Am I correct on this assumption I have about Nandroid backups?


Last Updated:

  1. dvdqnoc

    dvdqnoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I backup a copy of a particular Nandroid backup file onto my computer, and get a replacement Hero, can I root it and load that same Nandroid backup file to get it exactly as it was on the previous Hero?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Aviator753

    Aviator753 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, you are correct.

    I did exactly what you stated previously when i damaged my hero and had to get a replacement through insurance. (Thankfully the sd card was safe, haha)

    Nandroid a total backup, which is extremely noce. All your contacts, messages, apps, logs etc are all restored!
     
  3. dvdqnoc

    dvdqnoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    So no need to reflash custom ROM's, custom lockscreens, re-push apps, etc? Everything is saved in the Nandroid? AWESOME!
     
  4. Joehunni

    Joehunni Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,001
    Likes Received:
    77
    You will be able to restore it to be identical as the hero that made the backup yes, but you will still have to root the new hero first if that's something you're wondering about.
     
  5. treborcj

    treborcj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    33
    You will also have to have the same recovery. If you update the recovery image then it will not work. I ran into this when I decided to update the recovery and could not restore any backup before then.
     
    wrench likes this.
  6. dvdqnoc

    dvdqnoc Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    What exactly is the "recovery image"?
     
  7. doneve141

    doneve141 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    7
    I never thought about the recovery image making the backups obsolete. I just went through an ordeal with an sd card failing while using apps2sd and I tried a lot of things to fix it before figuring out that it was the sd card, including a factory wipe. I tried to use a nandroid that I had on my computer but it didn't work. I don't remember when or that I even did but I did change my recovery image. That makes a lot of sense now. I already fixed everything and reset the phone, apps, accounts, ect. It didn't take too long. I had most of my apps backed up through ES file explorer, in the back ups on my computer.
     

Share This Page

Loading...