am i rooted??


Last Updated:

  1. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    5
    i followed all the instructions on the auto root...it seemed to work fine, and i got to a menu but pressed 'reboot.' now i can't tell if i'm rooted. any help?

    thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. DFRESH

    DFRESH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    39
    which auto rooter did you use?

    turn off your phone...

    then turn it on by holding the HOME and Power On button at the same time..

    if you see a screen in black and green letters...you are mos def rooted ...
     
  3. tatonka_Hero

    tatonka_Hero Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,566
    Likes Received:
    86
    power your phone off, then hold the "home" button while powering it back on. If you get to a black screen with green writing, with options like "reboot now" and "flash zip from sd", then yes, you are rooted
     
  4. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    5
    ok, so i basically just want to remove a bunch of apps that sprint put on...how do i do that? the nascar, the amazon, etc....? it looks like i'm rooted.... can i keep the regular rom and just remove this stuff?
     
  5. DFRESH

    DFRESH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    39
  6. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    5
    there's no way to simply remove the apps and continue using the default rom? or are you just saying this rom is better? sorry i'm really new at this...
     
  7. DFRESH

    DFRESH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    39
    yes...i just told you...use the fresh kitchen 1.0.5 to remove them and you can keep using the ROM you are running right now...

    you can always flash a new rom that doesn't have all the Sprint Bloatware as well...but that's up to you..
     
  8. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22
    hes saying use the kitchen to remove the app you want ..............no one mentioned roms except you
     
    theimpaler and huedawg like this.
  9. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    5
    sorry 702droid, i am totally new at this...i guess i'm mistating things. i guess what i was looking for was gaining root access to erase the crap apps, and then keeping stuff as is for now....until i learn more. so you both are saying i have to use fresh kitchen to remove them? sorry...baby steps and simple break downs if you can....lol
     
  10. DFRESH

    DFRESH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    39
    well Fresh Kitchen 1.0.5 is the best way to go for a newbie like yourself..

    unless you want to remove them through ADB shell ....which it might be a little more complicated to you....
     
  11. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    5
    so even though i'm already rooted, i am safe to do fresh kitchen?
     
  12. DFRESH

    DFRESH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    39
    Yes....Fresh Kitchen is safe to use on any 1.5 ROM and Stock ROM ...

    I think you should give Fresh 2.0d ROM a try though ...it's based on the new 2.1 Sprint Update we're getting in a couple to few weeks...
     
  13. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    5
    are there any instructions to actually 'install' it anywhere? fresh kitchen 1.0.5
     
  14. 702DROID

    702DROID Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    22
  15. DFRESH

    DFRESH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    39
    it's an application you run on your computer Windows Vista/XP/7...

    you install it ...connect your phone to your pc/laptop...

    then once you install it you click on the TOOLS tab then the Add/Remove Applications tab ..

    select the apps on the STOCK APPS section that want out of your phone..

    below next to the GO button you'll see an arrow pointing down ...

    select UNINSTALL and click on GO ...

    Fresh Kitchen will remove the unwanted apps and that's it..

    it's as simple as turning on your TV..
     
    jeffreynothing43 likes this.
  16. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    5
    dang...now that's what i'm looking for. thanks so much...i'm not done, but close. i may hit you guys up if i run into any snags. thanks so much.
     
  17. DFRESH

    DFRESH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    39
    yeah no prob...if I'm not here, I'm sure someone else will help you out...
     
  18. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    5
    when installing it, it gave me an error saying i didn't have the correct windows...but i have service pack 3 and win xp? i tried it on my other comp too...no luck?
     
  19. Heaterz16

    Heaterz16 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    16
    You might have to leave a comment on the geekforme site where you downloaded it and flipz (developer) will hopefully give you an answer.
     
  20. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    5
    i have spent all night trying to get my phone right...i have rooted it and now when using kitchen 1.0.5 i can't remove any apps. it keeps saying somethings wrong in diagnostics and i've troubleshooted everything. please some tell me what to do? god...what a long night.
     
  21. DFRESH

    DFRESH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    39
    on your phone..

    go to settings then to APPLICATIONS>DEVELOPMENT and a make sure USB Debugging is checked...
     
  22. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    In addition, being as you stated you have Windows XP, you must make sure:

    Use Command Instead of Powershell

    Is Checked. XP doesn't have Powershell, so you must make sure that box is checked.
     
  23. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    5
    debuggin is checked...i am following everything as close as possible. it says that there's some kind of diagnosic error, and that 'send keys' is not checked. i download a patch but it didn't fix it.
     
  24. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
    Did you do as I said above?
     
  25. jeffreynothing43

    jeffreynothing43 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    5
    yes, and it is acting like its going to erase the app, but then says phone disconnected out of nowhere.
     

Share This Page

Loading...