Android 4.4 (KitKat) help/discussionSupport


Last Updated:

  1. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    6,420
    Likes Received:
    1,204
    You also almost drop it . but u can turn down the notification volume
     

    Advertisement
  2. brockalee

    brockalee Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've tried restarting in safe mode and still the problem persists. Just a lot of violent static on the other end and they can't hear a word I'm saying, but the static does seem to follow my cadence.

    There has been no water damage that I'm aware of, and normal (non-speakerphone) works great. Is there actually a separate mic for the speakerphone?

    I'm not sure how long after I installed Kitkat that this started happening and it may not be related. I just can't seem to figure it out.

    Any suggestions? Thanks!
     
    pexxi and alcolburn like this.
  3. Just_Kris

    Just_Kris Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I updated to 4.4.2, my phone icon that I have in the dock area changed to a little android guy. When I tap on it, it says app not installed. I had to go into the main app menu to get my phone icon back, but the lock screen still shows the little android guy.
     
  4. Samcanadian

    Samcanadian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    67
    So, is there any way to use Flash on this phone anymore? I used to use the Stock Internet browser for Internet Radio/Streams etc, but ever since Kit Kat they have removed the "Enable Flash" checkbox that was in the settings, and my radio stations won't play anymore.

    This is unfortunate. And before anyone asks, it's an AM radio station I've been listening to so the built in FM radio won't pick it up.
     
  5. MoshuXXL

    MoshuXXL Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    13
    It's possible to use flash with Dolphin and a modified version found in xda.
     
  6. admob

    admob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    12
    got 4.4.2 over the weekend, UK unlocked... tbh. cant see any difference bar losing the flash plugin... and the colour of the icons in the header bar... everything still works, so thats obviously a positive.. :)
     
  7. Wilkas

    Wilkas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2012
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    182
    Hate this update, wish it had been pulled before I downloaded it. Losing the ability to view videos on the browser is a big deal to me, a lot of links from Twitter for the Xbox One stuff I like to view just doesn't work anymore. Will give dolphin a shot but for me android was always supposed to be about choice.. not having your choices forced on you.
     
    MoshuXXL likes this.
  8. oilyboy

    oilyboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    3
  9. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    6,420
    Likes Received:
    1,204
    Can I ask did you do a factory data wipe . sounds like you didn't wipe data and cache .
     
  10. androidexpat

    androidexpat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    29
    For some odd reason the call logs on this HTC ONE now only seem to go back about 2 months or so. In the past they went back much further. What's up with the new update of them just going back 2 months or so??? Call logs do not require much memory. I had a few important calls that I needed while I was abroad and when I looked back I noticed that I could not go back far enough to check. This is not a problem on my Samsung Note 3 but is a problem on my HTC ONE. Seems like HTC always has a way to lose customers here and there. How much memory could it possibly use if they allowed it to go back say 6 months or a year? They could give users an option as to how far back they could keep track of call logs
     
  11. Hadron

    Hadron Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    16,846
    Likes Received:
    9,527
    Hmm, just checked my call log and it goes back to August 2013 (which is probably about the last time I wiped it). Now I'm on a custom 4.4.2 ROM, but the dialer seems stock and I've never found a mention of the call log being tweaked.

    Of course it could be that there's a limit on the number of calls, in which case the time-span would be different for different people. I guess you could test that by seeing whether your oldest calls disappear as you make new ones.
     
  12. AlienZombieEater

    AlienZombieEater Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Anyone else notice no more auto-replacement of emoticon smileys in texts?
     
  13. Hadron

    Hadron Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    16,846
    Likes Received:
    9,527
    HTC changed the emoticon style/encoding, and yes, that is the unwelcome side-effect.
     
  14. androidexpat

    androidexpat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    29

    I am running Android Version 4.4
    Software Version 4.06.1540.2
     
  15. Samcanadian

    Samcanadian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2013
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    67
  16. DRock72

    DRock72 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    this is kinda stupid but does anyone know how to make the KitKat logo to appear on the HTC One Verizon? Like the trick for Jellybean by tapping the Android version til the jellybean comes on the screen.

    Thank you
     
  17. MikeEthio

    MikeEthio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    39
    It's the same way when tap the Android version 2 or 3 times you'll get capital letter K tap and hold it and you see red Android version 4.4.2 tap and hold again then you'll get kitkat game.
     
    BRAINZ2013 likes this.
  18. DRock72

    DRock72 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    For whatever reason that does not work. Could it be because I have Verizon's version and The Big Red Box has a hold of everything?
     
  19. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    6,420
    Likes Received:
    1,204
    Try to tap 7-15 times
     
  20. DRock72

    DRock72 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nothing works. Oh well. I just thought it would be cool to do the trick like I did on my HTC Rezound with Jellybean. Just got the HTC One last week and got the KitKat update.

    Thanks for the help
     
  21. dgrobe2112

    dgrobe2112 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    76
    dont work for me either.. htc one android 4.4.2, sprint
     
  22. ckar

    ckar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    7
    Anyone out there having an issue with the speakerphone automatically activating when using the phone? Doesn't happen all of the time, and definitely never happened before the Kit Kat update. Thanks for any feedback.
     
  23. hilker09

    hilker09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    128
    I've had this occur. Nothing I've tried had corrected it. HTC feels it is software related, so hopefully an update will fix this in the future.
     
  24. BRAINZ2013

    BRAINZ2013 Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    6,420
    Likes Received:
    1,204
    Don't know if you was asked or if you done this try a factory data reset . I know you have to set up the phone after this but hey if it fixes the problem hey that's the price I would pay to have a fixed device :eek::rolleyes::thumbup:
     
    marctronixx likes this.
  25. hilker09

    hilker09 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    128
    This is one of the things I tried. Didn't work.
     
    marctronixx likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...