Android updates


Last Updated:

  1. Rob Jones

    Rob Jones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    9
    I just got a message telling me there is an update available for my Desire: 2.12.110.4.

    Im very happy with all my settings etc, no bugs whatsoever, would I be stupid NOT to always update? Only I updated about 2 months ago and it me a few weeks to sort out certain apps.
     

    Advertisement
    Aidan likes this.
  2. mikecoulter

    mikecoulter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well, I'm updating. I'd recommend you do too.
     
  3. kuobob

    kuobob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    3
    Will the update work on Leedroid 2.2f
     
  4. spinz78

    spinz78 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    I got my message in India, 2.29.405.2

    M updating :)
     
  5. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304


    No, you can't use ota updates if rooted. It breaks stuff

    Besides, leedroid will probably already have this update
     
  6. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    You're on a generic, unbranded Desire. OP is on T-Mobile so your comment isn't really helpful in this instance
     
  7. Rob Jones

    Rob Jones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    9
    mike, have you updated yet and was it okay?
     
  8. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    An OTA update won't touch any user-specific data so you can install them without risk. You do, however, need to have 25MB free to install the OTA
     
  9. bunnisher

    bunnisher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    15
    I've just updated to 2.29.405.2 (UK; O2; unbranded). I haven't noticed any changes yet except all of my contacts are now using Facebook profile photos instead of the ones I assigned. I never had FB linked to my contacts as I didn't want them to be.

    Now to figure out how to undo this. :mad:

    Using LPP, btw.
     
  10. Rob Jones

    Rob Jones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    9
    My point exactly. A couple of my apps didnt work after I did my first update, it was no big deal, just a bit of rejigging
     
  11. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    You need to remove your sync account for 'Facebook for HTC Sense' as this is what links FB to your phonebook
     
  12. Rob Jones

    Rob Jones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    9
    How do you do that please? I for one dont want FB details clogging up my phone address book
     
  13. Skyforger

    Skyforger Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    What's new in this update ?
     
  14. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    Settings>Account & Sync

    Then select 'Facebook for HTC Sense' and remove the account - should remove all links to your phone book

    I like having FB sync with only my phonebook contacts (I hide the other Facebook contacts) - nice to have decent pictures for them as opposed to crappy low-res ones dragged from my Gmail account
     
  15. Rob Jones

    Rob Jones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    9

    Eddy, I get a message saying deleting will also delete all of its messages contacts and other data from the phone

    It wont remove a contact that has been duplicated by FB, eg one that I entered via my phone contacts list will it?

    Thanks btw
     
  16. bunnisher

    bunnisher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    15
    My first clue should have been that my precious internal storage dropped by 10mb after the update! (Is better now after de-linking FB)

    I went through and de-linked each contact that got connected through the update and also removed the FB for HTC Sense account. Not sure why it was even there as I don't use it (or the app). I go via the web browser.

    Very strange as upon closer look, most of my contacts got linked and used the FB profile and status, some contacts just linked as a 'suggested link' and kept my assigned photo and a couple contacts (that are also FB friends) weren't effected at all. Also, a few non FB contacts show duplicates.

    I've done OTA updates before while using LPP (not Sense) and they all went smoothly. There must have been some bug fix with FB for Sense then that decided to activate the sync. Who knows.
     
  17. bunnisher

    bunnisher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    15
    I don't think so. Mine just reverted back to the way they were prior to being taken over by FB.

    Although my contacts are under 'google', not 'phone'.
     
  18. Rob Jones

    Rob Jones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    9
    mmmmmmsay ill wait 24 hours see what anyone else has to say on that, Id hate to lose all my contacts, Im like you in thinking I wouldnt but ill wait ...............;)
     
  19. yenrod

    yenrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    4
  20. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    If you mean OTA 2.12.110.4 (T-Mobile UK) it was apparently to remove the German apps that were included in the first T-Mobile UK 2.2 OTA...probably also includes a few more app updates and bug fixes - like most OTA update do - and normally a new radio

    Although your profile says you're on an unbranded Desire so you can ignore this thread...
     
  21. Rob Jones

    Rob Jones Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thats the update I was offered and I am in Thailand, think Ill leave it
     
  22. deanshep85

    deanshep85 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    123
    Im not 100% sure but these partial 2.2+ extra updates I believe are for carriers NOT unbranded.....and I've seen ALOT of people complain about lil things on here recently to do with them....facebook linking when not wanting it, flash being really buggy etc......I think the carriers are screwing up again big time...

    kinda glad I've had no extra update for 2.2
     
  23. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    Unbranded Desire's are now getting 2.29.405.2 OTA. I've had it since the RUU was leaked the other month and have had no issues at all
     
  24. deanshep85

    deanshep85 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,347
    Likes Received:
    123
    haha thats funny....cos yesterday I checked...nothing....today right now..yes...dammit...im not really sure I wanna update lol
     
  25. denialnw10

    denialnw10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm being offered this download on my unbranded desire. Not sure what it's about... would be nice if there were details attached to system updates in the same way that developers do when updating their apps in the Market.

    Any takers so far? Would be nice to know if there's any goodness (I know, I'm a p****y I should just bite the bullet, but was bitten (by Vodafone), so can do without any headaches with these system updates)
     

Share This Page

Loading...