Received:
    37
    That's what I thought, but a few people on the board are saying their GPS is working?!
     
  23. presence06

    presence06 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    2
    My Manufacturing date is 7/6/2010 and I have zero GPS issues, connects even inside. Outside it connects in a few seconds. Maps doesn't lock up or anything either, turns and moves with me.
     
  24. Puraw Wave

    Puraw Wave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
  25. rocketragz

    rocketragz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    4
    Im sure we will get an update at some point. they're probably just waiting a little bit until everyone gets settled so they don't have to issue multiple updates for every little issue.

    Not talking about you op, but everyone needs to chill out. This is tmo premier phone and galaxy is spread across all carriers. We will get updates and certainly froyo update +
     

Share This Page

Loading...