Android Market Problem?Support


Last Updated:

  1. rkirkr

    rkirkr Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    6
    Is anyone else having a problem with the app market? I can't download anything on my Captivate since last Thursday. But this doesn't seem to be a problem with the phone. Even when I go online on my PC since last Thursday, whether through Firefox or IE, and go to the app market, once I click on an app to pull up more information and potentially install I get this message:
    "Sorry, an error has occurred

    An unexpected problem has occurred. The site administrators have been notified of the problem and are investigating."

    Again, it's been nearly a week since not being able to access the market either via phone or a PC. Is anyone experiencing this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. tysj

    tysj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trying going into Manage Applications > Market > Clear cache and then uninstall updates. My Market has been working but was corrupted or something a few nights ago and that process worked for me.
     
  3. Endoran

    Endoran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    24
    I experienced not being able to download anything off the market. I found a fix that worked for me off of a google support thread. Here it is: go into settings, applications, manage applications, hit the options soft-key and hit "filter", hit all, then scroll down and find the android market, tap it, then clear the cache. That fixed the problem for me!
     
  4. rkirkr

    rkirkr Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    6
    I'm sorry, I thought I was being clear. Although I'm having a problem from the phone in the market the error message I copied above is from my PC, no matter if I'm using Firefox or IE as a browser. And I've tried 2 other computers on which the app market won't work. I did just try that fix on the phone and it didn't work, but again I'm not able to access the app market from any source. It's been this way for a week.
     
  5. rkirkr

    rkirkr Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    6
    And after I did that fix above I just realized that the Market no longer shows up in my applications in which to manage, though it's still on my launcher screen and listed in my applications. Is that normal?
     
  6. Endoran

    Endoran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    24
    Yes your filter settings under manage applications resets so you won't see it unless you change your filter settings again.

    As to your reply above, I was clear that it was a computer problem but from the sounds of your post you could not download anything off the market via your captivate as well. Since I am having no problems whatever the problem is also includes your phone. Also, I was not even aware that you could access the app store from your computer so I did not comment on that portion. I don't have any other fixes since the one I posted worked for me (honestly I'm surprised it didn't work for you), I hope someone else can help you, the market is a huge part of android!
     
  7. rkirkr

    rkirkr Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    6
    Maybe the market is different than what I'm referring to then. I'm talking about the Apps section in the Tabs across the top of the Android Forums. I thought this was the same thing, in different format, as the Market on my phone. That's where I'm getting that error message I copied. But it's strange that both that and my phone's market were no longer accessible on the same day. I did see what you meant about the filter and I see the Market application again. But I still can't download from there on my phone even after attempting those instructions again. And up until last week I had downloaded a number of apps that I'd seen other people refer to on here. So it was definitely working before without a glitch.
     
  8. Endoran

    Endoran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    24
    That is odd that both stopped working for you at the same time. Is the market app you use on your phone the pre-installed app that came with the phone?

    I can't comment on the androidforums app market (I believe you are right about it being the same thing in a different format) because I've never used it, but it seems your problem has to do with both your phone market and PC market. I would focus on fixing the market on your phone as all the help files etc provided by google will pertain to their market accessed via an android phone. What kind of error message is your phone giving you? Is it just saying download failed?
     
  9. rkirkr

    rkirkr Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    6
    I found a number of other people having the same problems, over a span of time. The suggestions here were mentioned in other places too. I did find something that finally worked. Much like the suggestions here I went into Manage Applications and then selected the "filter" All. Instead of going to Market, suggested here and by others as well, I went to Download Manager, which someone briefly suggested among all the Market suggestions and suggestions of hard resets.

    Similarily to Market, I clicked Clear Cache under Download Manager. There was also an option to Clear data but mine was already at 0.00B. This did the trick! Now the market works :)

    Still not working on my computer though. Still can't figure out why (strange it happened the same day). I liked downloading apps from my computer sometimes because I can look at a bigger list of Apps at once and then when I want to load one to my phone I just scan the barcode available with either ShopSavvy or Barcode Scanner apps I have on my phone. Very easy, and if I'm at home, more preferable.

    And yes, this was the pre-installed market app that came with the phone. The message I was originally getting on the phone was "failed" and it would also state "download unsuccessful". Again, I found other people with different droid phones had exactly the same issue, with a lot of headache and lot of varying degrees of how to fix the issue. At least for me, Download Manager did the trick. But I would still check under Market in the Applications Manager if this happens again. Thanks :)
     
  10. rkirkr

    rkirkr Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    6
    Just thought about what you said there. A lot of the apps I've downloaded have come through the App market on the Tab at the top of this Forums site. Even with them coming from here, again loaded over with Barcode Scanner or ShopSavvy from the phone's camera, whenever there had been any updates on those particular apps, showing up on my phone from the phone's Market app, those apps udpated perfectly. Until this problem happened, that is.

    And after I did that Download Manager trick I mentioned above, I had 6 apps that showed needing updates on my phone. Four of them were definitely originally taken off the forums site. So, I'm not sure there's any differentiation between this market and the pre-installed market.
     
  11. vapor311

    vapor311 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    15
    should sticky this!
     
  12. rkirkr

    rkirkr Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    6
    Do the Mods do that? I'm not sure how you sticky something.
     

Share This Page

Loading...