Andriod OS Question

Last Updated: 2012-04-14 12:42:39
  1. cdmurray88

cdmurray88 Member

Hey Guys!

My girlfriend and I are American's living in China, and we are both new to the Android community.

Anyway, my girlfriend just bought a Lenovo A520, which is a China specific phone as far as I can tell. It uses Android 2.3.

Like I said, I'm new to Android so my question is this:

Her phone has what I assume is a skin, but the English is translated from Chinese (read: Chinglish).

She wants to know if it is possible to put a regular English version of Android on her phone? She, however, likes the skin, just wants better English.

I told her it was probably possible to flash an English Android build, but it would be the default Android theme.

Any thoughts on this?

Advertisement
  2. McNulty

McNulty Active Member

Im thinkin along the same line as u... my first thought would be to root it and flash an English ROM.
    I can almost guarantee she'll find a skin she likes with whichever ROM u set her up with. Or she can just learn to speak chinglish
  3. VoidedSaint

VoidedSaint Resident Ninja VIP Member

why dont you just change the language settings?

settings
    language and input
    language
    and choose english.. that should put it back for you

let me know if thats not the case
  4. MSUgEEk

MSUgEEk Well-Known Member

Sounds like what you're talking about is something similar to HTC Sense (a skin) that is natively in Chinese but has an option for English, but the English is very poorly translated, right? If that's the case, I would see if I could root it and put a natively English ROM on it or just Vanilla Android. However, being a China specific phone, you may be out of luck regarding developer support for ROMs.

If what Voided said doesn't work, I'm afraid you may have to learn Chinglish.
  5. cdmurray88

cdmurray88 Member

@McNulty: