AndExplorer & AcclaimSupport


Last Updated:

  1. sueasidle

    sueasidle Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    100% newb to android. Does it just LOOK like I can delete CityID (etc) in the device system app folder using AndExplorer? Or can I really get rid of it? Or will my phone blow up in my hands if I delete it?!

    I would like to have my favorite apps on home screens, but certainly don't want to have to wade through unused and unwanted apps on the main app listing in order to find the other apps I DO want shown there, (but just aren't 'home screen' worthy to me.)
     

    Advertisement
  2. driftwood

    driftwood Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    2

    quick answer is no, you cannot remove pre-installed/pre-packaged apps from the acclaim without rooting...
     
    sueasidle likes this.
  3. rasmith3530

    rasmith3530 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    58
    Driftwood is correct, but in the case of CityID, I believe it should take care of itself once the free trial runs out. At least that is the way it acts on the feature phones.
     
    sueasidle likes this.
  4. nrfranci

    nrfranci New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I am NOT a technology person so I apoligize if this is a new update and everyone's learned it or if it's not even the topic at hand....

    My understanding here is people would like to remove some apps that came already set on the acclaim homescreens. I found this forum because I couldn't figure it out either than last night it just happened! If you touch the app and hold it (as if you are just moving it) and then drag it to the gray "tab" which you use to open the whole app library - if you look it should have a trash can as you are holding the app and when you drop the app over the tab it will turn red. This app is now stored solely in the library and not on your home screen but can be returned to the home screen at a later time if you want.

    If this helps I am so happy for you... trust me I was on cloud nine when I cleaned up my homescreen last night!
     
  5. rasmith3530

    rasmith3530 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    58
    From what I read, I believe the OP wants to completely remove the application, not just the shortcut on the home screen. That said, thanks for posting anyway.
     
  6. cwill0303

    cwill0303 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    12
    I have had my Acclaim for over a month and my CityID 15 day trial doesnt seem to be running out! Kinda useless because I know where all my friends live but if an unknown number comes in, I can see about where its coming from without having to go to whitepages.com
     
  7. Dark Reality

    Dark Reality Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    11
    The City ID trial never actually ends. It does however, stop asking for the monthly fee after a while. (I should really check our bill to ensure US Cellular is not charging me $1.99 or $3.98 a month for it for one or both of our phones.)

    City ID is also erroneous much of the time. My number shows up as Elizabeth City, NC, a city I've only been to once, and it wasn't to sign up for cellular phone service. Completely random visit, I think we had to help somebody move. The US Cellular store we signed up at is in Washington, NC (an hour away) and we live in Chocowinity, NC (10 minutes from Washington) so it's way off.

    If it's wrong about us, how can you trust it for others? Obviously our number got spoofed somehow, or City ID is just broken. In any case, an interested party would be able to disguise their location and fool you. Oh, and when I access the Internet at work, when I go to location-aware sites, I show up as being across the country, where my job's HQ is. The same sites show me as either Fayetteville, NC, or Fuquay-Varina, NC (sp?), which are both 3-4 hours away (in the opposite direction from Elizabeth City) so that's screwed up too.

    If I lived aboard the TARDIS, this would make sense. But I don't, so I don't trust location-aware stuff too much.
     
  8. aj444

    aj444 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    OK on this, City ID only checks the number block (000-000-xxxx) to see where it was registered for, which works great for landline phones (your local telephone company registers the block so your local town is listed) but don't work so good for cell and voip phones, as they cover more area so you could get a number registered in any of the city's that they cover. so City ID will only know which city that number got registered, which may or may not be where you actually happen to live.

    This is actually the same deal. except it's going by your computers ip address, and the ip address databases tend to be all messed up. Most times it'll be within 30 miles or so for people that get their Internet through local telephone or cable company but for larger businesses they can be way off.
     
  9. rasmith3530

    rasmith3530 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    58
    Eventually, the app tells you the trial period is done. I've never paid attention to see if it keeps reporting locations.

    Every phone number, land line or cellular, is registered to a city/state. This is what CityID reports. It has nothing to do with the phone's current location.

    This is not right, it should be showing where you are at, not some place several hours travel away. There are a few steps that I take to make this happen properly on my phone.

    Settings > Location & Security... Make sure the two boxes on top are checked.

    Setings > Acounts & Sync... Same as above.

    Settings > Privacy... Make sure Use My Location is checked.

    Next, point your web browser at www.google.com. Scroll down and click on Settings. Scroll down and select Yes for Allow Use of Device Location, then Save. Tap on Home.

    I also install an app that I believe helps GPS. It is called GPS Status and is available for free in the Market. Once installled, I go into GPS & Sensors, then Auto-download AGPS data. I change the setting to every 6 hours.

    I end up with a pretty accurate GPS. Good luck!
     
  10. 2acclaim

    2acclaim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    18
    my only issue with the open source nature of the android system is that companies can put crap on our phones lock us out from removing.

    I'm tempted to root just to get rid of the stuff that I don't want/shouldnt be forced to have on my phone that I pay for every month.

    Believe this US Cellular, I don't like being tied into stuff I don't want. Not that the other big companies aren't doing the same thing but if you want to be different, be different, just don't sit there and tell us on your commercials.
     

Share This Page

Loading...