Android 1.6


Last Updated:

  1. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42
    Just wondering what is up with Android 1.6? No threads in the "Android Forums" talk about it....?

    I have been on a personal four night, all night mission to get my phone to look like this....


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]


    ...and I have come up with nothing, lol. I do know that the gent that had this look was running a version of Android 1.6 and he was using a Sprint HTC Hero, and on Fresh 1.1 ROM However, he is unreachable now so I can't find out where to go. I have looked on this forum and found no thread to mention Android 1.6....I find that odd. There is a link below that talks about 1.6 cupcake and everything, (even says that it is good for CDMA - which is us). Is this just another Europe CDMA thing that we are not allowed to touch?

    Anywho...if anyone knows of a way to get that sweet NEXUS LOOKING APP launcher that completely takes away the "phone button" and "plus/add" button and just leaves a nice looking app launcer - let me know PLEASE! Also that is a dang HOT looking dialer too with clean looking options at the top!

    The wifi, bluetooth, ect app at the top of screen 2 is something I want also.

    Link is here for ANDROID 1.6 is below if anyone know anything about it.

    Thanks :D

    Android Developers Blog: Android 1.6 SDK is here

    lol...what is this ---> NEW! - Android Developers Blog: Android 2.1 SDK is here
     

    Advertisement
  2. ElAguila

    ElAguila Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    1
    Those icons look like the 2.1 icons that were posted on xda. The taskbar looks like the white taskbar from emerica on the same site.
     
  3. ccapasso

    ccapasso Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    278
  4. kbussen

    kbussen Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is definitely 1.6. I tried it because I dont use BT so it wasnt a great loss for me but I was one of the few that couldnt send SMS. So, pretty disappointed cause I liked the look too. You can tell it isnt Emericas taskbar because the fonts are black. Currently there is no way to make the fonts black on 1.5.
     
  5. nclobo

    nclobo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Konikub, here is the deal on andyriot's setup. He is indeed running AOSP 1.6 in those screenshots. The way he got his phone to look like that is by using a progaram called Metamorph. It is free, and a theme app not a home replacement. He is using the Nexus theme that is available for that app, which will give you that Launcher and that dialer. Hope that helps put your search in the right direction.

    Edit: The thing on the second screen is called a Power Control widget. It is only available for 1.6 and up. You cant use it in any 1.5 ROMs.
     
  6. TheBiles

    TheBiles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    159
    I've been using 1.6 with pretty much zero problems (since I don't used Bluetooth).
     
  7. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42
    Thank you everyone for all the great info and insight on 1.6! I'm not sure I'm going to do it just as of yet...TheBiles, your other thread on the 1.6 was very informative and I did not find that until just now. At the end of your thread you said that basic android was to plain for your tastes and you didn't have time to customize it...? Is that still the case or is it all better now and you would recomend this to anyone out there.

    Is bluetooth the only thing not working...? Does the camcorder work, does the SMS messaging work? I SOOOOOoooo badly want that NEXUS launcher the very most so I can get that PHONE button and PLUS/ADD button off from the bottom of my screen!!! I may just have to wait until 2.1 is released and gets ROM'ified :cool:

    Who knows....I would def like to hear more of your thoughts on 1.6, are you supprised to see a slew of more folks "NOT" running 1.6?

    Thanks in advance...and SUPER thanks for all those that replied with extremely insightful info!!!!
     
  8. TheBiles

    TheBiles Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    705
    Likes Received:
    159
    I decided that the extra features like Google Maps Navigation and Google Goggles were worth the time to customize it. I found an app (SyncMyPix) to sync my contacts with my Facebook, and I am using GDE to customize my homescreen. I also have Eclair icons using MetaMorph. It is possible to get the Eclair launcher with some themes (you can find them on xda), but I like GDE.

    Bluetooth just flat-out doesn't work. For video recording, I'm not sure what the issue is with it since I haven't tested it out, but I can confirm the camera works. SMS works perfectly for me (only some people have reported issues with it).

    I think the only reason that you don't see more people running it is because it is a dev ROM, so it has those little quirks like having to install Googlebits (in my sig) to get all of the apps to show in the Market and not having Bluetooth, etc. Most people would like something that just works out of the box (which I wanted until I figured out work-arounds for most of the things that were bothering me). You can follow the links in my sig if you want to give it a try. Just do a nandroid, and you have nothing to worry about. I recommend Titanium Backup to backup all of your apps so they are easy to install in 1.6.

    Edit: I will try and get some screens up tomorrow morning also.
     
