Android Phones on PayAsYouGo


Last Updated:

  1. XBrav

    XBrav Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    Hey everyone,

    Well I wanted to share my experience so far on Rogers PayAsYouGo with my HTC Dream. I won't explain the back story of how I got the phone, but I got it as the hand-me-down of the new Magic owner in the house!

    Firstly, WIFI is flawless. I can install market apps, run them, get my updates, everything!

    Using the balance check number (*225), the message prompt did come up properly:

    [​IMG]

    Phone calls are all great. When I first powered it on, it briefly gave me the message about no data plan. Ignored!

    Alright, here's where it gets great, and sucks at the same time. Currently, my balance is $0.00, which is good to test what happens when there's not enough of a balance. I tried to hop into the browser, and the browser is indefinitely trying to load a normal site (Google for instance). When I travel to rogers.mobi, I receive all the options I should if I don't have a balance to surf. I can still modify my My5, check the balance, etc.

    Here's where it concerns me. I can easily turn off the background data, but it is inconvenient for me to do so every time. Even with that, there is always the risk of clicking the browser.

    Nowhere does it clarify the terms of PayAsYouGo data usage. One forum that I read, circa 2005, stated that Rogers will deny access if the balance on the account is less than $5.00. If it is more, then it will allocate the whole $5, then deduct at a rate of 5 cents/kB. Once your browsing session is complete, the remainder will be placed back on the account.

    As Rogers doesn't dare give a PayAsYouGo data addon, does anybody know the going data plan rates for PayAsYouGo, and if it's possible to put a Data Block on a PayAsYouGo?
     

    Advertisement
  2. damnmad

    damnmad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    3
    http://www.rogers.com/web/content/wireless-products/addons?tab2_content
    Unsure that's available for smartphones though. You gotta ask someone at Rogers whether it is. It says fb, myspace, etc. Don't know whether this gives you access to all websites either. I like how vaguely they put that.

    Can't find "no-add-on" rates. I like how they just didn't put that on. Or maybe hid it.
     
  3. XBrav

    XBrav Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yeah I saw that new addon for Google Maps and such. I put on MapDroyd so that I wouldn't need data. I get Facebook and Twitter via SMS, and search Google via SMS. I tried asking them about data once, and they were very clear that data is separate from this plan. However, people did report that if you changed your server to goam.com (the PayGo domain), you could traffic anything you wanted through it, and it'd be covered under that plan. That was for Blackberrys however, and I'm not sure if that setting can be changed on these devices.
     
  4. damnmad

    damnmad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    3
    That would be so cool. I think they know what's being transferred though. Still, worth a try. I think you can change APN settings, but I haven't ever tried changing them with a Rogers ROM. Can't now, Dream running CM, Magic no SIM. Packaging was hard to open :D The update on the Magic isn't that bad. It's the same as the old, just with some new stuff and no root ability.

    BTW who of you and your brother is using which phone? BTW2 have you updated your Dream?

    The best thing is when I put my SIM (not the one sent with the Magic) into the Magic, my data was cut off the next day. My Dream still runs CM. It had data all fine for a long time. I switched to the official updated Rogers ROM, my data access was cut off. Nice. Network refresh>back to Dream>data cut off :confused:>network refresh>ok. Was going to put Magic on hold anyways until 2.x.

    BTW3 a solution for accidentally clicking Browser: Droidwall. It should be included with every build. If your Dream still has root, use the PayAsYouGo SIM on it.
     
  5. XBrav

    XBrav Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    Unfortunately, it's post-911 update. I would've loved to put CM on it... however... damn perfect SPL.

    Regardless, I was having a hard time translating some of the APN settings. It's not really critical, because as I said, I can COMPLETELY avoid using data if need be. My only concern is that $5 allocation, if true. I don't want it to screw with my monthly withdrawal for My5 and unlimited texting.

