Android suddenly dead slow (unusable)General


Last Updated:

  1. turboraketti

    turboraketti Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    The other day I happend to insert a MicroSD card into the phone at the exact same time as I had a call coming in. After this, Android went syrup and was totally impossible to use. Every screen touch took a minute or so to be recognised.

    I tried to restart the phone and even took out the battery for a while, but the problem persists. I can't even tap in the SIM code because the screen saver goes on before the G1 even detects the first digit. Response time on the "real" buttons (e.g. menu) are only a few seconds, but the touch screen is a minute or so.

    Do anyone have a faintest idea about what this is about? I have a G1, not rooted, with the latest updates installed. The microSD I inserted was mint from the store, 8GB.
     

    Advertisement
  2. turboraketti

    turboraketti Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Forgot to mention that I did that -- Tried putting the original SD back, tried without any SD at all. Same story.
     
  3. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    I never swap out a memory card with the power on ... but stuff happens !!

    Try a Safe Boot: Without any SD Card


    ALSO Try: reformating the SD Card...
     
  4. dynodroid

    dynodroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ahhh, I remove my SD card all the time while it's on, well, at least... I used to.
     
  5. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Why do you swap it out all the time ?
     
  6. dynodroid

    dynodroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    1
    Must you take every word literally?

    But, here's an example. My girlfriend has an older digital camera, it takes decent enough pictures for me, but the screen it has to view them is horrible!

    So, to keep the process simple, I yank out the SD card from my phone, shove it in the camera, snap the pictures I want, and then switch them back.

    That way, I only get the pictures I absolutely want, without having to delete/rearrange any images, or attatch any hardware to a computer.

    Saves some time, really.

    And by all the time, I mean occasionally.
    Sorry to throw you off.
     
  7. turboraketti

    turboraketti Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried safe mode -- thanks for the tip! Unfortunately the system is as slow in safe mode as it is in normal mode and doesn't go any better when I switched back to normal mode as described. I finally managed to enter my sim code via the slide-out keyboard, but I also use an unlock pattern and it will not allow me to draw it properly (tried a thousand times). However, I can receive calls and answer them now.

    Can this be an issue of no space at local disk? Perhaps internal disk was close to run out of space and inserting a new SD put it over the edge when mounting it for some reason. I'm just guessing here. Anyhow I cannot get in to free up space (or can I?).
     
  8. SirFenwick

    SirFenwick Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    1
    If its local disk space your worried about try and delete some applications you've downloaded off the market. You can always get them back later if thats not the case.

    Until the give the option to install app's on the SD card I usually only keep a couple apps installed at a time. I try to keep my phone over 30Mbs free.

    Settings > Applications > Manage
    Then press the Menu button, select list by file size and delete the largest one. It might help if you delete your browers data too(but you'll loose bookmarks and everything). In 1.5 you can delete the Cache of the browser and Market(which is nice since the market likes to take up tons of space after a few days).

    But try that. If all else fails you might have to wipe your phone and start over.
     
  9. turboraketti

    turboraketti Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    The point is that I can't unlock my phone so I can uninstall applications or in other ways free up space on the system drive. The system is so slow moving that I can't draw the unlock pattern on the display.

    What I would need is to boot e.g. from the SD card to get a minimal but working environment and then examine the phone-internal system disk. Does anybody know of how to do this and what I could possibly put on my SD to make it bootable?

    (Again, I don't know if this problem is about no space on system disk, but I can imagine that a system can behave like this if there's e.g. no swap space.)
     
  10. dynodroid

    dynodroid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just follow the instructions for rooting your phone. Right?
     
  11. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    If you want to root you can .... This might/Should fix your problems !!!

    If you later determine you dont want to be rooted you can UN_root

    Here are the links ...
    Link to use for Rooting --->>> http://androidforums.com/updates-cupcakes/5006-g1-t-mobile-total-newbie-help.html#post32119

    Link to use for UN-Rooting --->>> http://androidforums.com/updates-cupcakes/5097-unrooting-g1.html#post32762
     
  12. turboraketti

    turboraketti Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've thought about rooting my phone since I bought it in November, but never got there, so now I thought would be a good time to try it.

    However, it's failing on the first step: I can't run the bootloader. When I hold the camera button and press power, the screen backlight goes on and a white vertical stripe fades in and out again. After that; nothing until I remove both the charger and the battery to switch it off.

    On top of this: Now I can't boot my G1 normally either. The stripe thing happens whatever I try. I once succeeded in booting it with Home+Power, which brings up an image picturing a phone and an exclamation mark, and is supposed to bring up a menu on alt-L (which it didn't), but this doesn't work any more.

    Do I have a brick device or what? Any hints are very welcome -- I'm very worried now!
     
  13. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    I you can just start the phone normally ... go into settings and Do the FACTORY RESET...

    Then Proceed with the Instructions again for rooting.
     
  14. turboraketti

    turboraketti Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I appreciate your willingness to help, but you missed one important point of my last post: I can't boot my phone any more. Not normal, not with Cam+Power, not with Home+Power, not in any way I know of. The only thing that happens when I try to start the phone is that backlight goes on and a vertical white line of pixels fades in and out again on the display. No response to any pressed keys.

    Does anyone have a clue? I don't. I'm afraid I have a bricked phone, but I really hope I'm wrong about that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...