Android on the HTC Vogue


Last Updated:

  1. zenulator

    zenulator Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm starting this thread for the vogue-android project and it's users. Hopefully this will turn into a community thread and I will update as needed.

    Right now most of the android builds are hosted at vogue-android and vogue-hero.

    We have ported a number of android builds from various android roms including:

    Google ION
    Cyanogenmod/Donut Experimental
    Rogers
    xROM
    Hero

    Right now most of the discussion goes on at XDA
    But I'm looking at a more android specific site.
     

    Advertisement
  2. zenulator

    zenulator Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    Reserved
     
  3. motto_L

    motto_L New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi i have a Vogue and I had loaded 2 different versions of Androids for the last few months and 1.5 just stop working some how it booted to the android screen then ccoldn't get any further...is anyway to fix it? and Where can I download the 1.6? I searched xda site had no result...please help thanks!

    joe
     
  4. zenulator

    zenulator Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    here is a good place to start. Vogue - xda-developers
    1.6 is not fully working it boots and has a data connection but making calls is kind of iffy right now until we get things figured out. 1.5 is the way to go right now.
     
  5. motto_L

    motto_L New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks..I looking at the code.google.com right now...its little over my head now. Whats the advantage of the 1.6 at this point? faster? 1.5's web broweing just much slower than Opera so I was keep switching back to WM few times a day...thanks for the replied
     
  6. zenulator

    zenulator Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    1.6 is a little faster than 1.5 and has the new market but right now it's more of a test release until we get the phone portion straightened out. 1.6 supports the native 240x320 resolution of the vogue so thats a plus. Right now if your looking to get back into android on the vogue I'd stick with the google ion android 1.5 image that is up on the vogue-android google code site it's a little faster that it used to be and phone, data, sms, gps and bluetooth are working. We've done some tweaking and added compcache and a renice script in the ion.user.conf so 1.5 is going to be faster than what your used to. Basically right now what you need is the Google Ion bundle. Extract that to your sdcard. Make sure you have the files named zImage, rootfs.img, system.sqsh, ion.user.conf, initrd.gz and haret.exe and you should be good to go.
     
  7. piperthedj

    piperthedj Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    good day all.
    HTC Vogue owner/user
    i look forward to the 'nifty things' i can learn here as well as other tricks.
    my experiences with android can be traced on ppcgeeks and some on xda, i by no means claim to know everything about it, and as far as flashing a rom?/ call me chicken... not too interested in BRICKING my phone., yeah i am a bit of a tech geek (as my wife says, but i don't ever claim to know it all) but i just dont feel too comfy yet, i have more reading to do, once that is done, i may take a go.

    on to the issue
    as i have had zero success with Hero, (and i have tried everything, stuck in the notorious HTC/HERO screen loop)
    i have been using 1.5 build by msmision for some time then all of a sudden it quit working as well as the other android builds i have stored.
    the issue lies where certain apps freeze the OS research has shown the apps involved are the ones involved in communiction (meaning phone, email, messaging, business mail,) Internet still works without problem
    anyone else have this issue? or something similar?

    second issue
    i have read all over here about CyanogenMod and his work, i have also seen many examples of folks using his roms. i have even found the instruction on installing and flashing his rom. my concern lies in the fact is the devices in question are all g1 or to my understanding android phones to start. will any roms work the Vogue/ or HTC6900? and if so, will the instructions be the same?

    last issue
    with my dislike for a certain soft ware manufacturer, i am currently MAC or UNIX based at home. any suggestions on flashing a ROM from a MAC? or is there a way to flash from MS?

    thanks in advance
     
  8. piperthedj

    piperthedj Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    by the way Zenulator, welcome, your reputation from xda precedes you
     
  9. zenulator

    zenulator Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    2
    well we don't "flash roms" on the vogue for android. they run from the sdcard kind of the same way you would boot into linux on your pc. think of haret as a boot loader that takes down windows mobile and then boots linux. there is cyanogenmod for the vogue but as things stand right now with google not allowing people to distribute it's google apps like maps, market, gmail, talk, etc...your not going to be able to download it. as for your troubles with not being able to boot or use your system your best bet is to go to vogue-android and download the newest basefiles and use those with the system.img that you have. you might want to ditch your old data.img and let a new one be created on first boot. for hero builds you need to have your default.txt set with a resolution of 480x320 or you will get boot loops. i hope this helps. for any other questions post them in xda and you might get a faster responce.
     
  10. motto_L

    motto_L New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info..Sorry I was busy the last few days and didn't get a chance to reply your message.
     
  11. motto_L

    motto_L New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0

    Thanks for the info..Sorry I was busy the last few days and didn't get a chance to reply your message. I am just going to reload the 1.5 again for now. Thanks!!
     
  12. enatefox

    enatefox New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks zen, now I have to register here.. Just reporting in, anyone needs help or better yet, is developing Android, keep posting.
     
  13. KAZAKAGE1

    KAZAKAGE1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys I read that the specs of the htc vogue are very similar too the specs of the tmobile tap, also there hardware is almost identical. The biggest difference is the vogue runs windows mobile and the t mobile tap dose not. Think it would work if I tried this port on the tmobile tap?
     

Share This Page

Loading...