Android vanilla vs Modded Versions


Last Updated:

  1. xraptorx

    xraptorx Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello guys
    I will be getting an android in the next few week. I was actually thinking of going with the Sony Xperia X3 once it comes out. I saw on the forums here that it is heavily modded from standard OS. I guess that is the same with the HTC Hero and the Motorola Motionblur android phones.

    But what does that mean exactly? Does a modded OS from the maufacturer mean I cannot run all apps or that only certain apps run on that fone? Does it mean I cannot update the OS without going to the manufacturers website (we all know that HTC does not update all thier older phones with the newest versions of software).

    I guess I want to know the pros and cons of the Xperia, Hero or any modded OS before buying the phone :D
     

    Advertisement
  2. transic

    transic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can run all Android applications on a modified version. It is still the same base but the UI is modified.
     
  3. cdstour

    cdstour Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does a modified version of Android have the built-in Google sync (i.e. Calendar, push Gmail)?
     
  4. kasperknop

    kasperknop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    My Hero could sinc with everything from google yes =) - the calender is just a new look for the gmail calender and you can choose to either use HTC mail widget with your google account or just the standard gmail app - both come with the phone.

    I just sold it though.. getting a Droid and have one question as well... The Hero (with the sense UI) has the possiblility to scroll to the side giving more homescreens (7 in total). Does the android OS have this feature as well or are you left with only one screen which means no room for widgets?XD
     
  5. Matenrou

    Matenrou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    5
    Android "vanilla" has 3 homescreens.
     
  6. kasperknop

    kasperknop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks =) That's ok I guess =) used all 7 on my hero but that was just to fill it all out inserting full screen widgets that might as well have been shortcuts.. thinking about it 3 is a good number, and it will always be at least just as fast to get to anything.
     

Share This Page

Loading...