Android phones and the internal storage


Last Updated:

  1. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    Hello guys! Im new here. I would like to say that before i started this thread, i DID look around for a response to my question.

    Ive had an HTC G1 and i now have the Samsung Behold II.

    Theres a problem i've noticed on both phones.

    Lets say i have 60mb of flash memory and i download an app that is 5mb. that would put me down to 55 if my 2nd grade math serves me correctly.

    Now if i were to uninstall this app, my phone will only go back up to 58mb. Even after restarding the phone 10 times, taking the battery out or doing whatever, it remains at 58mb of memory.

    I want to know why does this happen? And is there any way to recover that lost storage? I just find it a bit crappy management of memory. Because this problem can be more drastic, i downloaded a 20mb app which sucked balls, to which i quickly uninstalled. i only got 12mb of the 20 back. Thats 8mb lost somewhere.

    Again, I'm looking for a solution to this problem. Or at the very least an explaination
     

    Advertisement
  2. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    bump
     
  3. sam7607

    sam7607 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am having the same issue with my Dream, I made a post and asked in chat but no one answered me. it's not like were the only two people who have had this problem, someone must know wtf
     
  4. 28064212

    28064212 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    17
    Have you tried rebooting your phones after uninstallation? There might be files that need to be deleted at boot-time
     
  5. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    if you read my original post, i said that. even restarting the phone multiple times, the memory just doesnt come back
     
  6. sam7607

    sam7607 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I reboot and like Ghost said it doesn't help. According to SysTray monitor I have 39mb and that my total internal memory is only 89mb, WTF is going isn't this phone suppose to have 256mb.
     
  7. 28064212

    28064212 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    17
    Ah, sorry, my bad
    That at least is explainable. The 256Mb is split between the memory required to run Android, and the memory for storing apps
     
  8. sam7607

    sam7607 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    So u don't get the full 256. I feel ripped off. Can't root it cause I had to do the Rogers 911 update.
     
  9. ZEUS

    ZEUS Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've noticed the same thing for my questions, no one seems to be replying and this is supposed to be a massive forum with how many thousands of members? :mad::rolleyes:
     
  10. sam7607

    sam7607 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is still something weird going on because if it says that I have 39 out 89 free then I would have used 50mb, which is not possible for the amount of apps I have install. I have cleared the cache. Do pics taken with camera automatically go to the sd because I could not find any setting for that. And what about if u take pics with apps like Camera Magic does it store on the phone or sd? Thanks for all your help
     
  11. sam7607

    sam7607 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to clarify by memory I mean the internal disk space not the memory for running apps
     
  12. sam7607

    sam7607 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone else shed some light on this matter. Should I do a hard reset, that will not erase stuff stored on my sim, right.
    What is the internal storage space suppose to be on the Rogers Dream/G1?
     
  13. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    So i just factory reset my behold 2 earlier today and when it loaded i was at 102mb of storage space... well now 7 hours later its at 95mb. what the hell!? I didnt install ANYTHING! I did surf the web but i doubt that would use 7mb
     
  14. grainysand

    grainysand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,580
    Likes Received:
    175
    It can. Try clearing your browser's cache.
     
  15. HadouGhost

    HadouGhost Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    69
    How do i go about clearing cache on the phone? I knew how to do it on the g1 but i cant seem to find it here.
     
  16. sam7607

    sam7607 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Open the browser and go to its settings, you should be able to do it there.
     
  17. ballmore

    ballmore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    4
    I never knew that the browser cache could be cleared. I just got back 19mb of storage space. : )
     
  18. cooolone2

    cooolone2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    65
    hahaha, well, actually there are a few cache's which will eat some storage memory such as; Mail, Browser, Albums (picture), Market, etc., lol, those are the some of the biggest I always find but be careful, some cache's cleared (Hero) presented issues for some users. Check the threads, I don't remember which ones.

    You can clear the browser in the app itself as well as some other items for those who are privacy sensitive. Otherwise... goto Settings>Applications>Manage Applications - then check the apps with the biggest memory footprints (no pun), go into that app and see what the CACHE is holding. Again, be discreet with your selection and careful with other settings... ok! :)

    Happy Trails!

    :cool:
     
  19. ballmore

    ballmore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    4
    :cool:[/quote]Mail, Browser, Albums (picture), Market, etc., lol, those are the some of the biggest I always find but be careful,

    I knew about how to clear the app cache. Thanks to you I now know about the browser cache. I tried the mail, albums, and market but I had no success. I have a moto droid. :eek:
     

Share This Page

Loading...