almost ready to flash Cyanogen


Last Updated:

  1. RowdyPants

    RowdyPants Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    i've got a incredible still running 2.1 (couldn't OTA update, i think because i rooted it). i've been having stability issues and that has finally prompted me to getting around to updating.

    i would like to upgrade to a cyanogen mod because i've heard a lot of good things about it. according to ROM manager, CM 6.0.2 is the most recent stable release, so i figure thats the one for me.

    I have:

    • root
    • installed ClockworkMod recovery 2.5.0.5 (through ROM Manager premium)
    • .:EDIT:. now backed up my ROM
    I Have not:

    • backed up anything (at all)
    • verified that the components are ready for updating

    I know flashing CM will erase everything on my phone, but i'm confused about the backing up part. i have installed Titanium Backup Free, which i believe will backup apps, but i have also seen something about nandroid in the recovery menu of my phone (hold down the Volume Down button while turning phone on). i've read nandroid is a full backup of my phone. can i use nandroid to back up my phone in one fell swoop, then use it to restore my apps and settings (like my saved wireless networks, contact lists, internet bookmarks and passwords, etc)

    this is from /settings/about phone/
    Code (Text):
    1. Model: ADR6300
    2. Hardware: 00002
    3. Firmware: 2.1-update1
    4. Baseband: 1.00.03.04.06
    5. Kernel: 2.6.29-cc1c2268
    6.         htc-kernel@and18-2 #1
    7. build: 1.22.605.2 CL161494 release-keys
    8. Software number: 1.22.605.2
    9. Browser: WebKit 3.1
    10. PRI: 1.28_002
    11. ERI: 5
    do i need to update anything before i am ready for CM?

    PS does anyone know how to keep the user dictionary from resetting to the top when i delete a word? every word i delete sends me back to the top of the list, so in order to delete two consecutive words i have to delete, *scroll down and find next word again*, delete. it's really annoying and my dictionary has grown out of control because pruning is such a chore
     

    Advertisement
  2. patsfan1130

    patsfan1130 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    8
    Titanium backs up all apps and data. A nandroid backs up the ROM. I believe you have to backup one app at a time with the free version of TB (I could be wrong though). With the paid version you can restore in batches. Go into ROM manager and "backup current ROM". This is a nandroid and saves where you are right now. Once done click "download ROM" and choose the one you want. It will ask you if you want to wipe data & cashe. click yes. wait until done and enjoy your new addiction :)
     
  3. RowdyPants

    RowdyPants Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    i backed up my current ROM through ROM Manager, and verified that it was on my sd card. so my ROM is all taken care of

    i now have Ti Backup and i'm backing up my apps and settings. i'm backing up everything to the default location (i haven't changed any directories, so i assume its on my sd card). do i need to copy this to a separate location? i dont want to "wipe data and cache" and lose everything
     
  4. patsfan1130

    patsfan1130 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    8
    You have backed up your ROM via rom manager so you are good. Backed up your apps via TB...your good. When flashing a new ROM....You have to wipe date & cache. The 2 ROMS dont play nice together.
     
  5. RowdyPants

    RowdyPants Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    i decided better safe than sorry and backed up everything to my desktop as well. i just downloaded Cyanogen 6.0.2 and the google extras. it downloaded and then nothing else happened.

    i chose CyanogenMod 6.0.2 and a window popped up asking if i wanted to install google apps too (i chose yes), i watched both download in my notification pane, then nothing happened. i was never asked about wiping cache or data, in fact once the download was done i had to manually start ROM Manager again (it didn't force quit or anything, i just had to open the "start" menu and hit the icon).

    i thought it was on autopilot after i chose my ROM.

    i did a little poking around and there was a .zip in /clockworkmod/download/www.thekilpatrickproject.com/downloads/koush/htc/inc/update-cm-6.0.2-Inc-signed.zip but the "inc" worries me, it could me incredible (my phone) or incomplete.

    if that .zip is the correct one can i select it where it is or should i rename it update.zip and move it to the root of my sdcard first?
     
  6. patsfan1130

    patsfan1130 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    8
    Are you flashing through recovery or rom manager? I am assuming through recovery because rom manager always asks to wipe data & cache.

    /clockworkmod/download/www.thekilpatrickproject.com/downloads/koush/htc/inc/update-cm-6.0.2-Inc-signed.zip

    This does not worry me. flash it
     
  7. RowdyPants

    RowdyPants Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    i was trying to use ROM Manager, but only went as far as downloading the ROM. i did select "Install ROM from SD Card" and poked around there (thats how i found the bolded file), but didn't follow through on anything so nothing was changed.

    so just go to that .zip again and select it? everything else will be on autopilot?
     
  8. patsfan1130

    patsfan1130 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    8
    You've backed up your ROM.... and your apps via TB. Select "download ROM" in ROM manager...select CM 6, wipe data & cache...enjoy :)
     
    RowdyPants likes this.
  9. RowdyPants

    RowdyPants Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just flashed it, and it works!

    except email (com.android.email) force closes when i start the phone. i thought it might be a one time thing so i cleared the email application cache and rebooted, but it force closed on the second boot... and it looks like it just force closed again after about five minutes (maybe every time it tries to sync?)

    .:EDIT:. i reflashed with the google addons (didn't have market the first time) and i'm still having the force close issue. i did the ROM manager permission fixing and rebooted, but to no avail
     
  10. RowdyPants

    RowdyPants Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    i googled high and low trying to fix the com.android.email issue before someone told me, and clearing the cache didn't work (which was really the only tip online).

    i was going to try using Ti Backup pro to "freeze" com.android.email because Ti says that it prevents the process from running or android seeing it (i guess like a antivirus quarantine?) but i didn't have my pro version installed on CM 6.0.2 yet.

    i ended up installing CM 6.0.1 instead and haven't had any issues since
     

Share This Page

Loading...