An ideaaa, please read.


Last Updated:

  1. techobsessive

    techobsessive Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    So at 17 (almost 18), taking Java for two years to program for Android, ive accepted that I just can't get a smart phone. Sad. Im on VZW and have a enV touch, its driving me up a wall. (I also made it go swimming with me..so thats prob. why ). So to cut things short, is it possible to take a Micro Sim card from AT&T put it in a adapter and put it in saay, a nexus one or captivate? What id do is take the no-contract pre-paid data plan of the iPad 3G, most likely the 200MB/month for $15 and use Google Voice and other various VoIP clients to use as phone and GV for texts..I pretty much have WiFi where ever I go and pretty decent AT&T 3G in my area. Yes I know, it's just not that simple. Id have to change the APN on the device to att's broadband. Tweak a heck out the phone, but..
    1.) Is it possible? Ive seen it done for a data only iPhone
    2.) It is legal right?
    Pleaseee answer.
     

    Advertisement
  2. clutchy

    clutchy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    12
    yeah you could probably do it...
     
  3. aquaitious

    aquaitious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    43
    I've given my old G1 to my dad before on T-Mobile.

    He couldn't surf the web since he didn't have data on his plan, but everything else was fine...of course "everything else" consisted of him only making phone calls. haha.

    Correct me if I'm wrong, but are you planning on only using a data plan without any talk minutes?

    If so, I'm not sure if you'll be able to make phone calls through Google Voice, but I could be wrong. Texting is a definite yes.

    How are you planning to get a Nexus or Captivate though?
     
  4. techobsessive

    techobsessive Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I could use other VoIP clients..but ill use ebay or something...idk i can't decide between the Captivate or N1, I don't know why Samsung changed with the captivates custom version of android so i don't know if they might of changed the way the phone functionality works.
     
  5. Teknologic

    Teknologic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    93
    As a java developer you'll probably want the N1 if you're going to be developing for android.

    I think AT&T won't be too happy if they find out you're using a data plan to circumvent paying for phone calls and should they somehow find out (they prob wont if you don't go tell em), they might switch you to some sort of smartphone dataplan.
    But illegal as in"'omg they'll sue the crap out of me!!!1?"
    I think not.
     
  6. techobsessive

    techobsessive Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well if its no contract how can they do anything? Its prepaid! Ha idk this is starting to feel shady, buttttt its not. Im not signing any legal agreement.
     
  7. Teknologic

    Teknologic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    93
    Ohhh, prepaid. Sorry must've skimmed over that. Prepaid is def the way to go if you can! I'm on prepaid now too, everytime I reload for 15, I get 1GB data.

    Yeah you really shouldn't be worried then :p
     
  8. techobsessive

    techobsessive Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    hahah so are you on a pre-paid ipad plan? and how do you get 1gb?
     
  9. Teknologic

    Teknologic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    93
    I'm sorry to confuse you like that but as you can see from my location, none of the info I'd give you would be relevant to you. I'm with a Belgian provider, the only one in the country who offers decent rates for data.
    Not an iPad plan, I make calls and texts the old fashioned way. Google voice isn't even available here (ty google) nor are paid apps :O (ty google).
     
  10. techobsessive

    techobsessive Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    ooooh well thanks anyways ha! and im sorry that suckss
     
  11. HTC

    HTC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    7
    google voice still requires a phone line to use.. its not using data (perhaps some day?), for text messages you can use google voice and it will use only data, alot of people have been doing it that way, but I like the builtin messaging a lot better.
     
  12. techobsessive

    techobsessive Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah,i really wish google voice only used data, it would make things so much easier.
     
  13. HTC

    HTC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    7
    could be the death of cellphone providers if it does.. =P
     
  14. Hegemony

    Hegemony Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    23
    It is my understanding you cannot use an iPad SIM in a regular phone. You CAN get an adapter, and it will technically fit, but AT&T was prepared for people wanting to do this. I have been hearing that when you try to do this it just won't work. There's some sort of authentication thing happening on AT&T's servers that can tell if the iPad SIM is in an iPad or not.
     

Share This Page

Loading...