Android 2.1 update 1


Last Updated:

  1. Crafoo

    Crafoo Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just checked my phone and had a message saying that an OTA update is ready to be downloaded and installed to my phone. Now I'm already running 2.1 on my hero (3 branded but I used the guide to get the unbranded 2.1 update so running a standard HTC rom) so I was a bit confused as to what this update is actually for, I've checked my phone and under firmware version it says "2.1 -update1" and the software number is "3.32.405.2" anybody got any ideas of what this update is actually for? is it a fix for something or some extra features that have been added????

    Cheers.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    I think it's the orientation calibration tool. I can't find the thread about it (possibly due to the Hero section being reorganised right now), but some people lost their widgets when they updated.
     
  3. Crafoo

    Crafoo Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sounds right then as I too lost some of mine :( thanks for the quick reply fella. I had a quick searchy but couldn't find anything.
     
  4. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
  5. Crafoo

    Crafoo Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    2
    Cheers matey
     
  6. ticho

    ticho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    12
    Yep, all widgets provided by HTC Sense have disappeared here after the update.
     
  7. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Has anyone found a proper method for getting them back? I've heard one of two people who say they've done it, but nothing other than that.
     
  8. ticho

    ticho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    12
    Other than to manually add each to their proper place on the homescreens? No. Maybe it would be possible on rooted system, but I have no idea where the homescreen and widget configuration is even stored.
     
  9. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    It's actually not possible to restore widgets that have been removed from the screen, not even on a rooted system. You still have to manually add them back and reconfigure them.

    But I thought the bug was that they disappeared entirely? As in they weren't in the widget selection menu either, so there was no way to re-add them.
     
  10. ticho

    ticho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    12
    I don't know - I haven't had it happen to me. I simply readded the Sense widgets back and went about my day. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...