Android Commander No Root display


Last Updated: 2012-09-17 04:33:40
  1. UP2NoGooDJ

    UP2NoGooDJ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    I am hoping someone out there can assist me with this issue that's driving me crazy.

    I rooted my phone (Moto Droid version 2.2.2) with superoneclick. Everything was fine and even used android commander to hack a game :)

    But all of the sudden every time I go to android commander it displays root access NO instead of OK. I have no idea what happened? I know my phone is rooted because I have the super user icon, I'm running set cpu, rom manager, and even titanium backup. I am 100% certain it's still rooted because I can get to all my files in root explorer. But, for some reason when I connect my phone via usb to android commander (version 0.7.9.8.2.01) the status is Root NO. It does recognize my device but still thinks that my phone is not rooted.

    I have already rerooted with superoneoneclick, and even fixed permissions in Rom manager. But still no matter what I can not get root access to switch to OK in Android Commander. I hope someone can help me :confused:
     
    Advertisements
  2. SNeitzel

    SNeitzel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    610
    Did you go into the SuperUser app and make sure Android Commander is listed as being allowed to have root access?
    Even if it does show as having access, I would delete the entry for that program, close superuser and try to launch AC again.
    With no entry in the list, SU should ask you again if you want to allow AC to have root access.
     
  3. UP2NoGooDJ

    UP2NoGooDJ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    That seems to be my problem right there. But, I can't figure out how to get SU to give me the option to grant permission. I installed and uninstalled Android Commander 4 times already. But, it doesn't matter SU still won't display the option to grant permission. Can I just ask you something? When you log in SU while using Android Commander is there Android Commander listed in your list of programs as granted access? You know with a green dot next to the application? If you can please check and let me know. Other then that I have no idea how to get SU to grant permission. I wonder if there is a manual way of doing this? Hope someone can give me those steps on how to go on about doing that.
     
  4. SNeitzel

    SNeitzel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    610
    I don't use AC, but the other apps I use that need root (ROM manager, CacheMate, TiBackup etc.) are listed in the SU app with a green dot next to them. You might try to clear everything out of the list in SU, reboot and let all your apps re-ask for permission.
    My other thought is to go into settings and clear the data for SU. I don't know if that would hurt anything or not, it shouldn't...

    EDIT: Additional thought, have you repaired permissions recently?
     
  5. UP2NoGooDJ

    UP2NoGooDJ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    How do you clear the data from SU ? I fixed permission through Rom Manager few days ago. I even downloaded an app called Root Check and it did confirm that my phone is rooted.
     
  6. SNeitzel

    SNeitzel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    610
    <Menu>, <Settings>, <Applications>, <Manage Applications>, select the <ALL> tab, wait for everything to load, scroll down and select Superuser, <Clear Data>
     
  7. UP2NoGooDJ

    UP2NoGooDJ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Cleared the data went into SU app plugged USB and opened Android Commander nothing. No notification to grant permission and Root Access still at NO Thanks for trying to help bro I appreciate it. Maybe I'll get lucky and find someone with the same issue. I been searching everywhere and can't find a solution for this.
     
  8. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,408
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    3rd Rock
    clear data for AC - then see if it asks you again to get root privileges next time you run. If the FC button is not grayed out, FC it *first* then clear data.

    If that does not work, FC (if not grayed), clear data, uninsall, reboot, install and go from there.
     
  9. UP2NoGooDJ

    UP2NoGooDJ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    9

    Sorry to sound like a noob but how you clear data on AC ? Also what's FC ?
     
  10. SNeitzel

    SNeitzel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    610
    The same way you cleared data on Superuser. FC = Force Close
     
  11. UP2NoGooDJ

    UP2NoGooDJ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Now I'm 100% lost. What Force Close what Data Clear? When you open Android Commander what is the next step? I do not see any setting to clear anything or any grayed out boxes.. :confused:

    FYI this same issue happens at home. So theoretically I have 2 ACs that are behaving the same way and not showing rook OK. Even though I have all root applications and even checked with a root check app regarding my root and it all checks out. I just don't get it.

    Anyone use Android Commander? I wish someone did then you can open it and log into super user and see if there is in fact a permission listed in there.
     
  12. SNeitzel

    SNeitzel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    610
    Sorry, I just looked up AC and it is an application for the PC not android.
    Disregard the comments about clearing its data, that applies to apps on the phone.

    EDIT:From AC website
    Phone Requirements:
    - ROOT (only for Applications Manager and flashing options)
    - BusyBox (required only for rooted phones; included to most ROMs)
    - Settings->Applications->Development->USB debuging must be enabled
    - USB cable

    Try updating busybox (you can do that from within TiBackup, click the 'Problems?' tab at the bottom and 'Get BusyBox') and make sure USB debugging is enabled.
     
  13. UP2NoGooDJ

    UP2NoGooDJ Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    I just updated busy box and still no potatoes. I think its pretty much a done deal at this point. I have posted this question in every thread I can think of and no one really knows what the issue can be.
     
  14. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,408
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    3rd Rock
    It sounds like it is not getting proper access to the phone to check to see if it is rooted or not.

    Does AC require that you have the Android SDK installed?

    Also, my apologies for my posts earlier - I, too, thought AC was an Android app installed on your phone, not an application for your PC....
     
  15. ldsgja

    ldsgja New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    I realize that this is an old thread but I am having the exact same problem and it is quite a bit frustrating.

    I wish there was a way to force super user to give access.
     
  16. sjstokes1

    sjstokes1 New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    There are some pretty detailed instructions on taking the boot image and unpacking it changing some line and then repacking it and putting it back on phone to give android commander root access. But these instruction are for people who already know how to do some of the stuff that you need to go to get that point. we really need some one to break down those instructions for us noobs.
     
  17. tamahouse

    tamahouse New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Solution
    (This thread is long time ago, but I still think the solution would be useful somehow.)

    The Root access : No because you'r using the stock rom which have a "secured adb" (even when you'r rooted)

    Download the "adbd insecure" in this thread and "Enable insecure adbd", problem solve:
    [02.06.2012][ROOT] adbd Insecure v1.0 - xda-developers
     
    johnlgalt likes this.

Share This Page