Altec Lansing Plantronics Backbeat 906 & 903Accessories

Last Updated:

1. Reprobate

Reprobate Active Member This Topic's Starter

I bought the 906 version which is identical to the 903, but adds a bluetooth transmitter dongle for non-bluetooth device.

This is my 4th Plantronics bluetooth device and the 2nd that has been stereo BT. I will be taking this back after a day of use for these reasons:

1) These are uncomfortable. I hate ear phones and love earbuds(or canal phones or In-Ear-Monitors). These seem to be somewhere in-between. After about 30 minutes my ears hurt. Granted, I've been using Sony earbuds for the last 8 years, so that's what I am comparing them to. I can wear my buds for 8+ hours with no discomfort, I've been wearing the Backbeats for 3.5 hours today and they've been uncomfortable throughout. You only get one size and I'd say I have average to small ear canals.

2) These only sound alright. Again I'm coming from 8 years of the same $60 earbuds from Sony. These have a lot more treble and sound tinny to me. I had a much better experience with the older Plantronics 855 stereo bluetooth which used earbuds similar to the Sonys. I like more defined bass that gives rock and alternative music a punch. The Backbeats make music I am familiar with sound much less dynamic. I had to use the bass boost option on all music. I think most people will be fine with the sound, but more discerning listeners should look elsewhere. There is a feature called OpenMic which is supposed to allow you to hear the outside world better when you press a button. I had no problems hearing around me with this option turned on or off, one of the 2 settings just adds a low static hum.