• After 15+ years, we've made a big change: Android Forums is now Early Bird Club. Learn more here.

Android app for Iphone folder function

the13bats

Apr 3, 2013
I am new to android, wife upgraded and I got her skyrocket, I was on an iphone, knew it very well and had it all personalized.

So I see a world of apps out there for Android and like with my iphone I started installing some, perhaps I got in a hurry to get the personalized set up of my phone over with,

It has go launcher and the related iphone theme and another called "app folder" by ayelectronics that was suppose to give iphone like folders.

So my problem is ( wife says I installed too much stuff ) is I want the apps and folders to work like iphone, hold down it starts to shake the things on the screen and then you just drag it to the folder you desire it in, if you had an iphone you know what I am talking about.

The irony is last night when I had my wife helping me place things into folders because she knows the function of Android we saw things shaking like on an iphone,
Later when we tried again nothing will shake and you cant just hold and drag an app to the folder you desire,

The only other thing I can think is a friend did some root thing to it.

Did I get confusing?
My real question is what app allows apps to be placed in the folders in the same way iphone does and why did mine have it and now doesn't?

Many thanks,
Cheers,
P.

What version of Android do you have?

I have no idea what your friend did, but it is standard for Android that you can hold an icon and it can then be moved on top of another to create a folder or swiped up to remove the shortcut. Or if there is already a folder, you drag additional shortcuts to it. No need for any special software for this.

Upvote 0
The phone is att android skyrocket 2

My tech friend said he did the root with something called doomlord and swears it would have no bearing on this issue.

D'oh Grrrr...ahem, yikes!