Android 2.1 Update now available for Telus Milestones!General


Last Updated:

  1. WirelessGuy

    WirelessGuy Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    10
    Android 2.1 Update now available for Telus Milestones!

    Go to the Motorola Site, cange your location to Canada, select provider Telus and you will see Milestone now listed under devices.

    Enjoy!
     

    Advertisement
    Enygma and mixpix like this.
  2. justajason

    justajason Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone try it and manage root?
     
  3. actng

    actng Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    weird no update over the air
     
  4. Brokennails

    Brokennails New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was just going to post this. And yes, Rooted with the same process of vulnerable sbf.

    Back to no protected apps on AT&T again though....
     
  5. firefight16

    firefight16 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes I am using Milestone from Telus on Bell and i updated to 2.1!
     
  6. billo0071

    billo0071 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am on Telus and just applied the 2.1 update. I am a little confused as the launcher and the gallery are still the same as 2.01. Is 2.1 not suppose to have launcher2 and the new gallery app?
     
  7. binaryhellstorm

    binaryhellstorm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    16
    I ran update also and I am noticing that now I have live wallpapers but the voice command option doesn't show up on the keyboard. Everyone was saying how 2.1 allows for voice input in almost all the text fields and I don't see that. Also I don't see the application menu I still have the application drawer. Anyone else have these issues?
     
  8. mixpix

    mixpix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've updated to 2.1 now. I think we're getting screwed over on the new update... it took months to release 3 updates??? Come on!

    Live Wallpapers - Yes
    Additional Home Screens - Yes
    Updated Home Screen Navigation - No
    New App Launcher - No
    Voice Typing For All Text Fields - No
    New Widgets - No
    3D Photo Gallery - No
    Bluetooth Hands Free Dialing - Yes
    Faster Processing - Not that I can tell.

    Based off this list: http://www.pcworld.com/article/186768/googles_android_21_how_itll_change_your_phone.html
     
  9. firefight16

    firefight16 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yes I noticed that also, no Voice and music and gallery no change? But bluetooth voice now works! Read on Motorola forum that voice thing won't work in Canada as we have two official languages? But that does not explain the other two?
     
  10. ColHavoc

    ColHavoc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    They crippled it, plain and simple. I'm beginning to wish I would have invested in a Nexus one.
     
  11. -=MagMan=-

    -=MagMan=- Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think the Gallery may not have been updated, because I remember reading that the Milestone has it's own implementation of the Gallery software? So I think in that case Motorola would not change it to the one built-in with Android 2.1.

    I hope they get the other features on there soon. That nonsense about no voice command because of dual-languages is total BS IMO.
     
  12. thesloth

    thesloth Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is from the official moto website next to the download:

    "During the software update, all third-party media, including but not limited to, music, pictures, ringtones, and screensavers, will be deleted. You will need to reload all third-party media after the software update. Third party applications and some custom settings CANNOT be automatically restored after the device has been updated. Please note that during the update, you will have the opportunity to save your personal data."

    Is this of concern? Every seems to say it's pretty painless, but will I lose all my apps and custom setups (I haven't rooted)? Also, my media (pix, music, etc) is on my SD card so that should be fine right?

    Thanks for the help!
     
  13. Celtyc

    Celtyc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I just did the upgrade and feared the same thing so I did a backup of all my apps with Astro and my contacts with Lookout but the install didn't wipe anything so you should be fine. Kinda pissed the other features are missing I was looking forward to the speak to text function. I thought I read somewhere that 2.1 was supposed to have an official version of Google Earth as well?
     
  14. PlaneGuy

    PlaneGuy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    1
    Argh blargh who thought it was a good idea to change the media dock night mode to a blightness slider?!

    I can certainly understand it somewhat. I work on software that also requires a night mode, and we did come up with the same idea. It only took about ten minutes of discussion to decide it was a terrible idea, though.



    Pros:
    * interesting to code
    Cons:
    * not enough contrast to distuguish text from background in low-brightness conditions; you need to have a different very bland background for it to work.
    * in the morning the screen is too dark to easily find the slider to turn it up again
    * also I just woke up I don't have that kind of dexterity

    and I just got my dock too :(
     
  15. mixpix

    mixpix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    5
    I think it was a good move to use a slider, now you can make the screen darker than before. Before it had a blue hue that was actually quite bright.

    For some reasons the lights on the 4 buttons on the bottom don't turn off now! So I have push the power button to get the lights to turn off, and that also turns the screen off.

    I have left the phone for a while and the button lights don't time out either.
     
  16. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Are you now going to hijack every single thread with your moaning about getting an N1? Go and get it and stop moaning. Uneducated decision caused that you are unhappy, your decision, not Motorola's.
     
  17. ColHavoc

    ColHavoc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Look buddy, i'm not hijacking threads i'm replying to what someone said (firefight16 and mixpix) and just leaving my 0.02, if you have a problem with me or what I post, PM me other than that, leave your complaints out of the topic and just direct them to me personally. That is the end of this little discussion.

    *Back on topic*

    One thing I like about 2.1 is they finally fixed the Facebook syncing bug. Now, I can finally sync my contacts and Facebook info. I even noticed that if I am texting someone who is in my contacts and facebook, it shows their last status by their name. Nice feature.
     
  18. firefight16

    firefight16 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
  19. ColHavoc

    ColHavoc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    Could that be an issue though on the network side? Did you try calling Telus to see if they are having an issue with that?
     
  20. Kerith

    Kerith New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is Google Maps Navigation working for anyone using a Telus Milestone?
    Google Maps version 4.1.1
    Android 2.1
     
  21. firefight16

    firefight16 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2

    Thought I had corected all my posts but missed this one, it was sugested in another forum that it was a network issue, so I had two Bell friends try on differant handsets and yes, it is a Bell issue.

    I called Bell to complain and of course CS was in Ontario and it worked there after a few minutes and some discussions with someone on her end Bell admitted it is an issue with BC Bell users.

    A ticket was done and still no repair as of this writing.
     
  22. dbond45

    dbond45 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using an Unlocked Telus on AT&T in Chicago. 2.1 installed, but I'm so pissed about no voice command or speech recognition. Total BS. We need to hack this asap.
     
  23. vibribbon

    vibribbon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have installed the Motorola Software Updater based on the instructions at the top of this thread, but when I try to update my Telus Milestone it says "no update available for your device". I am assuming this is because I am running the Thai 2.1 SBF. I tried downgrading to the Brazilian 2.01 SBF but I still got the same error.

    Can anyone help me get the Telus version of 2.1? Thanks in advance.

    Edit: realized I hadn't tried Motorola Update Manager, when i try to register my device for updates it says "We are sorry... This product is not supported by the Motorola Update Manager."
     
  24. ColHavoc

    ColHavoc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had the same issue, somewhere on alldroid there is a Telus 2.1 SBF file floating around. Download that and use RSD lite to flash your device to 2.1 that way. You will loose all your personal data, so make sure you backup.
     
  25. mixpix

    mixpix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    5
    Download the update package directly from motorola canada. Its in the support section under device updates, or something like that.

    Should be able to flash over other versions.
     

Share This Page

Loading...