Android System Running High

Last Updated:

1. Fr1ction

Fr1ction New Member This Topic's Starter

Hello,

I was getting sick of the horrible battery life I was getting on my EVO and was seriously about to go to sprint and turn it in for a Blackberry which I never had problems with. I decided to research the phone today and stuff to help battery life and I found this website which has shown me a lot of things that I can do to help my battery life.

I noticed on most other peoples phones when they have a screenshot of their phones "usage" my Android System is 96%, cell standby 2% and Idle 2%. My phone also seems to be very warm at most times even when sitting on my counter in my Air Conditioned Condo. Is this something that's normal or am I losing it.

Also I have read that "rooting" my phone seems to be a common thing. From what I understand rooting allows me to access the "guts" of my phone but how will this help my battery life?

I am brand new to the "Android Family" and I was kind of suprised to see all things that you could do to these phones. If anyone could help me out that would be appreciated sooo much. Thank you.

Advertisement
  2. sikclown

sikclown Well-Known Member

Your phone is not sleeping at all. Meaning even though the display is off it is still running nonstop. You can do a hard reset and it will probably go away or you can try changing a few settings. Go to menu then settings then Accounts and Sync and change Facebok settings. Uncheck Sync Live Feed and then click on Acount Settings and change the frequency to once per day. It is believed that a bug is keeping Facebook constantly syncing. Also go to Menu then Settings then About phone then Battery and look at your Up time and Awake time just to see if your phone is in fact staying awake. Or you can just wait until the small update comes out tomorrow to see if it fixes it

3. Fr1ction

What exactly is a hard reset and how do I do it?

4. sikclown