Android App: Milage


Last Updated:

  1. camdog916

    camdog916 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have this app called Mileage that tracks the mileage between gas fill ups. Well my question is I am getting a replacement Moto Droid on Wednesday and want to know how to export the file onto my new Droid?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Highland Ranger

    Highland Ranger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    25
    download titanium backup from market
    use titanium backup and do a backup of apps and data
    connect usb to pc, select usb storage
    when pc recognizes phone as a drive copy all contents of card over
    swipe mini-sd cards old phone and new
    download titanium backup from market to new phone
    restore from swapped sd card - you should get it (and everything else) that way
    you should also be able to test it safely . . ..
     
  3. GideonX

    GideonX Guest

    Titanium Backup would require root access, the OP may not have that.

    I believe Mileage has an export feature no?
     
  4. muab

    muab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    42
    export just the app? Or the data that the App has collected also?

    I take it the data or App are not currently on your SD card? Have you tried SD move to move the App on to your SD card?

    Doesn't Appbrain backup all one's apps?

    Seems like it says that when I log on....
     
  5. GideonX

    GideonX Guest

    Exporting data, not the app itself.

    I think the OP wants the car data he has entered. Reinstalling the app is cake, it's the data that he's more concerned about as far as I can tell.
     
  6. adostrom

    adostrom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    16
    A Google search for "android mileage app" found a page for it that says:

    I just installed it... There's a big honkin' import/export button right on the main menu (tap the menu button). Export your data, save it to your SD card, or e-mail it to somewhere, or whatever... The rest is left as an exercise for the reader.
     
  7. defkorn

    defkorn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    25
    I haven't used that app, but with a similar mileage tracking app the export option is only available with the paid version. I wonder if this is the case with "Mileage".
     
  8. adostrom

    adostrom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    16
    Nope. I downloaded the free version, and it has the option to export to CSV, SQL, and SQLite DB all enabled. I read the help file, and the program defaults (intelligently) to putting the export file onto the SD card, so exporting and importing really only takes a couple of taps on the screen. It's a pretty nice app, and allows you to track multiple cars, produces built in reports and a couple of graphs. I'm going to start using it myself, so I'm glad that this thread appeared.
     
  9. barry99705

    barry99705 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    876
    Likes Received:
    20
    The app creates a backup file that is located in /sdcard/milage/backup. I've used this file to get the app to work after flashing new roms. You just hit the import/export button then hit restore from last backup.
     
    adostrom likes this.
  10. camdog916

    camdog916 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for all the replies. I know I can export it to my SD card but I am getting a replacement phone today and want to know how to get it on the new phone. It's there a way to e-mail it to myself beside just taking the SD card out of my old phone and installing it into the new one?
     
  11. GideonX

    GideonX Guest

    Sure, send it as an attachment.

    But I'm just curious, why don't you just take your old sdcard and put it into your replacement and be off an running? It's the same card...
     
  12. JezterVA

    JezterVA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Swap the SD card from the old phone into the new one and import the data. After you've reinstalled the program of course.
     
  13. JezterVA

    JezterVA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or mount the phone to your computer and copy the file over.
     
  14. corbinator

    corbinator Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    13
    I just did a factory reboot on my DROID1 and thanks for the question. I've had this for a while and didn't even know about it.:D When you get your new phone I would think you could just put your SD card in it and restor backup from there. If not just save a file and email it to your self, mount your new phone and copy it and update it from there.
     
  15. mswhite60

    mswhite60 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    4
    Great suggestions here, but also take a peek at Dropbox. Very handy for these sorts of activities.

     
  16. peter.b

    peter.b New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wish it were this simple for me, but for the last several months Mileage (on Droid Eris) will not let me export. Every time that I try to an error pops up: "Error! /sdcard/mileage.[whichever extension]"

    Anyone have any suggestions? I am getting a new Incredible tomorrow and would be devastated if this data were all lost.
     
  17. JM33

    JM33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    25
    I had this problem and noticed I had several exports, I think up to mileage.5. I ended up deleting all but one of them, and it worked again. I did lose a few of my first fillups though. It would probably be a good idea to copy them to another folder, or put them on your pc. You can try opening them and decipher the info if all of the fillups are not in one file. Good luck!
     
  18. REX_BMET

    REX_BMET New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    just found this thread, i had the same problem. the simplest way i found to do this was to connect my old device, open folders, copy the milage app to my computer, then copy that again to my new device. then on the new device, open the milage app, select import/export, then select "restore from latest backup" and all my fill-ups from my old device showed up on the new device
     

Share This Page

Loading...