Alternative Menus in Android's Native Email Application

Last Updated:

1. Tasneem

Tasneem New Member This Topic's Starter

Hi,
    I am a Newbie in android and i wanted to add a menu option in native email app in android . I have used intent filters but i am not successful in achieving it.
    Actuaaly i want to a menu option to the native mail application in Android.. so that my activity / app can be launced on clicking that option. This feature has been successfully achieved in Blackberry and even in android for gallery application.
    On android i have achieved it by using intent filters.
    <activity android:name=".DisplayAlternativeMenu"
    android:theme="@android:style/Theme.NoTitleBar">
    <intent-filter android:label="My Activity">
    <action android:name="android.intent.action.SEND"/>
    <category android:name="android.intent.category.DEFAULT"/>
    <category android:name="android.intent.category.ALTERNATIVE"/>
    <data android:mimeType="image/*" />
    </intent-filter>
    /activity>
    This basically display an menu item"My Activity" when u press share in Gallery. and clicking on that launches my activity
    But unfortunately it didn't work for Email Application.
    Looks like the pair of action & mimetype i am specifying is not correct.
    Can you please tell me which action & which mimetype should be used. Also if there are any permission required,what are they?

My aim is to add an alternative menu while pressing menu in Compose Email(When a mail is composed) of the native email application

Thanks
    Tasneem

Advertisement
  2. alostpacket

alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

I dont think you can change menus in another app unless you fully replace that app, no?

At least I hope not.

3. Tasneem

Hello,