Am I silly for wanting this phone right now?


Last Updated:

  1. Ferris23

    Ferris23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    So in my other post you'll see I'm an iPhone 4 owner. I love that phone, I have no issues with it, so let's keep that phone out of this discussion.

    I like to mess around with stuff though so I have been considering a nice Android phone other than my poky Droid Eris work phone.


    I really didn't like the Samsung Captivate very much and don't trust Samsung when it comes to quality control or updates, I just want a stock Android phone. It seems the N1 is the best choice for a respectable piece of hardware running stock Android that is well supported.

    I was looking at the AT&T version but just had an offer for a new T-Mobile (well, RMA'd from Google so possibly refurb, but new housing) version.

    I was thinking of just signing up for a no contract 40 dollar per month data plan and then just use Google Voice for calls and texts. My primary phone would be my iPhone, but I just wonder if I am making a bad decision wanting a N1 so bad at this point.

    For some reason I just trust the N1 over the other Android phones out there and don't want to invest in a big plan like I would have to with Verizon and Sprint so the Evo and Droid X aren't an option.

    I think I'm rambling out loud so hopefully this makes sense.

    :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    you will still get charged minutes........
     
    Ferris23 likes this.
  3. Ferris23

    Ferris23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    orly?

    Using GoogleVoice app?

    That doesn't sound right.
     
  4. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    believe me if the minutes were free, i woudnt be paying for any minutes either. matter of fact im sure atleast 70 percent of us would use gv exclusively
     
  5. Ferris23

    Ferris23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    I see your point, just trying to understand why on my Verizon work phone (which has a voice plan) I don't get charged for the voice minutes or texts used under the Google Voice app?


    I mean yeah it sounds to good to be true but GV isn't supposed to use minutes, or is that only if you have a voice plan already.

    Thanks btw
     
  6. Schwin97

    Schwin97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    12
    Google Voice uses data for the SMS messages, but it makes calls through a separate number - thus using minutes. Now, depending on the plan and carrier you may be able to get the 'separate number' as one of your free numbers to call, but otherwise you will be charged.

    There are some posts on the google message boards about how to set up a sip phone to go through your google voice number, thus using data for calls, but again that is not the stock google voice/n1 setup.
     
    Ferris23 likes this.
  7. Ferris23

    Ferris23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    I don't mind hacking the phone if it's possible.


    If you don't mind, what's a sip phone?

    So if this is true then I would just get charged like 40 cents a minute if I used GV with no voice plan?


    Ok so another N1 plan fails. Dammit. lol
     
  8. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    that used to apply with tmo my favs. but that is gone for some time now, unless you are grandfathered in. with the latest update the other way has been negated as well
     
  9. Schwin97

    Schwin97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    12
  10. Schwin97

    Schwin97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    12
    That is why I am happy with my AT&T service... Granted I pay a pretty penny, but I have the a-list, and I have put my voice number and the number it uses to call out on the a-list so I shouldn't use any minutes theoretically...
     
  11. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    i would look into that, because with the latest gv update they got rid of that
     
  12. Ferris23

    Ferris23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    So then my other option would be to use my AT&T SIM and either be stuck on Edge or just use WiFi with the Tmo version?

    I can get it for a really good price. Maybe Google will let me swap it for the AT&T version.

    :D
     
  13. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
  14. Ferris23

    Ferris23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yeah I know, dare to dream though right? ;)

    is the first part accurate though? Using my AT&T SIM for Edge/WiFi only?
     
  15. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
    yes that is correct!
     
  16. Ferris23

    Ferris23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
  17. BiGMERF

    BiGMERF Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,079
    Likes Received:
    267
  18. Ferris23

    Ferris23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    2
    haha Yeah I'm weird. I want the best of both worlds. I think I may need to shelve my dreams of an N1 for now.

    Maybe I'll just pretend this little Eris is an N1. :(
     
  19. tardman91

    tardman91 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you can get it for that great of a deal I would pick it up, then try Craigslist to see if anyone wants to trade an AT&T version for a T-Mobile one. In my area I've seen several ads by people looking to swap straight up.
     

Share This Page

Loading...