    This is a tad off topic, but I did notice that when I try to click the Data options on the phone's page, it tries and fails to take me to fido.mobi. Normally I'm on rogers-fido.mobi.

    Honestly, all I want to know is what they'd charge me for PayGo data. If I cannot get a straight answer, I may just jump to Fido ($50 a month can get me everything I have now plus 500mb data, per-second billing, etc). Dunno yet.
     
  6. damnmad

    damnmad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well you would expect everything made by Rogers to be perfect.

    lol Jumping to Fido is ok. That's still Rogers. Fido is just slightly cheaper. I'm considering taking my Dream to Wind. For 80 I'd have everything unlimited with almost all features. I'm now paying 70 (incl annoying fees) for 250 mins, 2500 texts, and 1GB. Yeah I know. $400, kinda worth it. I'm also considering applying for a job at Wind. If I do get a job there, they have discounts for their employees. If I could get unlimited for $60, by the next business day I would leave Rogers.

    EDIT: Just noticed, why don't you use ddms to capture screenshots? Is it disabled?
     
  7. mjschmidt

    mjschmidt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    113
  8. XBrav

    XBrav Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    Well, I would jump to WIND in a second, however, there's one major downfall for me. In Calgary, I live in the deep south of the city. Unfortunately, their towers that cover the area that I go into everyday to ride the LRT to school isn't covered. It's where I'd do the majority of my usage. I'd rather not have to make a call, and be roaming within city limits :(. Right now, I pay Rogers $35 a month for My5 and $10 for 2500 texts, so I'm always looking at making that less, especially since it's 30 cents/min to check the bus times :(

    Because it's now Day 3 with an Android device. I'm truly a newbie to the platform. I was lazy so I took that screencap by holding it up to my laptop's webcam. I'll install it now!

    Mike,
    It sounds handy! I don't need fast switching really, as if I had the APN info working, then I wouldn't need to switch ever. FYI, here are the details I have been able to acquire on the WAP APN:

    It would be neat to be able to get one of these to work. They are based on the GPRS network, but hell, for $10 a month I'll take the speed reduction :)
     
  9. XBrav

    XBrav Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    Adding as a double-note here...

    I cannot recall if I left my phone on overnight or not, however, it was fully charged last night. By this morning, so dead it couldn't boot.

    I turned off WiFi before bed, and put the phone on silent. How is it that the battery tanked overnight? I had it plugged in and ran it until the LED went green. 10 hours standby time seems wrong... As well, I ran Advanced Task Killer and killed all apps.
     
  10. damnmad

    damnmad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    3
    Work your brain, my friend. TURN YOUR PHONE OFF :D nice update.
     
  11. XBrav

    XBrav Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    It just seems odd that the battery would tank over 10 hours of standby time. If you recall, I was upgrading from a Blackberry 7280. That think had something like 5 days standby time. I never turned it off.
     
  12. damnmad

    damnmad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    3
    Tell me about it. I had a SE that could last 3 days with moderate use. Talking, texting, some games. Charging day was unique. I still have that phone running in flight mode all the time. It's the best remote you can have for a computer (over BT). BT open all the time, connected about 2 hrs a day, lasts 1 week on a single charge.

    EDIT: No doubt. Just checked the battery. 930 mAh. For a non-smart phone that's so much. Dream has 1050. Yeah. 189MHz same as >500MHz
     
  13. XBrav

    XBrav Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    Alright, more fun day!

    Anyways, I approached other carriers to find great offers on Fido and WIND plans. Went to the WIND store first. I bought an unlock code off of eBay for $5, worked great! Unfortunately, the Dream only got the WIND away zone :(

    Next step was Fido. I called them tonight to inquire about the On Device Mobile Browsing. The sales rep actually told me:

    "You can browse the network with the On Device Mobile Browsing if you go on 2G only"

    Hey no problem.

    I then inquired if any data transferred would count under that.

