Android Device ManagerGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. Thom

    Thom Guides Guide This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,468
    Likes Received:
    4,103
    Go to ... https://www.google.com/android/devicemanager ... and have GPS enabled on your registered Droid Maxx ...

    If you select your registered Droid Maxx does it report where your phone is located?

    If you tell it to ring does it send the Orion ringtone or the ringtone you selected?

    ... Thom
     

    Advertisement
    DucatiDude and Outatime like this.
  2. speede541

    speede541 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    480
    Likes Received:
    140
    Yes, and (1) Orion.
     
    Thom likes this.
  3. Thom

    Thom Guides Guide This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,468
    Likes Received:
    4,103
    Since I now know it works ...you have to go to Google Settings | Location and check Access location.

    It is working now with the Orion ringtone.

    Thanks.

    ... Thom
     
  4. Outatime

    Outatime Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,616
    Likes Received:
    644
    That is wild. And a little bit creepy. LOL.
     
  5. DucatiDude

    DucatiDude Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    44
    So how do I use the erase feature?
     
  6. Thom

    Thom Guides Guide This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,468
    Likes Received:
    4,103
    I have not tested it.

    You have to enable it on your phone first. After that you can sent a request from the service and it will do a Factory Data Reset.


    I believe it is at Settings | Security & Screen Lock | Device administrators and there you add the check mark for Android Device Manager.

    ... Thom
     
  7. doogald

    doogald Guides Guide

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    6,575
    Likes Received:
    1,877
    You also need to go into the Google Settings app, choose Android Device Manager, and make sure that "Allow remote factory data reset" is checked.

    Frim there, go into https://www.google.com/android/devicemanager on a browser and make sure that you are logged in, choose the device "XT1080" and you can remotely erase the device. (If you select the pencil icon you can edit the name of the device to something else, like, say, Droid Maxx.)
     
  8. lewwill

    lewwill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    24
    Well, I was going thru it and noticed on my desktop that it listed my Xoom, Maxx and Bionic. It was late and I was tired :( and thought I would remove my Bionic from the list. :(:(:( So, selected it and hit erase. :eek: I can attest to the fact that it works. I am sure happy it wasn't my Maxx. As soon as I did it I realized that erase wasn't delete. However the locate and ring features work well.
    Anyone interested in a factory fresh Bionic?
     
  9. Thom

    Thom Guides Guide This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    10,468
    Likes Received:
    4,103
    There are flavors of Factory Data Reset. Did the remotely requested Factory Data Reset delete everything on the SD-Ext card or did it leave the SD-Ext card untouched?

    ... Thom
     
  10. lewwill

    lewwill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    24
    Very interesting. When I booted the Bionic, WiFi only, because it is deactivated on the network, it locked onto my wifi network and good old Google backup started reloading and updating :Deverything. External SD card is all there. I am thinking that it wipes over the VZ network and since it was deactivated it did not do it completely or at all. What is amazing is how slow slow slow the Bionic is after just a week on the Maxx.:D
     
  11. -=Jeff=-

    -=Jeff=- Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    986
    Likes Received:
    31
    That is cool.. Works on my original droid RAZR maxx too.
     
  12. Einsteindks

    Einsteindks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    29
    A factory data reset will wipe the entire memory, virtual SDcard included. So back it up!
     

Share This Page

Loading...