Android market forcing close/ server errorSupport


Last Updated:

  1. pedtech

    pedtech Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    I need to find out whats wrong with my android market. When i click on the ICON it says these words:

    Attention: A server erro has occurre. Retry, or cancel and return to the previous screen. (i hit retry)

    then a message comes up:

    Sorry! The application Market (process com.android.vending) has stopped unexpectedly. Please try again. (then hit force close)

    Can someone help me get this working again???
    HTC HERO SPRINT:confused:

     

    Advertisement
  2. dmm5157

    dmm5157 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    14
    I'm having the same problem. Mine was working last night after I rooted and installed Fresh 1.1 ROM, and now it's not working. I tried rebooting and clearing cache in market with no success. Going to try and reinstall Fresh 1.1 shortly and see if that works.
     
  3. dmm5157

    dmm5157 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    14
    Well, I re-downloaded the Fresh 1.1 ROM and reinstalled it. No luck on the Market.

    Going to keep searching, but if anyone has any tips, that'd be a great help.



    EDIT: GOT IT!!! It was the TA Utility, forgot I had installed that. I had moved my Market cache to my SD card and that caused the problem.


    Found the answer here: http://androidcommunity.com/forums/f41/a-server-error-has-occurred-26003/


    Hope that helps others that run into that problem.

    Cheers!
     
  4. seagirl

    seagirl New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Best Answer
    I'm having the same problem too. I just bought this phone and never downloaded any new app on it. I can't access my account be it gives me " To get the latest version of the My Account application you will now be sent to the Android Market". Guess what happens next?! It sends me to the market and I get "ATTENTION: A server error has occurred. Retry, or cancel to return to the previous screen." I've read how to solve this problem in "A server error has occurred" - Android Forums link mentioned above, but I have no clue how to perform what this user is talking about :
    "are you using ta utility(cache2sd app) ? if so , move your market cache back to your phone , then back to your sd . are you having problems with the browser also ?"
    Can someone please explain it to me? :(
    Thank you!
     
  5. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    ^ If you aren't rooted, you don't need to worry about the quote

    Starting with the basics, is your wifi or mobile internet on? Tried rebooting the phone?
     
  6. seagirl

    seagirl New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wi-fi is on. I already rebooted it many times :( still get the same error message
     
  7. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    ... and your wifi is connected to a network and not just on, correct?

    ***Just eliminating the obvious***
     
  8. seagirl

    seagirl New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    You know what : There was a problem with my WI-FI connection!!! It looks like it working properly now because I can access market! YAY!! Thank you for your reply Kelmar.
    P.S. it is very strange I was connected to network last night, could open browser and serf the net but could not connect to Market.
     
  9. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Cool, glad it's working! Let us know if you have any other problems :D
     
  10. scottmbolt

    scottmbolt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    47
    There has been issues with the market (at least for me) the past week. Things have been extremely slow downloading whether I have WIFI on or Mobile network on, sometimes not actually starting to download up to thirty minutes after I select an app, and getting force closes as well. Weird.
     
  11. Kelmar

    Kelmar Done by choice VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    11,815
    Likes Received:
    4,750
    Odd. No problem here....
     
  12. paleodust

    paleodust Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,023
    Likes Received:
    71
    It seems to be caused by having too much stuff installed. I fixed it by uninstalling a ton of stuff. However, if you run GScript on cache2sd, that seems to free up a TON more space and should fix the problem as well.
     
  13. B7even

    B7even Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi!
    I have the same problem, I can not access the market and get the same error message.
    However, Internet is working fine and I am wondering if the problem is perhaps that I am in Germany at the moment and not the UK, where it usually worked before?

    Also, I had to reset my phone to factory settings because I had to change my google account username (how irritating?!) and now I am wondering if its my location which causes the error or something to do with my freshly resetted phone..

    I guess I will find out in a few days when I am back, lol, but I wanted to use this time to get the phone working properly..
     
  14. B7even

    B7even Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to let everybody know, I am back in the UK and still have the 'server error' problem when trying to Log in to the HTC market.

    I called HTC support and they couldn't identify a problem with my telephone. As it seems, it must be a problem with the Google server.

    Hope it helps...Any updates, please reply...
     
  15. paleodust

    paleodust Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,023
    Likes Received:
    71
    I don't know if this will work but I figure it's worth a try...

    Go into Settings>Applications>Manage Applications. Go under the tab that shows All. Then choose Market and delete all user information. It won't cause any problems but will cause the market to rebuild itself.

    Let us know if it works.
     
  16. TheDood

    TheDood Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the exact same problem with my hero. I get the error message " Server unavailable. Please try again later" it has been saying that for the past week. A factory reset didnt even solve the problem. Suggestions? thanks
     
  17. B7even

    B7even Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    No it this didn't work for me..
     
  18. B7even

    B7even Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0

    No, this didn't work for me
     
  19. B7even

    B7even Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Right guys,

    I think I got it!

    I removed my SD card, turned my mobile back on, opened HTC market application.

    THen the same old message occured, I pressed retry...and while it was loading, I pressed the search function and then typed in 'test'..

    Suddenly I received search result..and then I was able to search for some application and to install them. However, all this was done via the mobile connection and not a WiFi connection.

    Let me know if this helped you..

    Cheers

    B7even
     
  20. jane3246

    jane3246 New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    per the last user suggestion...I did not do anything at all with my SD Card but I did go turn off Wi-fi, left on the mobile network, then I was able to go right into the market. it may be because I was on a unsecure guest wifi?!?
     
  21. neelix.the.cat

    neelix.the.cat New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    My hero does the same thing. Rebooting doesn't help, and it will only connect every so often. It's starting to really bug me, and clearing the cache never works either for me.
     
  22. LBPHeretic

    LBPHeretic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,368
    Likes Received:
    507
  23. dave2day

    dave2day Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone still having this problem (server error) try doing a factory data reset (home > menu > settings > privacy > factory data reset > reset phone (or reset tablet))
     
  24. Petetagent5

    Petetagent5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go to settings in your android phone (not web browser)
    Click Applications
    Then click manage applications
    Press the All menu
    Find Download Manager and click it
    Click clear data
    There you go! Now open up the market!
     
  25. Jmrrice

    Jmrrice New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    well i was experiencing the same problem but i actually found a solution that i'd like to share,
    if rebooting doesn't work, your wifi, 3d/4g is working fine, then do a factory reset..

    after you do a factory reset make a new google account, yes it may suck but it will work after your create one your market error will go away, when that is done just sync in your old google account with the new one.

    htc evo 3d user~
     

Share This Page

Loading...