    Rep: "I just checked with management. Unfortunately, in order to use that service, you need to own a Fido-branded phone. I'd need to sell you a data plan"

    Me: "Is that because I don't have your APN settings?"

    Rep: "Yes. So did you want to sign up tonight?"

    LOL. So basically, if I can acquire their APN details, then we can get unlimited data for $10 a month :D. If I decide to let them be my carrier, I'll let you all know how it goes :)
     
  14. damnmad

    damnmad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    3
    Would be great. Keep me updated.
     
  15. britbloke

    britbloke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    12
    There's quite a lot of other forums that have covered the pros and cons on the $10 browser and have posted the APN settings for all major carriers.

    However, remember you can only use 2G, and some apps that require full http internet will not work on 2G browsing.
     
  16. XBrav

    XBrav Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yes, I am aware of this. However, I'm willing to sacrifice that. The built-in wifi covers me at home and on campus. I'd only use the mobile browsing during the 40 minutes each way to and from campus. Things like google searches, news, etc.

    I have adapted some APN information over from some other forums. I believe the only thing that goes funky with the phone is the MNC port. If I change it to the one specified (forgot off of the top of my head), when I go to save, it doesn't show up on the list of APNs. If I leave MNC as-is, it does save. Not sure why.
     
  17. BigZed

    BigZed New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys,

    I currently have an Iphone but I'm starting to consider getting an android phone instead. I Just have a question.

    I've notice on this forum that some people buy their phone out right and then use a "pay as you go plan". How does this work as far as data usage goes?

    I'm currently with rogers and on their iphone site is says this in the legal disclaimer,

    "Your iPhone will be enabled for data usage. If you subscribe to a plan with no data included, data charges apply at a pay-per-use rate of $0.03/kb for the first 500kb you use in a month and $0.01/kb thereafter.for data sent and/or received over the Rogers network, unless you subscribe to a data plan, which we highly recommend. Roaming charges apply while using your iPhone outside Canada. U.S. data roaming on iPhone Packages is $3/MB. The standard international data roaming rate applies. Visit rogers.com/roaming for our roaming rates and destinations. Data usage is measured in KB rounded to the next full KB."

    If people don't have a data plan how do they afford such a ridiculous rate for data? I'm assuming that a top of the line android phone would consume the same amount of data as an iphone (for loading webpages, emails, etc).

    Thanks in advance, would just like a little clarification on how people do it.
     
  18. XBrav

    XBrav Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    15
    Hey BigZed,

    By example here, I was using my Android device as a PayGo device without a data plan. I deleted all the access point name details, and only use data when I'm home on WiFi.

    If you want data on your device, the rates are horrendous, as you noted.

    If you want an Android device without the commitment, I always urge people to calculate the life cost of the device. In the below article, I calculated the cost of an Acer Liquid E, on different timeframes.

    How much does that Android phone REALLY Cost You?

    The key thing to note is that if you do sign a contract, you have both a Early Termination Fee and a Data Termination Fee, summing a maximum of $500. If you go on a month-to-month plan, you are not subject to those cancellation fees.

    But with the savings on a 3 year term on the phone purchase price, the net cost isn't really that different. As well, you get some nice activation bonuses, such as waived activation fees, and free calling periods.

    Now, putting that all aside, let's talk data addons. I am horrified personally by our non-plan rates in Canada. In the US, they are significantly cheaper.

    The fact is, it comes out to around $51.80 per megabyte of data without a data plan. $25 gets you 500mb, and a rate of $0.05 per additional megabyte. As well, with the MyAccount application, you can now more easily track your usage, without hopping into a browser. That makes it easier, in my opinion.

    If you choose to not use a data plan, I recommend deleting the APN details (I can provide instructions if necessary), as all smartphones attempt to use background data. As well, I would recommend calling Rogers and putting a "data block" on your account. This will prevent any data from being used on the mobile device.

    Please let me know if I somehow didn't answer the question.
     

Share This Page

Loading...