  9. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    since the 1.6 rom is an ASOP rom that means that it has nothing added.. it's a developers rom.. that scares most away since they don't want to configure it themselves.. for me.. I gotta have BT
     
  10. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42
    Yah....I'm an AVID bluetooth user!! Not sure if I can go with no bluetooth.

    Thanks "TheBiles"!!!! I would love to see your screenshots when you get around to posting them. Not sure if the new launcher app is worth the trade for Bluetooth, when I'll most likely be getting it in the 2.1 ROM coming soon.

    I can't tell you how badly I hate that bottom three buttons...lol!!!
     
  11. nclobo

    nclobo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, load a Nexus Launcher onto your 1.5 ROM, turn off Sense and make Home your default. Then you still have the exact same ROM youre running now with everything intact, and you'll get rid of Rosie at the bottom of the screen. The trade off for this is that you only get 3 screens just like you would with the AOSP. But you dont have to mess with all the bugginess and it looks exactly how you want it to.
     
  12. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42
    So far I like YOU THE BEST...lol!! Sooooo, how do I get a Nexus Launcher on my phone. I TOTALLY could deal with three screens and take off sense....only do I flash a nexus launcher onto my phone via root access...or push a single apk through cmd??? Things I am trying to find out. I did try what Andyriot did and with his dircetions and all but my phone went CRAZY and I thought I bricked it...but was able to get into root and flash Fresh 1.1 back onto the phone. I followed his dircetions twice and the phone when bonkers!

    SO I decided to stop...lol, until I could figure this out. I totally want what I want....without killing my BEAUTIFUL hero!!

    Thanks for all your help and if you could help anymore it would be so much appreciated.
     
  13. nclobo

    nclobo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can give you a zip for the Launcher if you want. All it is is the Launcher, if you want to change your icons then thats up to you. I changed mine, but I did it the old fashioned way and pushed them one by one. I saw andyriot's post and it seemed awesome, but I prefer to know exactly what Im changin and in what order. Let me know.
     
  14. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42
    I would love a zip for the launcher...I have better home with some really nice icons, I can change them that what one by one if needs be. I have already done it one by one...and they look sweeeet.

    So I just put the zip file on my card and boot into "root" and select zip/choose...update and reboot...? I've put a nexus boot on there is this going to change all that I have currently?
     
  15. nclobo

    nclobo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, its not gonna change anything when you reboot. Your homescreen right now is running on Sense, so it'll look the same. But when you turn off Sense and set Home as your default then it will have the Launcher. You'll have to add the icons from your app drawer and put whatever wallpaper you want on it. Ill post a pic...Im still sifting through my computer for the file... [​IMG]
     
  16. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42
    Looks exactly what I want!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! That is MY holy grail (pardon my horrible analogy, lol). Every app I currently have on my phone has been change through "BetterCut". So unless they change through taking off "sense" I'll be good to go. Plus I heard taking off sense...make everything MUCH more faster as it's an internal memory hog. If you could post a link to the zip that would be just insanly great!!!!! Plus a few minor instructions...lol. Like if I throw it on m sd card and flash it through root and whatnot :D

    Thanks man you rock!!!!
     
  17. nclobo

    nclobo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright man, here you go. Just download it, put it on your sd card, go into recovery and flash it like any other zip and reboot. When you reboot your phone wont look any different until you go to Manage Applications and click on Sense. Force stop and clear defaults on it. Then press your Home button and it will ask you which you want to use as a default. Select Home and there it'll be.
    Holy hell! Did you know you can only attach a zip of like 145 KBs or less????? Im gonna send you a PM in a minute with a link for it. Hold on...
     
  18. nclobo

    nclobo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sent you a PM.
     
  19. Konikub

    Konikub Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    42
    Love it! It is all that I wanted it to be....when I first installed it, it was kinda buggy. The phone was laggy...but it all dissappeard and is running so smoothly now THANKS MAN!!!! You made me one happy little guy, lol.

    How about that phone dialer in the first posts pictures...lol, I don't suppose you would be rocking that out would ya!?! Just wondering seeing as how you are using the launcher and all!

    Either which way...thank you soooo much for all you have done! HUGE props to you! :D:D:D:D:D:D
     
  20. nclobo

    nclobo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im glad I could help. Seems like somebody's always helpin me with somethin or another, and so it goes. Sorry to tell you about the dialer, but that really is only for 1.6. Nobody's ported that over yet.:(
     
  21. mysticmead

    mysticmead Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    175
    if you want.. PM me the link and I'll host it on my site (unlimited storage and unlimited bandwidth :D) then we can share it with everyone that wants it..
     

Share This Page

Loading...