??? Aloysius did it change


Last Updated:

  1. Snccoulter

    Snccoulter Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I instaled it a week or so ago and when it booted up it asked me to go throught the whole setup. IE set up google mail and the whole basic step by step to get everything working. i was messing with a new rom and decided i liked Aloysius better and re downloaded it and now i dont have half the stuff i had did i do something wrong or did the rom get updated. This is where i downloaded it from each time. http://androidforums.com/eris-all-things-root/151840-sell-me-your-favorite-rom.html
     

    Advertisement
  2. ppbb

    ppbb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    6
    if you flashed a new rom and did both wipes, you basically reset your device and lost all of your apps and wdgets. you'll have to download these.
     
  3. Snccoulter

    Snccoulter Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh so i need to have the inital forman get root and install Aloysius over the top witout wiping the inital program
     
  4. ppbb

    ppbb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2010
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    6
    No,

    are you rooted? If you are you do not need to re-root.

    if you flash a new rom, you will erase everything from the previous rom. If your flashing a new version of the rom, you can flash right on top of the existing rom, just do a dalvik wipe only. You need to check with the dev and see if okay to flash without complete wipe. Sometimes you can, sometimes you need to do data wipe.

    if you do data wipe that resets the phone and erases any previous apps, settings you had. It's starting over again. Going from say Kaos to Aloysius you will need to do both wipes. Starting over from scratch.

    If your going from Kaos v 29 to v 30 you can get away with just flashing right over that rom (dalvik wipe).
     
  5. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
  6. erisuser1

    erisuser1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,644
    Likes Received:
    759
    Friendly reminder:

    Before you (Wipe and then) flash a new ROM, or perform a ROM overlay, you should always be performing a Nandroid Backup

    If you had a Nandroid backup of what you had before you started "messing with a new ROM", then you can simply restore that backup using a Nandroid restore, and you would be back to exactly where you left it - all your apps, all your settings, all your data.

    That's what backups are for - please don't forget to use them.

    The only time that you don't need to make a Nandroid backup before flashing a new ROM is if you have "wrecked" the ROM somehow, or you simply don't like it and are sure that you will never return to it again. Hopefully that only happens rarely.

    If there is ANY DOUBT IN YOUR MIND whether you are about to "do something dangerous", or that you might want to come back to the same condition your phone is currently in, MAKE A NANDROID BACKUP

    eu1
     

Share This Page

Loading...