Android Market hangs on "starting download"Support


Last Updated:

  1. azzronulation

    azzronulation Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    I know there are hundreds of threads about this but i wanted to know if any of you LG users have had this issue?

    I got my Optimus 3 days ago and havent been able
    to download a single thing. I have tried everything, clearing cache, removing memory card, nothing has worked.

    Any solutions?
     

    Advertisement
  2. bong290

    bong290 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    try going into setting,scroll down to applications click manage applications,click on download manager and clear cache then do the same for market,if that does not work try clearing the data too,you might have to re-enter your email to use the market after clearing data
     
  3. azzronulation

    azzronulation Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thankyou for your reply. I have tried this many times with no luck. :(
     
  4. HonestGuvnor

    HonestGuvnor Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    8
    When this happened to me it was due to different google account settings in the market application compared to some other application/system settings (changed name from googlemail.com to gmail.com). I could find no way to set/clear the settings for the market application and ended up changing the settings in all the other applications that differed to match the one used by the market.

    If anyone knows how to get at the market settings on the phone and at the google end it may be useful to post it somewhere because this does seem to be a common problem.
     
    azzronulation likes this.
  5. Tinderbox (UK)

    Tinderbox (UK) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    34
    I had the same problem, but as the post below says it was because i was using googlemail.com not the newer gmail.com , once changed it worked fine, I had to do a full reset to re-enter the email address though.

     
  6. azzronulation

    azzronulation Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    Sounds a bit stupid but how do i change from googlemail to gmail?
     
  7. HonestGuvnor

    HonestGuvnor Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    8
    > Sounds a bit stupid but how do i change from googlemail to gmail?

    One used to get notices suggesting the change when accessing google accounts. The switch was somewhere in the Settings option if I recall correctly from when I was trying to diagnose the problem. That is, Settings when you log into your google account on the web rather than something stored on the phone.
     
  8. azzronulation

    azzronulation Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    3
    YES. thank you, I managed to go into the account settings on my computer and change it over, as soon as I did that i went into the application settings and cleared cache and forced stopped the market & google applications and re-signed in, and it worked! thankyou :)
     
  9. sudipta das

    sudipta das Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same problem happened to me friends. What I did was that:-

    1) From browser settings cleared cache, browsing history.
    2) Factory resetted the phone.
    3) Took out sim card and microSD and reinserted them again.
    4) Configured GPRS settings manually once more and saved it.
    5) Made sure that data profile plan was still active and was in use properly.
    6) Finally visited Android Market, and started to download everything from the
    beginning.
    7) Only thing, do not forget to make a back up copy of your contacts and microSD
    card contents on your PC or laptop before factory reset.
     

Share This Page

Loading...