Android 1.6


Last Updated:

  1. ashthorpe87

    ashthorpe87 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Alll.

    Is it possible to upgrate my Hero with android 1.6 at all???
     

    Advertisement
  2. docal

    docal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. ramonini

    ramonini Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    56
    can i use this update for the sprint HERO ?
     
  4. themonkster

    themonkster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    5
    That's not android 1.6 that's just the latest firmware update !!!
     
  5. ticho

    ticho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    12
    Try looking for similar threads in this forum, where this question has been answered already.
     
  6. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
  7. docal

    docal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    If 'donut' is v1.6 of the android OS, what is the new firmware update for hero on the htc site about? thanks, docal
     
  8. ticho

    ticho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    12
    Try this link. In short, it mostly just fixed some performance issues.
     
  9. docal

    docal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks ticho
     
  10. jaybea830802

    jaybea830802 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    10
    A posting on Twitter from HTC earlier this evening said:

    "There is still no new information on future updates to Hero. That doesn't mean their won't be updates, just no new info right now." (@HTC)

    J
     
  11. leeladisky

    leeladisky Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know if the 1.6 update can be applied to the Sprint Hero?
     
  12. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    First off, that link is NOT the 1.6 Android update. It is the HTC Hero ROM update. It's still using Android 1.5.

    Second, the Sprint Hero uses a DIFFERENT ROM than the HTC Hero. DONT try to upgrade your Sprint Hero with that ROM. It wont work and can break your phone.

    Third, I think the Sprint Hero should already have the 1.6 Android OS. CDMA wasn't available until 1.6 came out and since Sprint uses CDMA, I'd assume it's either Android 1.6, or 1.5 modified with parts of 1.6 by HTC.
     
  13. docal

    docal Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks quantumrand. i figure i'll wait for 1.6 for htc since by upgradign to it (whenever its available) I will also get the new firmware (the new ROM) - am I right in thinking this? Docal
     
  14. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    Thats right. HTC will release a firmware (aka ROM) update, and that new version of the ROM will have 1.6 (and possibly 2.0) incorporated.
     
  15. trick202

    trick202 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    949
    Likes Received:
    49
    That's lovely.........but WHEN?

    Why are mytouch and G1 users getting it, and not hero?

    Is it because of sense?
     
  16. SirGaz

    SirGaz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, it's because of senseUI
    At the very least HTC will have to test that it still works under 1.6 which could take several weeks, and that's assuming there is nothing that needs to be amended - which I guess there will be
     
  17. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    Can you not just run Hero on 1.6 without Sense?
     
  18. qdigga

    qdigga Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Why would you want to??? :eek:
     
  19. Edaze55

    Edaze55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have to agree with this. Part of the draw to the phone is Sense. Remove that, and you end up with a stock droid.
     
  20. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    You can root the Hero and install a vanilla Android ROM with 1.6. I haven't looked specifically, but I'm sure there are vanilla ROMs available for the Hero.
     
  21. ampers

    ampers Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounded like a great idea until I spend twenty minutes looking for it. And haven't found it yet.

    Thanks but no thanks.

    I'll try another forum.
     
  22. ashthorpe87

    ashthorpe87 New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im going to wait for android 2.0 - Think its called eclair?
     
  23. fivebass52

    fivebass52 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    5
    My Sprint HTC Hero shows the firmware as 1.5...
     
  24. quantumrand

    quantumrand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,237
    Likes Received:
    198
    Yeah. As it turns out, HTC wrote their own CDMA stack for their kernel. Some of the code may or may not have been taken from the Android 1.6 source code, but because it's not the ful 1.6 firmware, it's still considered 1.5.
     
  25. Duncs

    Duncs Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    23
    I cant believe there is still nothing coming from HTC on a Hero update, surely there is no need to be this secretive about it ... I will just keep emailing them daily until a proper answer is given, i just dont understand why they cant say either you wont ever get updates, it is close (with a date) or they are skipping 1.6 so go straight to 2.0. Instead they leave everyone guessing with stupid comments like 'I cant say anything yet', what a load of **** !!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...