Android Market is broken on my rooted phone


Last Updated:

  1. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    So I rooted both mine and my wife's phone to Ivan's 1.0 (2.1 with OC). Her Market works totally fine. It's fast and loads everything and all tabs are there. Mine was sort of working at first, now it's completely come to a hault. The "top paid" tab is missing (when does finally load), most of the time it just gets stuck on "loading...". I've tried clearing cache, doing a factory reset, reflashing the ROM, using the market fix (that puts the "top paid" tab back, but doesn't fix the slowless). It's just seriously broken.

    Again, I've flashed the EXACT same ROM on mine and my wife's Eris, and hers works totally fine. I've searched for this issue on google and it seems this is a common problem, but noone has found a solution that works for me. I've tried them all, and none of them work. If I would have known rooting was going to break something so basic I possibly wouldn't have done it.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Have you tried "My Market," another app with access to "Market?"

    Otherwise, I'm wondering about your Google acount(s), gmail, etc; have you made any recent changes? Do you have more than one gmail address? Is Market confused?

    I'd try going into applications manager and clearing data and cache of gmail and gmail storage, then bring up gmail and start over with it.
     
  3. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    I've done nothing with my google account. Though from reading it seems the broken Android Market has everything to do with something funky going on with your google account than anything with the phone and OS. Clearing data and cache do nothing as I just reflashed the ROM last night and the first thing I did was go to the market and it was still broken (stuck on loading...) That was the FIRST thing I did when the phone booted up the very first time after a flash.
     
  4. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    What do you see on the screen when Market is "stuck on loading?"

    Is there any movement/animation of the loading arrow? Or is the screen frozen at some point?
     
  5. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    I flashed back to the original rooted PB00IMG.zip file and the Market worked perfectly on it, so now I'm gonna go back to Ivan's 1.0 to see if it works on that too. I also happened to log into my gmail account on my laptop at the same time. Maybe it was a coincidence, or maybe logging into my gmail account "woke up" my google account and fixed it. Who knows, this is all very frustrating.
     
  6. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    Yeah, I was suspicious of gmail in all this, but that original zip file seems to be a focal point too.

    Hang in there, you're working toward a solution. ;)
     
  7. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    The circle is spinning. My phone is not locked up as I can still get back to the home screen and do other stuff, the Market is just messed up.

    But like I said I flashed back to the base rooted ROM and it worked, so now I'm going to Ivan's again to see if it's going to work on that.

    From what I've read it's a probably with google accounts, NOT the phone or OS.
     
  8. truelove79

    truelove79 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    295
    Well, back on Ivan's ROM it's sort of working now. It's faster, but the "top paid" tab is still missing and the app screen (where you click install) takes forever to load.

    EDIT: Well the "top paid" tab just magically appeared before my eyes and now the Market is working perfectly again. That was really weird. It went from totally crippled to hobbling to back to normal 100% before my very eyes.
     
  9. hallstevenson

    hallstevenson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    26
    Launch Google Talk on your phone. Count to 30, then close it (or back out). Now try the Market again.
     
  10. Frisco

    Frisco =Luceat Lux Vestra= VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22,479
    Likes Received:
    9,225
    This is all very interesting. I've not seen it (yet) on my device.. but it's good to see it being dealt with.
     
  11. Spencer_Moore

    Spencer_Moore Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    i had this issue once when i signed up for adsense. I partially signed up and then changed my mind and closed out. the market would then not work. Deleted my adsense account and everything went back to normal.
     
  12. maplewood

    maplewood Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    10
    similar problem, no resolution yet.

    I just rooted (using unrevoked 3.21). That was no problem. Now Market is very funky. The APP tab just keeps "LOADING" to no avail. I can search for apps but it doesn't find some of the most basic.

    At the same time I'm trying to install Appbrain Market as an alternative. No matter what I do the phone keeps trying to load MARKET -- which can't find that app.

    I've tried manually loading the Appbrain 2.0 Apk which does install but tells me it is not up to date.

    I tried running (and quitting) Google Talk, I tried clearing the Market app cache. No change.

    Aargh.
     

Share This Page

Loading...