Android OS using 20-60% of battery. (rooted)

Last Updated:

1. Colbyy

Colbyy Member

Sorry sure there is thing everywhere about this. But I have searched and read so much about it last night and today I am lost. Basically just rooted yesterday with sickins kernal. (US Cellular GS2 SCH R760) rooting went fine. after messing around I looked at battery usage and see Android OS using 57%. After using watchdog I noticed suspend and events/0 to be the culprits. I'm not sure though. I'm new to this. Any ways I flashed droidz's kernel tonight just to see if that made a difference or not. But it did not. But his is supposed to have good battery life anyway so I'll keep it. Any help/input on this suspend and events/0 thing would be great.

2. nickdalzell

nickdalzell Well-Known Member Contributor

Try installing juice defender and recheck.
  3. Colbyy

Colbyy Member

Should mention even before root. I had auto sync off, background data off. And only would turn data on for when I wanted to check facebook or instagram. I haven't changed any of that. Only thing I did was root and flash kernels.
  4. Hadron

Hadron Well-Known Member Contributor

One thing you've not said: what's the battery life like? Same, better or worse? Those stats only report what fraction of the power usage comes from what component, not what the actual power usage is.
    EarlyMon likes this.
  5. GrenW

GrenW Well-Known Member

A good point. If you're not syncing and not got screen on that often then there's not much left to use the battery.

The OS will use a large proportion of not very much!

BetterBatteryStats might be good at tracking down any problems you MAY have
  6. Colbyy

Colbyy Member